We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astounding food”
Review of Toko's Restaurant

Toko's Restaurant
Cuisines: International
Description: Toko’s represents the very best of resort cuisine in Puerto Galera and Dumaguete. Guests frequently refer to it as “the best food we have ever had on a dive vacation. Toko’s is quoted by the world renowned “Lonely Planet” travel guide book as “world class cuisine”. A full a la carte breakfast selection is available. Design your own breakfast with a choice of fresh eggs cooked to your liking, omelets or eggs benedict served with hot and/or cold meats and cheeses. Sweet choices include pancakes and waffles. Perhaps you prefer a breakfast sandwich, a healthy option such as stone cut oatmeal or a fresh fruit plate. All are complimented with fresh juices, Italian coffee and a tea selection. For lunch and dinner, our signature ever-changing “Blackboard Menus” feature soup, salad, a choice from four main courses, and dessert made from fresh seasonal produce and selections from international or local cuisine. Our fresh seafood dishes are always popular and there are vegetarian alternatives.
Restaurant details
Description: Toko’s represents the very best of resort cuisine in Puerto Galera and Dumaguete. Guests frequently refer to it as “the best food we have ever had on a dive vacation. Toko’s is quoted by the world renowned “Lonely Planet” travel guide book as “world class cuisine”. A full a la carte breakfast selection is available. Design your own breakfast with a choice of fresh eggs cooked to your liking, omelets or eggs benedict served with hot and/or cold meats and cheeses. Sweet choices include pancakes and waffles. Perhaps you prefer a breakfast sandwich, a healthy option such as stone cut oatmeal or a fresh fruit plate. All are complimented with fresh juices, Italian coffee and a tea selection. For lunch and dinner, our signature ever-changing “Blackboard Menus” feature soup, salad, a choice from four main courses, and dessert made from fresh seasonal produce and selections from international or local cuisine. Our fresh seafood dishes are always popular and there are vegetarian alternatives.
Reviewed 30 April 2018

One word - SPECTACULAR. The food is well presented, and diverse. We were always looking forward to the next meal. The staff took care of our every need and always with a smile. I would highly recommend eating here.

Thank Patrick v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlantisDiveResortPH, Public Relations Manager at Toko's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

We love your spectacular review Patrick! - and thanks for the high recommendation. ☺

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

Great food with happy servers. Several selection to choose from daily. Always served with a smile. Love this place!

Thank photoman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlantisDiveResortPH, Public Relations Manager at Toko's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thanks Photoman for your lovely review of Toko’s ☺ We greatly appreciate your patronage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

During my four-day visit, I ate here at least for three times. The food is good but to be honest I’m not so much a foodie, especially on a dive trip, I don’t care that much about food.

What keeps me coming back to Toko is the great service. There is a waitress whose name I forgot. She has the most pleasant big warm smile. Her presence makes my lunch/dinner much sweeter and warmer. And she is very observant as well. Whenever I need something, once I start looking around, she will appear and help. She is literally my reason for going back again and again. Excellent service!

Thank Lam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlantisDiveResortPH, Public Relations Manager at Toko's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thanks Lam for your excellent review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

They need a new chef...we were a party of 4 and no one was satisfied with the food. None of the waiters/waitresses bother to check with us if we needed anything or how was our meals. We had continuously call the waiter/waitress for items they forgot or things we needed. we had to get up from the table 2 times to get service or assistance (it was either that or yell loudly) as the staff seemed to keep their distance and only came close to our table if new customers came in to be seated. I had to ask 4 times to get ketchup. Make sure you check you tab carefully as the menu prices can be different than what their system prints out. They of course corrected the mistake but only because I pointed it out. They were much better several years ago....don't know what happened but they suck now.

Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlantisDiveResortPH, Public Relations Manager at Toko's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

We’re very sorry Mike about the rotten experience you had at our restaurant. We have met with our staff and our Toko’s team leader offers his personal apology for the mistakes in service. A new employee is unfortunately not living up to our high expectations and will not be continuing with us. We also discovered that an old menu file was the reason for the discrepancy in your charge and we have also corrected that. Please accept our sincere apologies and know that this will not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed the food and service at Toko's - so much so that we ate here 3 times during our 3-day stay in Puerto Galera. There are a wide-range of offerings on the menu, sure to satisfy every eater.

What stood out most, however, was the EXCELLENT, friendly service. We felt comfortable and at home here at Toko's. A big thank you to Vonna and the rest of the crew - we felt like "regulars" after our very first meal!

Give this place a try - you will be glad you did!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DesertDweller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlantisDiveResortPH, Public Relations Manager at Toko's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thanks DesertDweller for turning into repeat customers at our restaurant. We greatly appreciate your excellent review and for taking the time to thank our crew. ☺

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toko's Restaurant also viewed

Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro Province
Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro Province
 
Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro Province
Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro Province
 
Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro Province
Sabang, Puerto Galera
 

Been to Toko's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing