We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveller rating
204
50
13
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
50
13
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmexican foodbeach resortburritorooms are smallwhite beachmuelle piera great stayrelaxing weekendrooms are clean and comfortablememorable stayquiet locationfilipino dishescold beermangoprivate beachverde islandsean
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 275 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2017

We stayed at Badladz Beach Resort for 5 nights start of November'17 on our first vacation in the Philippines and what a GREAT way to start exploring the beautiful country. A lot of boxes ticked but at the top would be the hospitality of owners Sean and Maylen and the Badladz staff, they never let us feel out of HOME.

We, family of 4 with 2 young boys , called Badladz Beach Resort our home for 5 nights when Tropical depression Ramil kept pelting rain throughout our stay. It would have been a damp forgotten vacation if not for the SPECIAL place and the people running this place.

ROOM - Very close to the Puerto Galera - Muelle Pier , the resort is right on the beach with beautiful turquoise sea on their doorsteps. We had the privilege of being the first to stay in the new King Ocean Suite with beautiful views of the resort and the sea and the best was the Luxury never hurt the pockets. The sea facing room was big for a family of 4 with all the amenities including a mini fridge and a private sea facing balcony.

PROPERTY - The kids spent a lot of time playing in the pool and was one of the best we have come across with its beautiful cave and waterfall. The little one had a great time fetching coconuts from the many trees doting the property.The little reprieve we had from the rains, we went island hopping for a day and the remaining time we spent around the resort on the small but beautiful strip of beach and looking at the fishermen pulling in their catch.

FOOD - Being stuck in bad weather , we did not have much choice over the resort's restaurant and while with kids is always a problem, we were very happy. While I read great reviews about their Mexican food, we fell in love with their Filipino dishes.

NETWORK - Wifi not available in the rooms. Globe and Smart connectivity intermittent in the room , better outside the room.

Coming back to the hospitality, this has by far been the best .. so much so , we are waiting to be back again.

Room Tip: Go for the Suites if you are with kids.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dhiraj P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BADLADZresorts, Owner at Badladz Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

SUPER :-)
If we were able to write reviews for Guests...Your family would get a Huge "5 STARS' from us too !
Your were all so Happy, Friendly and Interesting be around. Really the type of friends we like to have come visit us in our little paradise.

Thank you all so much for bringing the kidz to play, and talk, and keep us entertained.

Really hope to see you again for more Fun, Fun, Fun !
Take care :-)
Sean & Maylen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

I.... love.... the .... Philippines

Badladz is a perfect example of why. Great food, hospitality, comfort, affordability. Oh.. and pretty girls everywhere you look.

Philippines is notorious for power outages, but Badladz did not miss a lick.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BADLADZresorts, Owner at Badladz Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Hey Paul :-)

Yes, we really do our best ! We now have 12 volt DC lighting throughout the resort so the lights NEVER go out AND 2 Back Up generators just to make SURE you enjoy your vacation !

Great to see you & hope to again :-)
Cheers
Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

I tried out the Badladz Beach Resort for my last few days in Puerto Galera. As far as service its obvious the management has gone to great lengths to carry on with the great friendly ambiance they have achieved with the smaller Badladz Dive resort. The rooms seem just slightly higher priced, but then you have a pool a front garden area and a beach here. Its great for families as there are activities for all ages and it keeps you out of seedier Sabang. Again as in Badladz Dive resort the only complaint is the lack of in room Wifi. For a hotel as large as this facility wide wifi should be available!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BADLADZresorts, Owner at Badladz Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Hello Mike
Yes wifi is an issue and if Smart or Globe or SOMEBODY could provide us with the appropriate bandwidth then we would happily provide it in the rooms.
The fact that we are on a secluded beach, removed from the "seedier Sabang", gives us the "great family ambience" but penalizes us with weak signal strength from the major Internet Providers.
We currently have 2 separate systems to supply Wifi in the common areas and are constantly searching for alternatives to upgrade our Internet because ....We live there too !
Thanks for your honest review :-)
Cheers
Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

My first stay at Badladz Beach Resort but definitely not my last. I stand at Badladz from the recommendation of a friend very nice simple place rooms are nice very clean and airconditioner works amazing.
The owner Sean is a great guy always a nice guy for conversation he has lived in Puerto Galera for I think 17 years so if you are interested in anything just ask him he is sure to help.

I treated myself to a weekend there away from Manila what a great trip and an amazing place to stay. I have told all my friends about it. If you are looking to get away I highly recommend staying at BADLADZ you will not regret it.

Great place great service beautiful views right on the ocean I even thought to myself I could retire here. Everyone has their favorite places they like to go to and this is mine can't say enough love love love this place.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BADLADZresorts, Owner at Badladz Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

WOW, Super Awesome review :-)
So very Happy that you loved our peaceful little Beach hideaway ! You are right, i've been here for over 18 years now and Puerto Galera is the reason.
The Philippines is a beautiful place and BADLADZ is one of the best locations.

We really hope that you can come back & visit us again
Cheers
Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

We emailed the manager beforehand and opted for the beach resort for some peace and quiet away from the crowds on the bigger beaches and port.

When we arrived, there was loud on-site construction work. We emailed the owner and manager about it. The owner, Sean, assured us that it was only for the afternoon and the manager apologised.

For the next two mornings it persisted. Getting woken up before 7am by hammering isn’t my idea of a good wake up call.

The manager apologised for not letting us know in advance and knocked a bit off the diving. A nice gesture.

We got a glimpse of peace and quiet the morning before we left. It was great but a little too late.

The staff were very friendly and mostly helpful. It was easy to get to and from town by tricycle. The food in the restaurant was average for the cash. The pool was nice - it’s worth noting that the dive school seems to use it for training too although not during our stay.

The room itself was decent enough. The downstairs standard rooms are a bit dark (no window) and smelt damp. Lighter ooms upstairs apparently weren’t available due to the building work. The WiFi was slow - apparently it used to be faster but the good router was taken for use in the office!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jpargeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BADLADZresorts, Owner at Badladz Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Yes,we are very sorry about the construction work when you arrived. We were just finishing up some renovations BUT i assure you there was NO HAMMERING before 7am EVER as our maintenance workers do not even start work till 9am. Might have been the fishermen on the ocean banging their oars on the sides of their boats to scare the fish into the nets. Sound really travels across the water.
The wifi was unavailable as SMART is upgrading the system to make it better and we all must suffer with this. We DID say you could use the Office Wifi which can be accessed in the bar.
Sorry that your overall stay was not pleasant BUT we did give you a DISCOUNT !
Somehow we thought this would compensate.
Thank You
Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews