We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Odd but wonderful place in Sabang” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropicana Castle Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tropicana Castle Resort
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Odd but wonderful place in Sabang”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed here during Holy Week holidays for 2 nights on Apr. 5-7, 2012. Having stayed with some of the lower budget hotels in Sabang I was pleasantly surprised upon checking in. The receptionist was kind enough and even though we checked in around 10am, they immediately had a room for us (which was good after the chaos that is Holy Week travel). The room was big, with a big four poster, intricately carved king sized bed; very high ceiling with exposed wood beams; lots of wall sconces that made the room bright enough to read at night; and the bathroom was big as well. I didn't have a problem with the hot water, although be forewarned that for some reason rusty water comes out of the faucet at the beginning but clears up afterwards. Same with the toilet, rusty water comes out upon the first few flushes but gets clear again eventually. Not a big deal for me though.

The bed was a king size, with a very firm mattress but it wasn't uncomfortable to sleep on. The pillows were lacking, as there were only 2 normal pillows and 2 square throw pillows on the bed. The sheets and towels were always replaced. The aircon is located on the right side of the bed above the mirror however, no matter how you set the vent the air flow will always hit the bed so we ended up setting the temp pretty high. For guests from colder climates, this would be a great relief from the tropical heat though.

We stayed in room #32 on the third floor which opened out onto the mini garden with a small swing on the side. Very tranquil view and it's nice to step out in the morning and see a nice little garden instead of the usual concrete.

I didn't hear any of the music coming from the clubs down the street so that was good, and there's a great pizza place called Vesuvio that has exceptional pizza. It's actually homemade crust baked in a wood burning oven so it comes out not soggy despite the mound of toppings we had on the pie.

For the superstitious, the big mirror beside the bed didn't really bother me, but I'm mentioning it here anyway just in case someone with that particular concern wants the info.

The location is just up the main road from the pier where you get off the ferry from Batangas, you can't miss the big white castle :)

Room Tip: On the third floor, I noticed room #57 is right beside the elevator. This would be good for anyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeepSeaAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    23
    12
    2
    5
See reviews for
6
13
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Makati
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Stayed with my girlfriend on this resort and I might say it is quite romantic. The hotel literally looks like a castle. Very recommended for couples like us.

We only paid 1700 plus per night but the room is really spacious a family can even stay there and the hotel has a very nice swimming pool. Free wifi... they said wifi has poor signal but it's okey. Our room has an overlooking the bay view. If you'd like to hang-out at night there are a lot of bars just outside.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We had three nights in a nice room on the third floor with a small garden outside it. Nice and cool in the afternoon we didn't need the aircon. The room was reasonably well appointed with a mini bar and a cable internet connection as well as wifi, though no coffee making facilities. Internet was poor but this is common to the town with only a 1mb connection speed available. A bath is installed but can't be used due to water restrictions. The bed was a bit firm but this is common is Asia where people are smaller and lighter than the typical westerner, I seldom find a suitable bed for my 94kgs.

TV picture was poor, possible the cable run was too long in the building as other places we visited had good TV reception.

Breakfast in the next door restaurant was nice with a choice of several cooked western varieties and a cooked Philippino one. Try the Swiss (bircher museli and fruit) if you can't face a fry up. Unfortunately only one breakfast is included in the room rate.

I would stay here again if my prefered accommodation (dive resort on the beach) was not available.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brisman333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Well I stayed in Tropicana Castle fOr 6 weeks (with a 10 day break in BOracay) and I can certainly say it is good value even in high season if you chat to the main security guard who is the husband of the owner's wife's sister. He gave me a family room for 2000P dOwn from 4300. Didn't use one Of the 3 beds! Then when I returned after boracay gave me a room for a thousand about £15. It's deceptively large and worth exploring all the way to the turret tops.

Pool is deepest I saw in sabang, underwater lights and although it says don't swim after 10, I had many late night swims and they didn't mind at all.

Looking to dive? Paid 14500P for my Padi open water course, you will want a deep pool when you are practising. The instructor, Edgar, is a bit of a lord.

If you are that way inclined, you can bring as many guests into the hotel as you want, no questions asked.

Hire a bike right outside the hotel for 400P fOr a full day.

Fun bar called the outsider where a few expat characters hang out is also right opposite.

Don't go to the restaurant and ask for a room without breakfast to bring down the price. Longer you stay, the better the deal.

Superstitious? There's a well known ghOst story about the castle based on a true event about 5 years ago. Not a nice story. Ask locals about it if you want to know more.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bagheera12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabang, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

My girlfriend and I went to the Tropicana restaurant for their much-advertised "Special Christmas Dinner.". I don't like beef, so I ordered something else, but they ended up trying to charge us 800php for that Christmas dinner, which consisted of 1 small salad, 1 piece of cake, 1 glass of wine, and 1 beef medallion entree with mashed potatoes. The entree came out too salty to eat, and this after a 45 minute wait. We sent it back, and after another half hour all we got was the cake. When we asked for the bill to leave, they tried to charge us the full 800php for an inedible meal. Worse still, my girlfriend doesnt like salad and had given it to me, and shared the piece of cake with me too! So all told, 800php and all she got was half a piece of cake...and to cap it off, after arguing about this for more than half an hour, they offered to reduce it...by 250php. An additional 15 min had us reduced 150php more to where we were paying *only* 400 php for that half piece of cake (and the delightful experience). Paid it and left forever, and went to go get nachos at Big Apple, lesson learned.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Galera hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.0 km away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#23 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.0 km away
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
#7 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.0 km away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#12 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#3 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.0 km away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#10 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.0 km away
Scandi Divers
Scandi Divers
#1 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Castle Resort

Property: Tropicana Castle Resort
Address: Sabang Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,519 - ₹ 4,834
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropicana Castle Dive Resort in Sabang, Puerto Galera. It is a romantic castle resort in tropical surroundings of Sabang Beach. The hotel offers spacious well-furnished rooms, scuba diving activities and its roof-garden restaurant with a great variety of local and international dishes on the menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Tropicana Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Castle Hotel Puerto Galera
Tropicana Castle Resort Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing