We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
205
55
15
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
55
15
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dive resort verde island great diving rental gear marine life clams jon philippines boat safety padi skills beginners macro crew rescue boarding
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Stopped by to try the restaurant for a light dinner/snack. Ordered a lassi, but none to be found - a disappointment! Shakes are OK. Light vegetable soup was a little thin. The premises is looking a bit drab and in need of an upgrade.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

This was my second dive trip to Puerto Galera, and proved considerably better than my first. Blue Ribbon Divers run a good operation: professional, with a good service ethic. Moreover, since they were not busy, I had a divemaster guide almost to myself for much of the time. Even better, he was a specialist at finding excellent macro - the real strong point of Puerto Galera diving. I saw too many good things to list them all, but some highlights were: Flamboyant cuttlefish; Flying Gurnards and Sea Wasps; a wide range of beautiful nudibranchs and their bigger cousins, pleurobranchs; Scorpionfish and Stonefish; Moray eels of many types; and endless shrimps and crabs. Not to mention a very decent wreck, plus some enormous giant clams.

The accommodation at Blue Ribbon was very decent too: spacious and comfortable, with AC, for not that much money. All in all, highly recommended - close to being five stars.

Room Tip: Room vary in size (mine was enormous), so check them out personally and take your pick on the spot.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AzUtazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

My partner and I travelled to Puerta Galera to explore the island and experience first hand the diverse aquatic life nearby. We were greeted by a friendly and knowledgeable diving staff who took their time to explain the variety of dive sites within a ten minute boat ride. We came expecting to dive a few times on our vacation, but because of the incredible coral and beautiful fish we ended up diving five times (including a night dive). Jun and Ariel dove with us and exhibited patience as we are both still building our scuba diving skills. They shared with us their extensive knowledge above and below the water, showing us species only known to be found near this island.

We are also appreciative of Marcus a dive instructor who provided us with tricks of the trade and ideas of other diving opportunities around the Philippines.

Thank you Blue Ribbon for creating such an easy and truly breath taking experience for us!

Extra perk- the food is fantastic!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank svanade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Came here for diving and stayed at their accommodations.

The diving is good and the did my AOW here. My instructor Marcus Black is very good and I highly recommend him. Diving is a short boat ride from the resort so getting to the dive sites are super easy!

The rooms here are very basic. Water pressure is a bit weak but there is aircon.

The food at the resort is decent and we ate most of the meals here. On Fridays there is a live band and outdoor barbecue. Sit back have a beer and hear the waves crashing on the shore.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank DonnieT7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Rooms - don't expect much luxuries since you're not paying for a 5-star accommodation but they are decent; spacious and roomy but the AC's a bit weak, they do provide fans to help with the heat though. Provision for hot water was a blessing!

Resto - good reasonably priced food, our group was satisfied enough that we ate all our meals here

Staff - very friendly, always smiling and greets you hello all the time. Special kudos to the staff at the resto, quick on the service and attentive to our needs

Dive operations - professional and accommodating, 3 of us in our group of 6 wanted to dive with 100cf tanks instead of the usual 80cf and the folks at the shop made it possible for us (i think they even borrowed 1 or 2 tanks from the other resorts to make our wish come true). Shout out to our DM Maria and DM-in-training Jay who looked after us! Bit of a memorable time since we were in the water with them when the quakes happened! They were composed and made sure we finished the dive safely. Safety briefings and gear check were mandatory with them at each dive

Resort/dive facilities - this is where things don't look too bright. There was a good excuse for a pool which we didn't even try to use. The dive gear clean/rinse area was very cramped. We had to queue up to rinse our gears even if there were just 6 of us. We had to ask for our tanks to be switched more than a couple of times since not enough psi.

The real bummer was the fact that one in our group lost two items during our trip:
(aa) dive torch - which he left in one of the tables in the staging area before a dive, it was gone and cannot be found when we got back - apparently there is no cctv or if there was it wasn't working
(bb) neoprene vest - which he lost when his dive bag was forcibly opened (lock was broken) sometime between leaving the resort and the time he checked it in the boat

Still rating the resort as average despite the lost items considering these are outside of the resort's control, sure hope they have cctv next time though.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank hugopaguio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews