We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good for short term stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mitraa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mitraa
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good for short term stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Stayed at The Mitraa backpackers when I was in Singapore for a few days. here are my impressions:
-Twin share rooms were small but clean
-Standard breakfast
-Staff is very friendly
-Security is dubious: The room I stayed in uses key pass card and has cabinets with locks. However pass + cabinet key had to be handed over to reception, but no identification is required in retrieving the room pass & cabinet key and it's easy to bring non-guests into the room. This is a concern because in the worst possible situation, someone could access your room without your knowledge and plant drugs in your luggage, and given Singapore carries the death penalty, it's not a risk worth taking.

Otherwise enjoyed my stay - had no sleep problems, short walk to Farrer Park MRT, very close access to hawker centres, same street as several temples and a safe area to roam even after midnight. Also there's a music store nearby called "Valentines Music Centre" worth checking out - it had very friendly staff who even gave me a water bottle once she found out I was a tourist!

Room Tip: Lock your luggage when you head out - you never know what may happen while you are gone
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank howsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    93
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
45
60
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Well I arrived at the Mitraa on the 11th May 2011, after a long flight from Manchester via Doha. When I arrived at Chingi Airport I took a cab and they charged me $50.00 included with that is Tax, and tip. after a 1hr transfare time I arrived at the hostel.

I was shown to my own private room, (well a two bed dorm), Had a very hot shower and met lots of new people. A larger supermarket is close by too.

As everyone says its very close to MTR, only takes 5-7 minutes to the center of Singapore.

There is a living room area with Wi-Fi and PC are available for use. Breakfast is also served here but there is plenty of restaurants round the corner.

I enjoyed my stay here. just be warned that drinking any alcohol inside the hostel is a no no. but you can drink outside

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zacrenfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dasmariñas, Cavite, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

On our first visit with my friends in Singapore, we stayed at The Mitraa, the name perfectly fits the place and the staff. Though the rooms are small, it was very comfortable, we stayed in a 4-bed dorm for 3 nights. They serve free breakfast just enough to fill our tummies to start the day. The location was perfect and very accessible to the train station and a nearby shopping center. It was just like home! Highly recommended. On our next trip to Sg, there is no doubt we will book in no other but The Mitraa.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivienLycelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Great Hostel! I stayed in a six bed dorm for 5 nights. It was very clean, the garbage cans never over flowing. Staff was very friendly, every single one always had a smile and greeting. Very willing in helping me arrange a taxi at 3 a.m. for my flight. Very close to a major bus stop and only 5 minute walk from the metro station. The Wifi was very reliable, comfortable beds. I would stay here again without hesitation.

Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Candybeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

this was my first time staying at a hostel, so i didn't expect much. and i'm glad i didn't, because the reality was much better! i stayed for one night with my friends, so i took a mixed room for 6 people. the check in process was a little long because the staff needs to write the identity of all guests. when i went to the room, it was very clean! the bed sheets were very clean, even if it was white i didn't see any stain there. there were only 6 beds and lockers beneath the bed. it was enough because i stayed at hotel only for sleeping. the bathroom was also clean and all the properties are functional. u get a free breakfast, they serve breads, bread toaster, jam, tea, coffee, and hot water, and it's enough to fill your stomach to start the day. the staffs were friendly, and they treat you not like a guest but like a friend (don't worry, they won't cross the line). oh, and they serve a free wifi! the connection was fast and i can use it properly. they also sell drinks, including mineral water. fyi, mineral water price in singapore is so expensive, and mineral water at this hotel is the cheapest i've ever seen! really glad, i think i'll stay here again if i go to singapore :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hanna249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Bohemian Chic Hostel
The Bohemian Chic Hostel
#40 of 220 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#9 of 220 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Mitraa Inn
#41 of 220 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
hangout@mt.emily
#16 of 220 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Little India
Bunc Hostel
Bunc Hostel
#43 of 220 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mitraa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mitraa

Property: The Mitraa
Address: 427 Race Course Road, Singapore 218673, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 220 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,546 - ₹ 4,705
Hotel Class:2 star — The Mitraa 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your The Mitraa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mitraa Hotel Singapore
The Mitraa Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing