We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Los Indios Bravos Boracay
Ranked #11 of 334 Restaurants in Boracay
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 30
Cuisines: International, Cafe, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: In the late 1800's Filipino intellectuals and warrior-poets started using the word "Indio" (a derogatory term to refer to the Islands' natives) as a badge of honor and a source of pride. They eventually formed a society that fought for reforms and more rights for their countrymen and called themselves "Los Indios Bravos" --- The Brave Natives. This gastropub is a tribute to all those pioneering men for we too are breaking new ground in Boracay as we are the first to showcase all-Filipino handcrafted beers on tap paired with classic pub food from all over the world.
Reviewed 10 January 2020

First time we ate here as my sister and her family brought us to this place. We weren't disappointed. The caveman or dino ribs (cant remember what it was called) was massive and very tasty. The sausages were good and the mash was particularly good. Would definitely go back and don't miss out on their craft beer choices.

Date of visit: December 2019
2  Thank YES_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 863 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2020

Great food and the best selection of craft beer on the island makes this my go-to destination in Boracay

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Stan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2020 via mobile

Awful restaurant with a third of the menu , "freshly out of stock".
Basic meals that present themselves in a well-written fashion that are expensive and disappointing. Beers are overpriced as is the wine list. Service is incredibly slow.
Don't recommend.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Traveldelightbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaggieT151, Owner at Los Indios Bravos Boracay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2020

Dear Traveldelightbb,

Thank you for your feedback may i take this opportunity to explain what occurred during the time of your visit.

It’s unfortunate that we had challenges with supplies , making some of the Craft Beers on the menu out of stock due to the supertyphoon that struck Boracay. We already addressed this issue and we are now 100% with our stocks.

Our beers are locally manufactured by micro and nano breweries from the Philippines. Meaning these beers are brewed with love and in small batches by our awesome Filipino craft brewers. Thus price will definitely not be as cheap as your normal commercial beers. The beers that we serve are made with pure malts, hops, yeast and water; we do not put any adjunct or extenders to make the beers cheaper. Our brewers take pride in the ingredients and techniques they use to brew the beer that they want. Average cost of craft beers in Johannesburg around 75 Rand about $5. It would be awesome for you to try our beer flight next time so you can taste the variety and complexity of our beers , as flavors will differ and help you understand craft beers more.

We apologize that it took a while for your orders to arrive , perhaps you came at the time when orders came at the same time .

We understand that not all taste are the same. May we know if your server did a quality check with you regarding your food? They are trained to do this so we can rectify any issues with food.

We appreciate your feedback and have shared this with the team. We hope to see you again in the future. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2020 via mobile

Average food and expensive. I ordered the salt and pepper beef and it came out with 4 pieces of chopped beef. The chicken tikka masala was really spicy and barely had any chicken it in. The Mac n cheese tasted like it came from box. The burger was blah. Our meal with a craft beer was expensive for a restaurant in Boracay.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank tieplaarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaggieT151, Owner at Los Indios Bravos Boracay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2020

Thank you for your feedback! Honestly this is the first time we have encountered such review .
Perhaps would be good if you can visit our page .

Los Indios Bravos is not an average priced restaurant. We take pride in providing our guest with dishes using only the best ingredients , which are shipped every week from our reputable suppliers in Manila.
Los Indios Bravos is known for big portions , and I’m confident that it will not pass through the hands of our Executive Chef and Sous Chef if they are not pleased with the size and taste of the dish. Also, we’re surprised that the dishes that you mentioned are favorites amongst our regulars. By the way , Masala is basically not a spicy dish unless requested. Either way thank you for your feedback and we hope to exceed your taste bud expectations on your next visit to Boracay.

Upon checking with our staff we didn’t receive any complaints regarding the dishes that you mentioned during your time of visit.

Had you called the attention of our staff we would have gladly addressed it right away.

Shipping craft beers has always been a challenge in the island as all kegs are sourced out in different parts of the country and should be transported in a refrigerated van in a certain temperature by sea for days for it to reach Boracay maybe this is the reason why we are the only one in the island who sells craft beers in tap. Average price of our 330ml craft beer is 199 pesos brewed in small batches with love by top brewers in the Philippines isn’t that worth it?

Come by for a beer, it’s on us. Maybe this way, you can look beyond your concerns and experience what we really strive to provide. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2020 via mobile

My second visit. This place takes its cue from the gastropub concept that has revolutionised pub dining in the UK in recent years (the old cliche about food being bad in England is way out of date and usually regurgitated by people who want to sound knowledgeable but haven’t been, or if they have, didn’t know where to go). It all starts with passionate cooks who believe in bringing good food to the people at reasonable prices and without pretensions. This is what you get here. The menu is an eclectic mix of Brit pub favourites, from cottage pie to fish and chips to Indian curry, plus the obvious staples of steak and burgers. You won’t miss out whatever you go for. All washed down with good craft beer on tap (praise be - something different to San Mig). What’s not to like? Well, some might find the music a bit loud, or the helpings a bit big - but then again, others would put that in the plus box. Go and have fun.

Date of visit: January 2020
2  Thank CayoteLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Los Indios Bravos Boracay also viewed

 

Been to Los Indios Bravos Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.