We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“An innovative menu for business lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gordon Grill

Gordon Grill
Ranked #491 of 10,193 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 60 - US$ 150
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Established in 1963, Goodwood Park Hotel's premier fine dining restaurant, Gordon Grill has built a strong reputation for serving some of the finest steaks and Continental cuisine in Singapore. Gordon Grill also has an adjoining Highland Bar, which is ideal for an aperitif or an after-dinner drink. Gordon Grill has won many awards and accolades over the years, and has also welcomed several Michelin-starred chefs from different countries as part of the hotel's guest chef promotions.
singapore
Level Contributor
297 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“An innovative menu for business lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

When it comes to a bit above the crowd in food and excellent atmosphere for a serious business conversation, you can't beat the Gordon Grill. The business lunch menu is most reasonable at $38 for 3 courses and $48 for 4 courses. The special touch is that for most of the courses, one can choose small portions of 2-3 choices. For example, the appetizer, you may choose say the angel hair with crab meat and caviar or have it in smaller portion but pick 2 more among 4 or 5 appetizer selections. It comes in a long plate of 3 well laid out tasting portions. For people who want to nibble on morsels of interesting food while getting on with business, this is ideal. I skipped the soup (select among 3 choices) and went for the Tasmanian Baramundi for main and choice of 2 desserts to count as 3 courses altogether. All through lunch, the service was discreet yet attentive and we had an alcove to four of us. This added a sense of intimacy that was an asset to a client conversation,

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnyboy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    23
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Singapore Tradition.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

The Gordon Grill has been around for years and is still a good place to eat. Whilst you dont go to Singapore to eat Steak it is a place where you can get a good one.
The Goodwood Park have given this restaurant a bit of a revamp.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank fredhardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Sophisticated steak options, snobbish service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

As a steak enthusiast, I appreciated this restaurant's sophisticated menu. It provided details on the steaks, such as grass fed vs corn fed, and the country of origin etc. Also, when we ordered steaks a waiter presented the raw meat on a cart, so that you can see the condition of the meat. Which is a great plus if you are as crazy about steaks as I am -- you could see the color, distribution of fat, and juiciness from looking at the raw meat yourself. The waiter then cut and weighed the meat in front of you before he takes the steak back to the kitchen for cooking.

Unfortunately, I encountered snobbish and slightly rude service here. I asked for 300g of a certain cut of meat. The waiter cut the meat and put it on the scale, and it was 250g only. I then expressed discontent, saying that I had really wanted 300g. The waiter said, "Madam, most women order 200g only, so 250g is quite a big portion for you."

I felt humiliated by this comment, and frankly surpised that a restaurant of this calibre -- which should have every incentive to sell more steak, not less, as the price is charged by unit of weight -- would give a female customer such treatment. But I was dining with business associates and did not want to make a scene, so I let it pass.

Lastly I should mention that this restaurant has a British upper-class setting, is relatively quiet and forbids the use of mobile phones within the restaurant premises.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank ariellek_bj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
714 reviews
366 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 467 helpful votes
“Great food and reasonably priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Celebrated my good friend's birthday here and we had a great time. The steaks were good and service staff attentive and helpful. Tables are not close to each other and the restaurant is pretty small allowing lots of privacy an exclusivity. Great ambience but lack any good views looking outside the restaurant as its located on the first level just beside the main door to the hotel.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alanyeo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great meat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Perfect place to go to since it´s located in the same hotel we usually stay in. Last time there we decided to have meat from Australian beer drinking cattle...it was a thrill, not the most cheap place, but well worth the experience!!

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank JonasCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gordon Grill also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Gordon Grill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing