We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel 1001 Malam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 1001 Malam
Ranked #29 of 193 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

I have a little afraid to choose this hotel but it was very good. I was there in March 2012. We were 15 of us. The rooms were nice designed and clean. None of out rooms were any insect. There were hot water and every day clean towels. The garden was beautiful but small. The breakfast was also good. The staff were nice and helpful. Only think that the hotel is not on the mean road. You cannot park in font of the hotel you have to use a small walking street. It is not dangerous. It takes 2 mins to get the hotel

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manyuska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    240
    69
    18
    3
See reviews for
63
216
101
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Peaceful location, nice staff and opposite a couple of nice restaurants, but then, several other places had a similar location too . Rooms were dark, grotty, cramped and stank (of what I think was pesticide). The smell permeated my suitcase and contents. I got lots of bed bug bites during my stay, which still itch 2 weeks later. We stayed here for two nights, having pre-booked, but found much nicer hotels, with larger, airier rooms and a pool, for the same price e.g marlioboro hotel. Hostels, which had similar facilities, were charging 120 - 150 000 per room, instead of 350 000 that malam were asking. You'd be better off arriving and finding somewhere on the day than stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank planetwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We had a really pleasant stay here with a double room on the first floor facing their small courtyard garden. Each room has it's own private seating area on the terrace and we looked out onto the lush planting in the garden and could sit listening to the trickle of water from their small pond with the buzz of the city in the background. The breakfast is basic but really delicious and is taken on their first floor terrace which looks out onto rooftops and the warren of surrounding alleyways. There is always hot water, tea and coffee on the terrace for guests. Our room was clean and comfortable, with AC and modern ensuite. Staff are really friendly and all smiles, walking us to the main road to help us get a becak on one of our days out. This is a great hotel for travellers, but if you want a resort style hotel with TVs, pool, posh linen and other luxuries then not the one for you. We loved it and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atsixesandsevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Hotel here offers tours around the city for quite reasonable rates. They can arrange for you tours to Prambanan or Borobudur. Hotel is clean and very worth for the money you pay. Offers daily breakfast and cleaning services. Free Coffee & Tea all day long!

Room Tip: Take the ground level rooms if you are lazy to climb up to the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Very good location and friendly staff. We booked 2 connected room and the check-in process is very quick and without any hassle. Their also offer very cheap laundry services.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlesling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
3.3 km away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#54 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Neo Malioboro
Hotel Neo Malioboro
#18 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
3.4 km away
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
#37 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
POP! Hotel Malioboro
POP! Hotel Malioboro
#30 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.5 km away
Ibis Styles Yogyakarta
Ibis Styles Yogyakarta
#21 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
3.8 km away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1001 Malam? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1001 Malam

Property: Hotel 1001 Malam
Address: Gt I/ 57 Jln. Sosrowijayan, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 193 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,745 - ₹ 2,909
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 1001 Malam 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
artistic, new, ethnic, elegant, traditional hotel in the heart of malioboro area... each of our 16 rooms comes in a different painting that will take ur breath away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel 1001 Malam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing