We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prince of Wales Boat Quay: Rocks big time!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Singapore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prince of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay
Ranked #105 of 223 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Orlando
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Prince of Wales Boat Quay: Rocks big time!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

After landing in Singapore from a 18 hour delay flight from the U.S and being so exhausted I decided to give myself a treat and stay in the Marina Sand Hotel . After spending 400 dollars for a night (not worth it ) I then decided to look for cheap accommodation. As I was walking by the river, a 10 minutes walk from the new Casino and desperately looking for local food I was surprise to see a hostel in the middle of the financial district of Singapore. It was kind of awkward . I drank a beer and met some backpacker , check the rooms and then decided to give it a go . For 22 dollars a night it seem like a good idea. I had a blast in POW ....great atmosphere , nice staff, clean rooms, great toilets!! no curfew as they have electronic doors :) If you are looking to have fun and enjoy your stay in Singapore ,Prince of Wales is the place to be. On the other hand if you are a boring backpacker that doesn't like meeting people , listening to good music and meeting lovely girls .. then stay home .

Now in the middle east working ..looking forward to my next holidays

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank t f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    47
    31
    16
    12
See reviews for
2
50
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogor Indonesia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

It was my first time to stay at Singapore hostel. Too bad on my first day, I and my friend should experienced problem on our internet online booking. It was said there was a problem on my online booking system so the hostel only could accomodate one of us. We decided that I would stay in the Prince of Wales hostel and my friend would find other place to stay.

This hostel is very excellent in term of location. Staff/Manager are also kind and helpful. I really love the shower, clean and the shower run very nice. Suppose we didn't face problem on online booking. It would be perfect for me to stay in hostel for the first time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ekalagam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

" Got to Singapore yesterday and went straight to Prince of Wales
Boat Quay as a recommendation from my Columbian friend andres. the
view from the rooms is amazing as you are in the heart of the
financial district right beside the river. The new casino, the
merlion , the national museum , raffles place and all the stuff you
need to visit in Singapore are a walking distance. It's a cool place
if you also like to hang out in the bar , hear to live music every
night and meet cool backpackers.. Had an amazing time in Prince of
Wales!!!!! recommended all the all the way .. now enjoying time in ..Siem Reap
,Cambodia"

Room Tip: stay in the mix dorm room , more fun than staying in the girls dorm. Rooms are nice ,clean and good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatrineCambodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

The Hostel is good if you don't care about anything but drinking beer at the bar (or in the beergarden) and then fall into your bed. The only time the manager (not the local stuff) is friendly is when you order a drink. Breakfast should be there at 9 but the manager showed up at 11, which was normal according to other guests. You should get limitless coffee for breakfast but after he loaded the coffee machine once he disapeared. We asked for a cup of hot water and the answer was: we don't have hot water. We found incidentally a hot water dispenser in the dorm room. Otherwise the rooms are kind of clean and the location is ok. For the same price you can find a normal hotel room in the area. But once again, if it would be just a bar I would give it a better rating.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mr_hempy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed with POW in Little India 2 years ago and after arriving to Singapore again decided to find out it they had any vacancies. Got really lucky and had the last bed in dorm in Boat Quay. I even was upgraded for the first time in my life! Huge bed, just under the window and they even helped me make the bed. And since I had just walked in from the street I got a free beer.
Staff is incredibly nice and helpful and chill and friendly. After 3 weeks traveling it felt like home! Hostel is clean, safe and upstairs dorms are quiet so you can have a real good night sleep. Downstairs pub is just like you would like your home-pub to be with great food, cold beers and friendly staff. Live band in the evening and relaxed atmosphere to meet other backpackers. Location is brilliant and with guest discount the food-drink prices are absolutely fantastic in that area (and the food is absolutely delicious).
Really enjoyed my stay and will definitely stay there again if I ever visit Singapore again. Made me miss Asia even more! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pille H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
No photo provided
Heritage @ Clarke Quay
#142 of 223 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
MET A Space Pod
#28 of 223 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
The Quays
5footway.inn Project Boat Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quarters Hostel
#30 of 223 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
River City Inn
#19 of 223 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay

Property: Prince of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay
Address: 51 Boat Quay, Singapore 049840, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 223 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 928 - ₹ 1,855
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With two hostels in varied parts of Singapore, Prince of Wales sticks true to its simple service promise of providing great Australian craft beers, Aussie-styled service and a safe and clean backpackers hostel. With free WI-FI, air-conditioning and the first anti-bed bug mattresses in any hostel in Asia, your stay at Prince of Wales is guaranteed to be comfortable and packed with excitement. Prince of Wales caters to every backpacker's budget with an offering of beds in mixed or female dorms, and private rooms. Stays include free breakfast of toast, marmalade/marmite, fruit and as much coffee and tea as you can drink. Breakfast is self-serve. Overlooking the river, Prince of Wales Boat Quay is located in the heart of the Central Business District, against a background of Singapore's towering skyscrapers, and a stone's throw away from the city's historical landmarks. Uncover layers of Singapore history as you walk down the river peppered with colonial buildings such as Asian Civilisations Museum, Old Supreme Court and Fullerton Hotel. Night owls will appreciate the convenience of walking right into Singapore's vibrant party scene located at nearby Clarke Quay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Backpacker Hotel Singapore
Prince Of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing