We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic, unpretentious and delicious middle eastern food..”

Pistachio Middle Eastern & Mediterranean Grill
Ranked #33 of 11,966 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 21
Description: Helmed by Chef Khaled Elelimi, Pistachio Middle Eastern & Mediterranean Grill offers popular classic Middle Eastern and Mediterranean dishes with a contemporary twist for lunch and dinner. No trans fats or artificial ingredients is used in the cooking.
Restaurant details
Description: Helmed by Chef Khaled Elelimi, Pistachio Middle Eastern & Mediterranean Grill offers popular classic Middle Eastern and Mediterranean dishes with a contemporary twist for lunch and dinner. No trans fats or artificial ingredients is used in the cooking.
Reviewed 24 May 2017

If you are looking for an authentic middle eastern food... This is your place.
Food is deliciously cooked...

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pistachio-SG, Manager at Pistachio Middle Eastern & Mediterranean Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Thank you so much for appreciating the sincerity conveyed by our quality and authentic food. You have made our day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 186 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2017

I love Middle-Eastern food and having lived in Dubai I have tasted authentic and the best you can find! Back in Singapore my cravings for good Middle-Eastern food have more often than not fell very short of authenticity. But finally, I have found a restaurant that meets my highest expectations in every dish that I ordered!

It's called PISTACHIO GRILL located conveniently in Ah Hood Road inside Zhongshan Mall. If you drive and parked in the basement and come up the escalator you will see it immediately right in front of you with little white 'picket fence'. It's a comfortable small eatery with one side opened and set in casual seating.

I invited a group of friends who are Foodies and very discerning in their palates to join me and every dish satisfied their fussy taste buds. The hummus was yummy, smooth and full of flavour and when spread on the freshly baked Pita bread (which was thin and crispy) it just brings out the whole combination of the Huumus and the freshness of the bread. The next dish was the Turkish Pride which had nice juicy pieces of beef cooked just right! Then came the Pistachio Mix Grill with skewers of lamb on bone, Adana kebab and Chicken Kebab served hanging over a plate of saffron rice with cashew nuts and raisins. The meats were really yummy and juicy with the flavours oozing out of every bite!

Then the much-awaited lamb shank was served with a bowl of saffron rice. It was WOW! The lamb was so tender and full of flavour (a very tasty sauce with nuts was spread over the shank).

It's not over yet! Desserts - we were recommended the hot chocolate lava and it was heaven! The sweetness was just right and the chocolate oozed out as you cut into the cake and we quickly scooped it up with our spoons and it was smooth and warm and yummy! We had one more dessert that was recommended but not on the menu - a typical Turkish dessert made of strips of filo pastry and it is baked fresh (takes 25 minutes) when you are just about finishing your main meal, so it's just right that you take your tummy takes a rest to prepare for the dessert.

I will certainly go back again to try the other dishes. The strange thing is that I don't leave feeling stuffed (although we prefer quite a bit of meat items) but fully satisfied. I put it down to the way the food was cooked, not oily, flavours sealed into the meat and all freshly cooked.

Last but not least, Chef Khaled, the man behind the cooking was very engaging and took time to visit every diner's table to enquire about their food experience and taking time to explain how some of the items are cooked to Ensure authenticity and freshness. It makes all the difference and it shows how passionate he is about his creations and putting his heart and soul into the food preparation.

I am finally happy that I found a place to satisfy my cravings!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank devajuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pistachio-SG, Manager at Pistachio Middle Eastern & Mediterranean Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Coming from someone who is so familiar with Middle Eastern cuisine, your review is a double compliment! Thank you so much for coming with your foodie friends. We are so happy to learn that everyone had a great time at Pistachio. Hope to see you all again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Above average food, noisy open environment sitting in the lobby of mall with kids playing and shoppers all around, drinking water not served but have to pay $2.50 for bottled water. Overall a disappointing experience

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Kevyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pistachio-SG, Manager at Pistachio Middle Eastern & Mediterranean Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Glad you enjoyed the food. Zhongshan Mall is a popular mall in this neighbourhood, so kids and shoppers are a normal sight especially on weekends when families come for their grocery shopping.

In case you have not noticed, there is no service charge or GST on your bill. By dining at Pistachio, you have already saved 17% on your bill, which is probably more than the $2.50 that you paid for your bottle of water. The $2.50 is not just the price of bottled water, it includes the costs of staff to serve it, ice that we buy, electricity of chiller to keep it frozen, washing of glass after use.

You pay for tap water at home. Why would it be any different when you go to a restaurant? We have bills to pay as well. Your understanding would be greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Very good food with natural ingredients and friendly chef to explain health benefits of Mediterranean style food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ST1400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pistachio-SG, Manager at Pistachio Middle Eastern & Mediterranean Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you for appreciating our sincere intentions of serving quality food using the freshest and healthiest ingredients. We look forward to welcoming you back at Pistachio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Everything is so flavoursome, the quality of the ingredients shining through. We had baba ganoush, A Shish Kebab with egg white garlic sauce and freshly baked bread, and the Moroccan spiced red snapper with saffron rice. My mouth is watering writing this now, remembering how good it all was! The chef came out and introduced himself and we had a chat for about 10 minutes, lovely humble guy with great skills and a passion for quality.

This place is not a stylish location, it's all about the food, and it shines.

Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pistachio-SG, Manager at Pistachio Middle Eastern & Mediterranean Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review and for coming all the way to dine at Pistachio. We are glad to know that we have created fond dining memories for your to bring home with you. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Singapore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pistachio Middle Eastern & Mediterranean Grill also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Pistachio Middle Eastern & Mediterranean Grill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;