We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mermaid Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$ 76
US$ 68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Scandi Divers(Puerto Galera)
US$ 58
US$ 42
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Badladz Beach Resort(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
US$ 63
US$ 46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 61
US$ 53
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Montani Beach Resort(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
US$ 35
US$ 34
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 111
US$ 61
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Bamboo House Beach Lodge & Restaurant(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
US$ 14
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Infinity Resort(Puerto Galera)
US$ 184
US$ 178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Out of the Blue Resort(Puerto Galera)
US$ 313
US$ 303
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Oceana Beach Resort(Puerto Galera)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
69
48
16
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
48
16
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousesabang beachdive shopdive sitesconvenient locationflights of stairsmarine lifeper dayphilippinesnightliferesortensuitepierpadiprosinstructoroperation
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Good hotel, but a litlle bit expensive for what it is.

Excellent staff, professional and sympathic. We appreciated the dvd player in the room.
The restaurant was good too, but no need to take the breakfast with the room you should rather order on the menu.

About the localisation, good but really noisy when your room is next to the street.

Some rooms may need to be refreshed.

I think that for the same price you can have better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is not on the street. And do not hesitate to pay a little bit more to get a better room: it changes everything.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

The Mermaid is my favorite Resort in the Philippines. It is clean and first class. The rooms are the best, the food is great, the pool is nice, and the Scuba Shop is the best I have seen, especially the Dive Masters and staff. The Hotel staff handled everything for us, the airport pick-up and transfer to Batangas, the ferry, and touring around Mindoro. I made a few friends there who I want to return to see as soon as possible. Joy, in the office, the Dive Shop Mangager, and especially the owner of the Mermaid. Meeting with them, smoking cigars and drinking coffee was the highlight of my trip. The girls were so excited and the mango shakes were awesome. I recommend the Mermaid to anybody traveling to PG, especially if you want first class rooms, food and staff, and world class diving accomodations.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank budmartn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Diving in Sabang for two weeks and two Typhoons
We stay at the Mermaid Resort for little under two weeks and had a great time. I would highly recommend staying here. We will be back! Great staff, great food, and great location. Yes, sometimes it gets noisy because of motorcycle traffic but still great place. We stay in one of the Penthouses with nice terrace/jacuisy and while it did rain allot a couple of days we enjoyed the friendly and helpful staff. We also enjoyed their dive shop down on beach front - they have a brand new twin outboard dive boat which was great. Our divemater was Jeff and he did a great job of taking us to different dive sites each day. We had a chance to go to Verde Island for two trips and would recommend this because not only is the diving special - best site out of all of the sites we visited but also Jeff puts on a great cook-out on the beach over there. We also hired a moped for the time we stay in Sabang (from Puerto Galleria).
It was worth going to the waterfalls (take left out of Puerto Galleria) - they have nice swimming pools below the falls. We also went right out of Puerto Galleria and went passed white beach to end of pavement and then short dirt road to Lucas Resort for lunch. Lucas is a great place for pizza and acoustic guitar music - not to mention cocktails / beer.

Room Tip: We stayed one night each end in Manila Marriott because of bad flight schedules in and out of Manila- We arranged a van between Airport Marriott and pier where we made our own arrangements for boat ride to island. Great van driver helped us get onto boat with all our luggage. Tip: have small bills for tipping because it is wild at the boat dock with everyone wanting to do this or do that for you. Best advise is go with the flow - it might cost you < $5 USD but no muss no fuss with tickets / luggage / fees etc.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank airspeed_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Mermaid. Very helpfull staff, an excellent restuarant and what must be the perfect position for the many attractions on offer. Close enough to the action, but far away enough to be fairly quiet and secluded. Our room was very spacious and comforable with good fittings and fixtures. Pillows from hell...............

Room Tip: The upper rooms are more comfortable and really try to get a room off the busy main road>
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank PatsoJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Our suite room was very spacious with modern design and fittings. The hotel was clean and professionally run with friendly staff. The location is on a steep hill coming out of Sabang beach with a rocky ride to town on the poorly maintained (sorry never maintained) road. The night life is very handy and also easy to get to other parts of Puerto Galera. Well worth staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dennis146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews