We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peking duck”

Cherry Garden at Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Ranked #86 of 10,515 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 31 - US$ 50
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Marina Bay
Description: Step through the magnificent doors of this traditional courtyard style residence and be seduced by the modern designs of Oriental splendor. An adept eye has blended sumptuous materials, charcoaled teak panels, slate floors and pools of light. Two private dining rooms decorated in a residential style are available. The menu offers an eclectic selection of Cantonese cuisine, presented in a modern style. Weekends will never be the same again with an all new a-la-carte dim sum buffet featuring an extensive selection of more than 20 exquisite handmade dim sum - complemented by a variety of comforting double-boiled soups, congee, fried rice and noodles, appetizers and special dishes* - all served a la minute upon order. (* Please note that appetizers and specials are limited to one order per table) Our awards include "Singapore's Best Restaurant" 2010 to 2015 by Singapore Tatler, "Singapore's Top Restaurant" 2010 to 2014 by Wine & Dine, "G Restaurant Award of Excellence" 2013 to 2016 by The Peak Selections: Gourmet & Travel, "Best Business Lunch (Asian)" 2016 by The Peak Selections: Gourmet & Travel and "Asia's Finest Restaurants" 2010 - 2012 by The Miele Guide.
Kaiserstuhl, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Peking duck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

A true Chinese restaurant in the middle of a nice hotel. I had Peking duck and appetizers as recommended by the restaurant. Everything was very stylish and nice and quiet. Closes pretty early but that is the only minus.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank tunkete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    97
    28
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
168 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Singapore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We have not eaten at every restaurant in Singapore but we have not had a better Chinese meal than here. This was our fourth visit over three years. Service is immaculate, the food is innovative, tasty and beautifully presented. The room itself lends a great backdrop to the meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank AlterK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It was wonderful :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

Went with my boyfriend to celebrate his birthday and a work success. We loved it! We couldn't figure out where to go for brunch but were glad we finally agreed on the Cherry Garden. We went for the 118$ brunch option with unlimited dim sum, an appetizer, a main, a veg and a rice or noodle, plus unlimited Ruinart champagne.

The service was great. We walked in feeling a bit out of place as we aren't very formal but the wait staff was very welcoming. I can be a bit picky so explained shamefully that I only eat certain things. The waitress was lovely about it and shared the message with the other staff who then even pointed out when we by mistake ordered something containing something I don't eat.

We were bowled over by the gyoza which were crispy and soft at the same time (filled with chicken mushroom aubergine and tofu), and also by the crystal dumplings with mushrooms and courgettes, and the drunken chicken dumplings. Stir fried young pak choi also great and I adored the chocolate filled custard dumplings ! Let's not forget the yummy crispy aubergine with chicken floss!

Lovely meal which went wonderfully well with quite a lot of champagne :) we will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank eternelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Expensive but soooooo worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We went for the champagne brunch to celebrate a couple of things. Initially the place feels a little formal but the staff are lovely and friendly and soon make you feel at home. Service that is both good and relaxed.

The food is great, particularly the beef and ginger Dim sum, the custard chocolate buns, the soya chicken, the drunken chicken dim sum actually it was all fantastic. Add to that free flow Ruinart champagne and it becomes tricky to imagine a better brunch

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GNCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Superb service from Joy.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We were staying at The Mandarin and so were blessed to have so many fantastic restaurants in out hotel.

We had a lovely meal in Cherry Garden. It was rather over priced but we came to realise that of everywhere in Singapore ( against GBP). The presentation and taste was as to be expected.

The bonus for us was our lovely server, Joy. She made suitable recommendations for both main and desserts and spent time chatting away with us, even when the rest of the restaurant was void of customers and it was clearly home time for the staff.

She made it a memorable visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Micmac85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cherry Garden at Mandarin Oriental, Singapore also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Cherry Garden at Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing