We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Original Location a Singapore Must” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Killiney Kopitiam

Killiney Kopitiam
Ranked #548 of 9,937 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 10
Cuisines: Cafe, Asian, Singaporean, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Orchard Road
Seattle
Level Contributor
542 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Original Location a Singapore Must”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Can't imagine what the reviewer who called the originally Killiney Kopitiam, on Killiney Rd., was thinking. "Dingy"? Not at all; it seemed quite tidy and clean to us. "Offering slop..." Where did this guy eat? We dropped by for lunch. It was bustling; all customers other than us appeared to be locals. Is that the sign of a bad place? I had nasi lemak. It came pre-prepared, wrapped in a banana leaf pyramid. I generally prefer my nasi lemak made for me when I order, but this was pretty darn good. The sauce was tasty and just right-spicy. The ikan bilis was a little bit chewy, rather than the all-too-common rock hard. A small fried fish was a nice additional touch. My companion had chicken curry with rice. I tasted the curry sauce and thought it was outstanding, as did she. Generous amount of meat and potatoes included. My nasi lemak was just a little over S$2;the chicken curry (really, enough for 2) was less than S$6. Service was efficient, if not exactly overflowing with bonhomie. A Singapore institution since 1919, and for good reason.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BallardBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    90
    29
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best of Spore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

This is prob the signature of Singapore coffee culture

the kopi (local coffee), soft boil eggs (must try) and kaya bread (local jam) are to die for....

Buy a bottle of kaya back home - your family back home will love you for that

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Justinmomny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Forget the hype”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Made our way to killeney- koptiam after reading the recommendation in Lonely Planet guide. I would preface my review by saying that we were not looking for posh food or surroundings and that we love all forms of eastern food and have eaten from street stalls and cafe's across Thailand, Cambodia and Bali. I say this to avoid the thought that this review is about expectation.

In summary it was a dingy cafe offering slop and service without cheer. My suspicion is that it survives on the label of being the first of its name which allows it some mystique and trendiness.

Good points
>cheap

Bad points
>Dingy and lacking any character - reminded me of a greasy cafe I used as a student in Leicester.
> slopped out food that was lacking interest. Think school dinner
> miserable staff who dumped the food on the table without a smile or a word.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cheap and Taste good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Try it, and you will love it ;)
I tried nasi lemak and Mie Laksa together with it famous coffee and teh tarik. I couldn't say more. I like it!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Utamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“always back for more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

i went to the original killiney near orchard. it's always packed with guest. the coffee & the toast is great. i also order curry and mee siam, both was good.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank LalaSantra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Killiney Kopitiam also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Killiney Kopitiam? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing