We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveller rating
237
245
72
16
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
245
72
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat ride private island puting buhangin free island honda bay bay cottages quick orientation snorkeling area table tennis day tour marine life executive villa basketball court island hopping sea grass ping pong welcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 582 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2017

Dos palmas has been a great name for decades and I was excited that finally I get to see this place. First off... to get here from Manila is a 1hr - 1.5hr plane ride. Once you get there, you have to take a 30 minute land trip to the Honda Bay Wharf and take a 1 hr 15 minute boat ride. I was kinda not impressed when i saw it.

Here are my comments:
- Their boat schedule to and fro are limited. They do not sync with plane schedule. Since we booked the 645 which landed in Puerto Princesa at 8am, they had to make us wait in their office until 10am. It was a plain office that was not fit to accommodate guest. No coffee was served, nor wet towels nor water. Their staff were also not trained to take care of guests.
- The room was spacious but already pretty old. The toilets don't even have bidet.
- Hot water took while in the bathroom.
- No internet in rooms.
- There is a power out 2x a day where they turn off their generators at 10-11am and 4-5pm. During this time, there is no cellphone signal, no electricity and no water (including flushing of toilets).
- Going home, our flight was at 330pm. We had no choice but to leave 9am because the next boat was 130 which was too late for the 330pm. Knowing there is an event, they should have added more boat trips. I think it is inconsiderate of them to make us wait again in their office or in the airport for 4 hours instead of maximizing our time in their resort.
- Beaches are not well maintained. It is no cleaned of natural trashes so I can't say its 100% safe for kids.
- With all these, teach your staff to respond to guest complaints. They do not flex at all, like the boat trip. As if 9am was not early enough, they now want us to board at 845 and began to pester us at 840am.

Plus:
- Since we were too early for the airport, their driver offered to take us to the souvenir shop.
- Food was great! We enjoyed it.
- Price was reasonable...

Room Tip: Know their boat schedule before you book your flights!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank John_Ong1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

Just returned from Dos Palmas. The staff are wonderful! Couldn't do enough for we two old people. The island is picture perfect! The breakfasts were wonderful! The rest of the food needs to be chosen with care! Avoid the pizzas and the curries at all costs. The lovely big rooms need serious refurbishment. The curtains were hanging off the rods, the French Doors needed Hercules to open them and I tripped over a piece of skirting board that stuck up about 6 cms in front of the verandah doors. The wash basin had no plug See picture 2 I used a hairspray can to seal the drain pipe, and the toilet paper holder fell down from the wall whenever it was used see picture 1. The showers were lovely and hot! The actual organisation was fantastic - such efficient handling of passengers on and off the boat and all done with commendable courtesy. Our last night's entertainment was fantastic - Philippino Dancing and a breath taking fire dance. We loved our time at Dos Palmos but two or three nights is enough as there isn't a lot to do.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

My best friend and I stayed at Dos Palmas for 2 nights, and we had an excellent time! The staff was very helpful and went above and beyond for our needs. Buffet breakfast was the best! So many options and a great way to start the day. Dinner buffet was great too especially with the live entertainment. The island itself is surrounded by beautiful water and landscapes.

Splurge on the private tour boat for island hopping. It's nice to see the islands on your own time instead of going in a large group. Also, the private island 10 minutes away from Dos Palmas is worth seeing. The Spa was great too--body scrubs were worth it!

Just be aware of the travel time to and from the wharf. There are only a few trips a day so time accordingly with your flight. Internet isn't very good. Invest in a SIM card with unlimited internet.

Lastly, people who complain here are really ridiculous. For the money you're paying, this place is worth it and then some. Don't expect the Four seasons when you're only paying $125-$150/night.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

The island is beautiful, the sea is clear, the staff are brilliant, (especially Jimbo and Manni in the scuba centre), there's evening entertainment and table tennis and pool..
But...don't expect a high standard in the rooms- they are clean but not well maintained-request a room in A01-8 or X01-8, they have the best views and the floors have been tiled.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank Debcartref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

1.In airport waiting 1 hour.
2. In office charge government fee 150 pesos in selling email writing 40
3. Check in is 2 pm , they don't say it in email when give You boat times. I had to sit sweat 2 hours as I came 12 am
4. Luggage area is far from check in and if You need something til 2 pm, it is hard to find.
5. Villas exclusive have 2 floors, not just window to the sea as in pictures on website.
6. Website pictures all are not from resort island, administration just put to sell.
7. I got one mail about 2000 pesos credit, when arrived it grown til 2350.
8. It is big mess as selling doing bad information.
9. No electricity during 2 hours each day.
10. Stuff doing good after administration and selling mess, but living in bad conditions.
11. Very bad for this price, which mostly go to administration, but administration and selling doing bad.

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank riplijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews