We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service ok but food and Chef a disaster!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paulaner Brauhaus

Paulaner Brauhaus
Ranked #783 of 10,419 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: US$ 20 - US$ 40
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Pub, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Marina Bay
Thailand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Service ok but food and Chef a disaster!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

We wanted to settle for a nice German meal, enjoying some comfort food.
Unfortunately you can see and taste that the food is done without passion. Certainly not what I would have expected from a Paulaner Brauhaus.
The potatoes we had to the Schnitzel haven't been fried enough and were missing some salt and pepper.
But worst was the "Classic" flame bread which was served with Sauerkraut instead of sourcreme. First we thought they mixed up the orders, but have been told then that this is the way the "Classic" Flame bread is done. Being from Germany I could certainly tell that this is not right. The kitchen wasn't willing or able to prepare another one without Sauerkraut. Instead the Chef tried to give us a lecture on his menu writing and the expectations to a German restaurant in Asia. I life since 10 years in Bangkok and have had some of the best classic German food there, so I rather saw this as a lame excuse.
In conclusion a very disappointing experience as we were missing the passion and service mind of the Chef, which unfortunately couldn't been made up for by a very hard trying service team.
Would not go there again.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyawayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    79
    44
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty Dishes w. non-responsive staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

If you do not take my reviews of Restaurants serious after this one, I don't blame you.
I know it's German food, but so damn tasty and well presented. Hence the full score on the food.

The music, to whom has ever been to Munich, is not German at all and the staff response doesn't fit into the German stereotype. No smiles, no response after a small wave of the hand. What happened to "ordnung muss sein"?

Anyhow, really recommend to a night out of a different kind with good tasty food.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KhanOfLifestyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Went looking for a "casual beer" and some food. Across the board, veery good and reasonable. Only negative: I asked for a "house lager" and got a wheat beer. When i pointed this out to the manager, he told me that it was the lager. I've had a few beers over the years and know the difference. Bottom line, he replaced it with "another lager," so no harm, no foul.
Good place to go with friends for a casual meal.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tipflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
117 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Night, Bands and German Beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

I enjoyed a night at the Paulaner Brauhaus with a Singaporean friend who recomended this restaurant/bar. The place itself is dominated by the large brass brewing container behind the bar. Ontop of which a couple of bands usually perform.

On the night I had a a Currywurst Sausage and my friend had a Pizza. Both very tasty and came out very quick. The service was attentive and were able to offer us happy hour disounts.

I would definatly recomend this venue to anyone staying in Singapore!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank coyotes_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Service beyond horrible.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

Well, I can’t say much good or bad about the food, but about the difficulties to get any. Any food or drink, that is.

I went there planning to join some friends for an hour or so and to eat a bite and get something to drink. It took about half an hour to extract a menu from quite arrogant staff. (“Yeah, yeah, sure…” mumbled from the corner of one’s mouth, if someaone asks for something for the third time, means “kiss my *ss” in German culture. Apparently the stuff IS well adapted to the theme of the venue.)
The menue itself was apparently all that was on the menue for the evening, I didn’t manage to get someone to take an order for the other half hour, and left after a bit more than one hour.

I can understand that the staff was under a lot of strain that evening, they were very busy, mainly with first returning credit cards to people who where not the card owners, and then trying to retieve cards and invoices and re-match cards and owners.

The menu looked decent, though a bit overpriced. One thing I have to say in their favour is that they got the decoration right: The chairs are exact copies of the horrible, back-breaking iron folding chairs you find in many German beer gardens. Kudos to that.

There are many places in Singapore that offer good food and good service. I’d recommend the bar and restaurant of the Conrad hotel right across the street, if you want excellent food and service at Millenia walk, or Werner’s Oven on the east coast, if you are dying to have authentic German food.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_235711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paulaner Brauhaus also viewed

 

Been to Paulaner Brauhaus? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing