We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Suite but horrible Standard Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 193 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing Suite but horrible Standard Room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed 2 times. The first time, we were in the Suite on the third floor with a swimming pool view. It was wonderful (clean, nicely decorated, spacious and quiet). The second time, we stayed in a Standard Room on the second floor (in the old wing) and it was really disappointing: the furniture was old, the room dark and small, not so clean. We stayed in other M Gallery hotels before and this was far from the standard.... How can the Standard Room be so different from the Suite and the rest of the hotel?

Plus, if you have the Accor card, make sure they took it into account. We gave ours but it wasn't taken into account and we lost all our points.

Room Tip: Ask for the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MayaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta.
I am sorry that your experience with our standard room did not meet your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At M Gallery, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,934
    977
    212
    39
    23
See reviews for
671
1,331
278
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Antarctica
Level Contributor
224 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed for three nights at this hotel and really don't have any compaints. We had a pool facing room which was comfortable and spacious. The breakfast was a highlight in that it had everything you could want to choose from. The staff was courteous and friendly. The location of the hotel is good in that it is relatively close to all major attractions. If you don't want to walk, there's an army of becaks waiting outside the hotel. The guests are international and staff speak English. The hotel almost felt like a mini resort in a way. The hotel is tastefully decorated and immaculately clean. I'd say this hotel represents good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for posting your comments related with your stay with us. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

This historic hotel on the fringes of Jl. Malioboro is comfort on stilts, efficiency writ large and extraordinarily hospitable. I stayed there last month (June) and had the most relaxing, enjoyable time. After the tiring heat of the day and the bustling crowds on Jl. Malioboro, the main tourist area of Jogjakarta, it is a real pleasure to return to the hotel and relax in the cool arcade surrounding the swimming pool or go to the bedroom and have a drink.
The room I stayed in was on the second floor and had a balcony overlooking the swimming pool. In the evening it was a pleasure to open the floor-length windows and sit out on the balcony.
The pool is open from 7am to 7pm and is overlooked by hotel staff so even children may safely play in the small pool.
The staff are friendly and helpful without being intrusive. I found this to be the most pleasant and convenient hotel in Jogjakarta.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool. Some other rooms are smaller and have balconies but they are ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruairi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
We would like to thank you for your comments related your stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. We were glad to read about your positive feedback. Looking forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

A beautiful property occupying what is described as ".. this prestigious hotel built in 1918, commissioned by a rich Chinese merchant, Kwik Djoen Eng, for his private residence." There are many open air courtyards with pools and fountains. Breakfasts are served outdoors or indoors to the accompaniment of gamelan musicians. The food is superb and reasonable. We stayed there as a way of visiting nearby Borobudur. They easily arranged a car to take us there for the day. To be honest the hotel was the highlight of the trip, outshining Borobudur itself.

Room Tip: Choose rooms that face the inner courtyard. The outer rooms are not completely soundproofed from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuriaGolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you for staying with The Phoenix Hotel during your visit to Yogyakarta. We were glad to read about your enjoyable stay. Looking forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

I was initially trying to book All Seasons Hotel when Accor Group gave a 40% discount to all hotels in Jogja, and The Phoenix was the only available option. I was very happy that fate took over!

Upon arrival in hotel, we were served tea and cold towels -- very refreshing. Checking in was easy, since everything was paid for in advance. They allowed us early check-in, which was generous of them.

The hotel is comprised of colonial style buildings -- historical but not eerie. In fact, it had a very warm feel to it. This hotel had its own persona, and I loved it!

The rooms were impeccable and the service was superb. I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
4.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
0.9 km away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
3.8 km away
Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
1.5 km away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#7 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
4.4 km away
Eastparc Hotel
Eastparc Hotel
#1 of 20 in Depok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Property: The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Address: Jln. Jenderal Sudirman no. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,343 - ₹ 8,233
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda, ACCOR and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing