We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hotel with traditional Jawa culture” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puri Artha Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Puri Artha Hotel
Ranked #35 of 186 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Hotel with traditional Jawa culture”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

For those travellers who would like to experience traditional Jawa culture instead of modern hotel, i think this is quite an interesting place to stay. There was traditional entertainment served during breakfast and night time. Something worth to mention is the special traditional drinks that they served during breakfast buffer. There was a special corner with a few type of traditional drinks offered to guest, somethings like our cocktail drink but with healing effect. I was told there was one type which was good for cold & flu, one was good for female complexion etc. Well, the taste?! definitely not 'my cup of coffee' but quite fun to have a good try..

My hotel massage was a bit disappointing. The room facility was a bit old but the service staff was very good.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FairyMantra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    100
    38
    6
    2
See reviews for
36
78
17
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vatican City, Italy
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Well, I did not like it – first of all I didn’t have window, so my room was very much on the “yin” side taoisticly speaking – wet and dark,, I also did not like the food. Otherwise the lobby with all those wooden elements was nice, the part on the other side of the road where breakfast were served – less so. Nothing really to recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fobski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

I was in Puri Artha in October 2011. I found the accommodations lack luster. The choices were very limited, the breakfast spread was so limited and not continental. There was bread, jam and eggs had to be requested. Local cuisine was plentiful, almost no choices for vegetarians and vegans. The bathroom was clean but hot water for baths have to be requested after 10 pm. It takes a long time for the water to heat up. The service was mediocre and the front desk staff were reluctant to exchange USD of lower value, i.e less than USD 50. The exchange rate at the hotel was misrable, better rates in nearby areas. They were also a little discourteous when inquiring about nearby eateries.

The location is good because it is easy to get to the main shopping areas. Mirota is a must with plenty of souvenir items available at reasonable prices. The taxi use meters and they are plentiful. Hotel staff can flag down taxis and there are many there. There are many choices for food outside the hotel. Along the main road from roadside hawkers to cosy cafes with reasonably priced coffee. There is a laundry near the hotel which is much cheaper than the internal service.

Overall my main complaints are about the food and hotel staff service.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janarthani A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a couple of weeks whilst undertaking language studies at a nearby school. Staff were invariably very friendly and efficient. Andi the Manager was a stand out and particularly helpful. The rooms are clean and the hotel's surroundings are very pleasant. I strongly recommend this hotel. It is not located in the centre of Jogja but they have a good (free) shuttle service.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David255057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Upon arrival at Yogyakarta, I was greeted by the hotel staff at the airport (hotel offers shuttle service). Mr Kundasar (hope I got his name correct) is really friendly and nice, even helped me with my multiple luggage. The hotel is located relatively close to the airport, around 15 minutes drive.

Lovely interior, very Balinese feel around the hotel, wonderful garden/yard, nice swimming pool, and rooms have a Javanese feel to it. Staff cleaned my room daily and helped arranged my (not much of a) mess too. During my first week, the toilet's flush keep breaking down. I had to call the Front Desk at least twice/thrice a day. It was quite a hassle and I was given the suggestion to switch rooms, yet I stayed in the same room until the very last day because the staff are really attentive. Eventually they changed the rubber thing inside the flush and it was fine.

One thing I don't fancy about the room is the lack of power sockets. I only found one next to my bed and another at the pantry. I needed to work on the table, but could not find any near it except for the one connected to the television set.

The hotel is split into two sides, both across each other, with a traffic attendant assisting you at crossing the road (needed during the day). Hotel is not located on the main road so the street is really quiet at night - safe nevertheless.

My organisation was occupying their Lintang Room (conference room) above the restaurant. The electricity tripped several times a few days. Besides that glitch, everything was fine.

Food wise, the breakfast spread was so-so. But the lunch and tea breaks we had the hotel prepare for us were scrumptiously good and have a wider choice of food.

Staff, as mentioned, are super helpful. Even in wee hours in the morning, with me walking in and out the lobby, there will be someone greeting/smiling you.

Strategic location. Close to airport and Prambanan (the Hindu temple), next to a launderette (1kg for 3,500IDR - that's less than USD1), 10 minutes walk from fruit stalls (yum!), several convenience stores on the same street, a number of eatery outlets around the area - you can find almost everything within walking distance!

Malioboro is a 21,000IDR cab ride away. But, you know what, I've gone to and fro Malioboro from the hotel a handful of times, they NEVER used the same route. Was telling my friend that I would have seen the whole of Yogyakarta city if they keep giving detours. Bah! *sorry went of tangent a bit* The hotel provides shuttle service to Malioboro too, if you are in a big group.

If you are a fan of Yoga, there is a yoga studio behind the hotel (the one opposite the reception). You can get the daily yoga schedule at the reception area (black and white printed/folded paper)

Overall, I had a fantastic stay during those 2 weeks. Definitely miss everyone at the hotel, and I will stay at Puri Artha again when I head back to Yogyakarta!

Room Tip: I love the room on the other side of the hotel (not the one with the reception), where the swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank royaltylites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
4.3 km away
Tjokro Style Yogyakarta
Tjokro Style Yogyakarta
#17 of 186 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.7 km away
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
#36 of 186 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
3.2 km away
Hotel 1001 Malam
Hotel 1001 Malam
#24 of 186 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Duta Garden Hotel
Duta Garden Hotel
#31 of 186 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
5.6 km away
LYNN Hotel By Horison
LYNN Hotel By Horison
#42 of 186 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
2.2 km away
Student Park Hotel Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Artha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Artha Hotel

Property: Puri Artha Hotel
Address: Jln. Cendrawasih 36, Yogyakarta 55281, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 186 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,714 - ₹ 3,770
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Puri Artha Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Puri Artha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing