We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POW I miss you !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Singapore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prince of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay
Ranked #113 of 232 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“POW I miss you !”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

" Got to Singapore yesterday and went straight to Prince of Wales
Boat Quay as a recommendation from my Columbian friend andres. the
view from the rooms is amazing as you are in the heart of the
financial district right beside the river. The new casino, the
merlion , the national museum , raffles place and all the stuff you
need to visit in Singapore are a walking distance. It's a cool place
if you also like to hang out in the bar , hear to live music every
night and meet cool backpackers.. Had an amazing time in Prince of
Wales!!!!! recommended all the all the way .. now enjoying time in ..Siem Reap
,Cambodia"

Room Tip: stay in the mix dorm room , more fun than staying in the girls dorm. Rooms are nice ,clean and good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatrineCambodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    48
    31
    16
    12
See reviews for
2
50
39
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The Hostel is good if you don't care about anything but drinking beer at the bar (or in the beergarden) and then fall into your bed. The only time the manager (not the local stuff) is friendly is when you order a drink. Breakfast should be there at 9 but the manager showed up at 11, which was normal according to other guests. You should get limitless coffee for breakfast but after he loaded the coffee machine once he disapeared. We asked for a cup of hot water and the answer was: we don't have hot water. We found incidentally a hot water dispenser in the dorm room. Otherwise the rooms are kind of clean and the location is ok. For the same price you can find a normal hotel room in the area. But once again, if it would be just a bar I would give it a better rating.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mr_hempy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Tallinn, Estonia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed with POW in Little India 2 years ago and after arriving to Singapore again decided to find out it they had any vacancies. Got really lucky and had the last bed in dorm in Boat Quay. I even was upgraded for the first time in my life! Huge bed, just under the window and they even helped me make the bed. And since I had just walked in from the street I got a free beer.
Staff is incredibly nice and helpful and chill and friendly. After 3 weeks traveling it felt like home! Hostel is clean, safe and upstairs dorms are quiet so you can have a real good night sleep. Downstairs pub is just like you would like your home-pub to be with great food, cold beers and friendly staff. Live band in the evening and relaxed atmosphere to meet other backpackers. Location is brilliant and with guest discount the food-drink prices are absolutely fantastic in that area (and the food is absolutely delicious).
Really enjoyed my stay and will definitely stay there again if I ever visit Singapore again. Made me miss Asia even more! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pille H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London to Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Very comfortable beds. Great showers. Helpful staff. Good tunes being played all day long creating a good atmosphere. Thanks for having us!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ride2Rescue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

This Location at 51 Boat Quay is the best. I was so impressed, at night it is just so beautiful. The hostel its self is supper clean, no bugs, comfortable beds, has washer and drier which is a plus for backpackers. The staff in the whole is quite friendly. One staffer Hanna is just a peach, she is just lovely and would make anyone feel at home. Their kitchen severs up quite a good meal, actually a very good meal and if you stay there you get 50% off, which for staying right on the water is the most reasonable place to eat. I just cannot imagine anyone not having a good time here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillby_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
5footway.inn Project Boat Quay
Quarters Hostel
#37 of 232 in Singapore
277 reviews
Met A Space Pod - Boat Quay
#24 of 232 in Singapore
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Heritage @ Clarke Quay
Heritage @ Clarke Quay
#155 of 232 in Singapore
7 reviews
Little India
The InnCrowd Hostel
The InnCrowd Hostel
#77 of 232 in Singapore
240 reviews
River City Inn
#31 of 232 in Singapore
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay

Property: Prince of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay
Address: 51 Boat Quay, Singapore 049840, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 232 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 943 - ₹ 1,885
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With two hostels in varied parts of Singapore, Prince of Wales sticks true to its simple service promise of providing great Australian craft beers, Aussie-styled service and a safe and clean backpackers hostel. With free WI-FI, air-conditioning and the first anti-bed bug mattresses in any hostel in Asia, your stay at Prince of Wales is guaranteed to be comfortable and packed with excitement. Prince of Wales caters to every backpacker's budget with an offering of beds in mixed or female dorms, and private rooms. Stays include free breakfast of toast, marmalade/marmite, fruit and as much coffee and tea as you can drink. Breakfast is self-serve. Overlooking the river, Prince of Wales Boat Quay is located in the heart of the Central Business District, against a background of Singapore's towering skyscrapers, and a stone's throw away from the city's historical landmarks. Uncover layers of Singapore history as you walk down the river peppered with colonial buildings such as Asian Civilisations Museum, Old Supreme Court and Fullerton Hotel. Night owls will appreciate the convenience of walking right into Singapore's vibrant party scene located at nearby Clarke Quay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Backpacker Hotel Singapore
Prince Of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing