We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible "neighbours "”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fernloft - City Hostel Singapore
Ranked #114 of 241 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The guests beside my room were extremely NOISY and ANNOYING during midnight, they talked and laughed loud, moreover, they ran in and out along the corridor which is really irritating when they hit the floor and washing machine. The management should alert about this and warn they not to do that. Luckily, my second night at Fernloft, they moved out. The sleep quality was very bad for the first night at Fernloft. The second night is getting better.

Overall the service is so so, the distance to MRT also take 10 - 15 minutes. But the location of Fernloft is not as easy to be spotted as I thought. Other than the terrible neighbours, I'm satisfied with Fernloft.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckyngan1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 78 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

Great hostel to stay! We book a double room, and it is located at the top floor. The room size is fine for two person, with only basic facilities such as cupboard and table. It is cool to get what we want with such a price in sg. The room is very clean and tidy, and it is quite at night. Bathroom is clean but a bit small.

The location of the hostel is quite nearby to Farrer Park station, and it is safe to walk at night too. Along the way to the hostel, you can find great food, and pub. The famous restaurant "scissor and cut curry rice is just nearby there, less than 5 minutes walk from the hostel! Have a try, it's great!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alice520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I'm staying there with 5 other friends in a 6-mixed bed room. Cathy, the branch manager is helpful and friendly. She replies every

The room is small but it's expected with such a price in Singapore, as long as it is tidy and clean. Bathroom is clean which i'm very particular in. Just 1 of the bathroom does not have toilet roll, even in the morning. The toilet roll should be refilled every morning. The corridor is a bit stinky, but I don't blame Fernloft for this. It is because of the stinky shoes of other tenant placing outside of their room.

The location is strategic, there is a lot of food nearby and the MRT station (Farrer Park) is jus few minutes walk away. With such a price and the facilities provided, i think this is an affordable place to stay. I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaclynSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The location of the hostel is good. A block down Jalan Besar will get you to Mustafa Center which has now expanded to I think 4 buildings in total. I'm not sure. 2 blocks down, there is the Sim Lim Square. Then the Farrer Park Subway station is just around the corner. Maybe a 10 minute walk will get you there. During nighttime, bars are everywhere. Though I really didn't dare get into one. As for the rooms. Well, what can you expect with budget accommodation. At least we've got someplace to rest after a whole day of walking around Singapore. Oh, and I can't get enough of the peanut butter and jelly sandwich. Not much but lucky me it one of my comfort food. We got a room good for 14 people and yet we didn't feel crowded at all.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SchiZ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Travelled with spouse on our business trip. Chose Fernloft Chinatown from research on Tripadvisor. However they didn't have 4 weeks' availability so I only stayed there for 2 nights before moving to the Fernloft Little India branch.

Pluses:
-Location- 5 minutes walk to MRT station- safe to walk there at night.
-Scissor-cut curry restaurant 2 minutes from the hostel is always packed, delicious and super cheap!
-Air con in room
-Nice foyer with computers and internet
-Free wireless internet
-Basic toast and jam breakfast provided
-Free transfer from other fernloft hostels
-One of the cheaper hostel private rooms I could find
-Cost per use washing machine and dryer

Minuses:
-Basic room
-Tiny shared bathroom which is a toilet and shower combined so that the toilet seat is drenched if someone just had a shower beforehand
-VERY THIN WALLS!! This was my biggest complaint. I was in a private room on the top floor staying with my spouse for a business trip for a month. We both worked business hours from Mon-Fri and needed a good night's sleep. The room was fine when there were no, or quiet neighbours. However, we encountered two couples who would have extremely loud sex several times a night along with what sounded like giggly sex games involving running in and out of their rooms and slamming their door. We could literally hear EVERYTHING. This was true of your neighbours who snored! The walls are so thin you can hear people next door talking!
-Although this hostel was non-smoking, I frequently found cigarette buds in the basin in the bathroom and the hostel staff are not really helpful in trying to sort this out. Nor of other issues to be honest.

I would only recommend staying here for a short duration. And pray that you don't have loud neighbours.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loosek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#39 of 319 in Singapore
22,973 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#67 of 319 in Singapore
6,592 reviews
@ Little Red Dot
#75 of 241 in Singapore
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
#73 of 319 in Singapore
10,383 reviews
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#17 of 319 in Singapore
1,165 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 319 in Singapore
7,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernloft - City Hostel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernloft - City Hostel Singapore

Address: 259A Jalan Besar, Singapore 208934, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 241 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: ₹ 959 - ₹ 3,356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernloft Little India is created as our flagship branch of Fernloft Group of Hostels! Apart from our traditional values that govern all Fernloft Hostels – comfortable, clean, convenient, cheap, caring and with loads of character, Fernloft City (Little India) is established to create a near hotel experience but yet without losing the fun hostel appeal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Fernloft - City Hostel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernloft Little India Hotel Singapore
Fernloft - City Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing