We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
0
6
4
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
6
4
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

Family-run resort with Dennis the manager ensuring everything runs smoothly. Breakfast included in the price and the omelettes are tasty and filling. Ask for fresh milk for tea and it will be supplied. Rooms at the back are bigger but you get some kitchen noise which you get used to. A great budget choice compared with rival places.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
Thank gillespiefrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2015

It was easy check in/out. Staff was nice. Food was adequate. Room was small with no wifi even though the ad said there was wifi in rooms. Had to go to main restaurant for the wifi. There was no bar even though the ad said there was. There was construction work going on from 8 am until 11 pm. White beach is walking distance by road. Approximately 30 min walk but there are a lot of stray dogs on the road. The place was very quiet other than the construction work. Beach was nice but you will need water shoes as it is a bit rocky. I just felt it was overpriced for what you get. There is really nothing to do there but relax. There is no night life at all. You have to go to White Beach for that.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank cardkleener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

For those looking for a quiet place to stay in Puerto Galera, Bamboo Beach Resort might just be the perfect fit for you - away from the noise of other usually-crowded places like White Beach. You get a great view of the sea while having your meal at a nipa hut in the garden. The caretaker can cook the food for you during your stay at an affordable amount (we like her cooking!), or you can do it yourselves if you want to. She's also very accommodating during our stay; we can ask her anything we need and she'd gladly assist us.

I really had a good sleep in this place, too, since it's very quiet and not too hot or cold. The morning view is so refreshing. Complimentary breakfast is just okay.

Perhaps the only problems we encountered were no electricity for several hours (no generator) on our 2nd and 3rd day. It's a con for you if you're into partying in White Beach or exploring other places during your whole stay in Puerto Galera since it would require a banca trip which would cost 250 for one way, and doubles to 500 for night trip. That's only to and from Muelle port, you'd still have to go take a tricycle to White Beach. If you're a group of 4-6 and your budget permits, that wouldn't be a big deal anyway like in our case. Also, I think their price list for water activities and island hopping are a bit high (P1800 for 2 persons, for all activities like snorkelling, underwater cave, giant clam, etc. plus around P800 per beach like Long Beach for island hopping). But anyway, the service was okay and we enjoyed the activities so I guess that's good value for money.

Overall, I'd recommend this place to those looking for a place to stay when going to Puerto Galera.

Room Tip: The family suite (good for 5 persons) is a nice room to get. It has a veranda, a hammock, round table, TV, and nice view of the sea. The seaview cottage is placed on the higher ground, and it's too tiring to go up and down from there compared to the family cottage.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathleen Mae C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

If you need a relatively low-key, secluded location for a weekend get-away, Bamboo Beach is a great option. The resort is nestled in the hillside at Daluruan, across the bay from Muelle, with some excellent views of the water.

The Couples room we stayed in was comfortable, breezy, and well-maintained. In the morning, it felt sufficiently balmy, even with just an ordinary electric fan to cool us. The kulambo (mosquito net) kept the bugs away.

The service wasn't always perfect (for example, upon arriving in Puerto Galera, we couldn't get in touch with the staff, to arrange a boat transfer from Muelle). However, the staff were generally willing to make up for any glitches we experience; overall, they were friendly and accommodating.

There were some minor cleanliness issues with the bathroom: dirt in the sink, used soap left over from the previous guests.

The complementary breakfast was filling, if a bit unremarkable.

But really, these are just petty quibbles. The relaxed vibe and glorious bay views make up for it.

Just one word of caution: it takes several (costly) trips to get from here to White Beach, and back. If you're after some heavy-duty partying in that area, especially late at night, you might be better off staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: 3A (Couples Room) is spacious and breezy. Very chill atmosphere.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paolojcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Pros:The resort is comparatively cheap, the staff are friendly, it's a secluded place which is really great if you want to relax
Cons: Rooms aren't very clean, no restaurant and you will have to buy food (you can cook the food, or have the staff cook them for you).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gemmagnaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews