We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded my expectations!”
Review of Dos Mestizos

Dos Mestizos
Ranked #18 of 325 Restaurants in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 20
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 9 January 2021

Try the black paella, cocillilo, and my fave callos!!! A must try alternative to the best sellers but equally delicious

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank jpa972
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2021

Avoid this restaurant.

we dined here because of the rave reviews and it was kinda close to our hotel.

The pricing was steep compared to the quality of food we ate.

The shrimp and the beef salpicao was good however we had issues with the clams and the paella dishes.

Paella - very very few squid portions, it was more like eating rice. You can have paella anywhere in Metro Manila and any restaurant would definitely beat this restaurant's paella dish

Clams - there was something smelly with the clams dish. only 2 out of 8 of my friends ate the clam dish because of the smell. we asked the cook to check if the clams were still OK to eat because of the smell - after 2 mins - he came back and said - it was the way it's supposed to be cooked/served. Normally, restaurants would either ask if they wanted another dish to be served OR ask if they want another set of same dish to be served.

Instead - we were left with " just eat this" clam dish.

Personally, i am OK paying much as long as my tummy is happy. But in this case, i was extremely disappointed. I had to order a sandwich and beer in the hotel because the food was just disappointing.

I would not recommend eating in this restaurant. I would eat somewhere where the price is "reasonable" and the food would actually be tasty.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ismail h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dos Mestizos, General Manager at Dos Mestizos, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2021

Thank you for your review! We appreciate all reviews coming from our guests and we don't take it lightly.

I'm sorry to hear that you didn't like our Paella due to lack of squid portions, our seafood paella consists of equal portions of clams, mussels, squid & shrimp along with the rice that it's mixed. I believe that you won't find any other Paella in the market with abundant servings such as ours in a plate sized Paellera.

As the issue with clams in our Almejas al vino Blanco, we would like to apologize that your needs were not met as expected as we were having a busy night.

We hope that you can try us out again soon and may I suggest trying our other dishes such as our Octopus Ceviche, Baked oysters and for the Mains our Cochinillo and Lengua de Vaca. Just some of our many bestsellers!

Muchas Gracias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2020 via mobile

The location of the Restaurant changed. They are now in Station 1. Nice Design. Super freezing aircon.
We visited 2 times. First time during their soft opening. Not many guets and staff was very attentive. Second time some days later. The experice was not as good as before. The food is good. The wine selection was disappointing. Out of the 4 Wines on the list only one was available. Plus their House wine. Because we dont like Chianti, we had to go with the house wine. At the end they forgot to charge us the wine and we split the bill with the group. After paying they left and we stayed finishing the wine. Then they noticed and came back to charge us an other 1000 PHP. At the end not a big issue but why not giving the wine for free or with discount if it's their fault? The wine costs 250-300 PHP in a grocery store. Nothing for them. But they still charge us 1000 PHP plus tax and Service charge. And it's their fault.
I think the staff including their manager (who apologized for the mistake but didnt offer anything) has to learn a bit how to treat clients....
At the end they have the full amount but we will not visit this place again....

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank FollowMePH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 March 2020 via mobile

The tapas was quite disappointing for a Spanish/Filipino restaurant. In particular the chorizo which should be a signature dish, was unrecognizable - just meat and potatoes no spice. Gambas and beef was ok, sangria was also very strange. But the ambience was very nice as was the service. And the manager (Andre?) came out and attentively listened to our comments and promised to look into it, so all is by no means lost in this restaurant so I would give it another go.

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank C9857NKianr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2Mestizos, Owner at Dos Mestizos, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2020

Thank you for your review! I'm sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. Please be informed that we take these comments seriously, and since our Manager has already addressed the issue we are positive that it has been dealt with accordingly. We hope to serve you again in the near future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2020 via mobile

If you want tye whole Cochinillo, you have to order it a day in advance. If you just a quarter or half, they can prepare it on the day, but you will have to wait for an hour.

Order the paella valenciana and negra! All the tapas were very good!!

Very pricey so get ready to spend!!

Date of visit: February 2020
3  Thank BerlynCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2Mestizos, Owner at Dos Mestizos, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2020

Thank you for your review! Yes the Whole Cochinillo takes at around 4 hours to cook, so we really do need a 1 day advance order to prepare. Aside from our Paella we hope you can try our other Main dishes as well, equally delicious too! We hope to serve you again soon! Muchas Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dos Mestizos also viewed

 

Been to Dos Mestizos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.