We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above adequate in a quiet part of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Somerset Berlian Jakarta
Ranked #91 of 462 Hotels in Jakarta
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Above adequate in a quiet part of town”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Being a Serviced Apartment, there were not many hotel amenities such as Concierge facilities etc. etc.

However, having said that, Somerset Berlian is very nice. We stayed in a 3-bedroom suite which was very nice for the price that we got. (slightly cheaper than one room in Mulia nearby). There were 2 double beds, one single bed and 2 showers (1 en suite). There is also a maid's room in the back.

Location was in a quiet part of town close to Senayan. However, taxis were readily-available and it was nearby to two large shopping centers which were walking-distance away.

Staff, on the whole were friendly. However, being a serviced apartment, there were not that many of them around. There was a slight problem with our rates as what was quoted on our internet booking was not the same as what we eventually paid. however, this was minimal so we did not make too much of a fuss.

On the whole, a nice place to stay in Jakarta.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jambu583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    64
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
75
6
Solo
0
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Great staff, great room, great service and great facilities

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zmsani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
143 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Because this was our last night in 9 months of travelling, we decided to book something fancy after all the backpackers hostels and guesthouses. We used all our Agoda-points and got this piece of heaven... PURE BLISS!

When we checked in we were greeted by a stunning lobby, friendly staff and we immediately received an upgrade. That means: 2 bathrooms, 3 bedrooms, living room with DVD-set and sitting area, dining table, fully equiped kitchen, laundry room, internet included and (expensive) room service. Being with 2 people only we didn't know what was happening to us and ran through this luxurious appartment screaming with joy. Everything was perfect, we can only hope to find something like this when we return from our travels ;-)

Breakfast was delicious, with something available for all cultures. The swimming pool was huge and clean. There's also a gym and some sport classes, but we didn't have to chance to attend. They advertise with an "airport transfer", which was very important to us, BUT that was not free... it's actually more expensive than just taking a cab. So we did the last thing, taxi's are dirt cheap anyway.

We had a late flight, and they told us we could check out at 2 pm (2 hrs later) so that was nice. The hotel is pretty far out of the centre!! So keep that in mind when you're making a booking... also more than 1 hour away from the airport.

I would recommend this hotel, 5 stars!! But make sure you have enough budget, because it isn't cheap at all.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutch_delight013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Got very good rate through their website, stay 3 nights for the price of 2. This apartment is the best I've ever stay. Breakfast is excellent, service is prompt, and I especially enjoy to have washing machine inside our room. The washing machine have the feature of sun-drying. Really convenient. Location a bit off from the city, but since I rented a car with the driver, this was not an issue for me. The apartment have all the amenities that you need as a family, full equipped kitchen, dvd player, ironing board, and the interior is very modern. Even with regular price, this is still a good value hotel. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We spent for almost a week at this apt. Quite pricey for such low poor service we got. Here are the details:
- The reception gave us the wrong floor number cards along with wrong Internet password for our apt. So we stood like an idiot infront of an apt on the 17th Floor but cant get in with our cards which was given from the reception, so we had to went down back to reception to get the right card access and back to 23rd Floor, and of course this man never admit this was his fault.

-The men at reception were unfriendly & very unhelpful as he didn't make a phone call for our departure to Europe as we ordered him to, especially with Jakarta worst traffic jams after office hours, so we waited an hour for our taxi coz their mistakes, stucked in the middle of traffic jam & almost missed our plane coz of them. I wonder if we miss our flight, will they refund our tickets back to Europe for their mistakes? so they'll learn their mistake.

-Torn old towels at the apt, which was very big dissapointment. Such a big brand "Somerset" cant afford to buy new towels?? how ridiculous is that..??

-Staines black mirrows, which come from dropping air condition water.

-Fungi at our shower.

-Bad bfast, bad foods selections, they even served Spaghetti for bfast :p

-Unqualified waiters at the bfast area, who are more "joking & chatting" more like having fun along with their collegues instead doing their job properly. Every morning we saw maids are even able to have bfast there too and even bring their empty lunch boxes to be filled in by the waiter! I never see that in my whole life in any hotels/in any countries I've been before :p

- Bad location, this apt is difficult to find for taxi driver, coz it's "hidden" so it's difficult for taxi driver to find.

-Bad mobile phones signal

-The swimming pool is VERY SHALLOW for adult, I think, it's like 1,50-1,60 M. For kids is 0.9 M. Actually a nice swimming pool, you can have bfast infront of the swimming pool too, it just too bad too shallow for adult.

The good ones:
We stayed in 2 different apts, with different lay out & different cut from the apt, some kitchen is bigger, some is longer, but the design are the same in each apt. They provided limited kitchen equipment, the bed was comfortable, they clean our apt each day, have a small gym. But for SOMERSET standard, this apt certainly didn't meet our expectation. I wont recommended to stay there. Better spend the money else where.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank funny2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
The Bellezza Suites
#237 of 462 in Jakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Aston at Kuningan Suites
#58 of 462 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Somerset Grand Citra
#304 of 462 in Jakarta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century Park Hotel
#45 of 462 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Menteng
Fraser Residence Menteng Jakarta
Kebayoran Baru
Veranda Hotel at Pakubuwono
Veranda Hotel at Pakubuwono
#146 of 462 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Berlian Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Berlian Jakarta

Property: Somerset Berlian Jakarta
Address: Permata Hijau Jln. Permata Berlian | Permata Hijau, Jakarta 12210, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,848 - ₹ 8,209
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Somerset Berlian Jakarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset Berlian Jakarta is nestled within the exclusive Permata Hijau residential district, surrounded by lush greenery and landscaped gardens, it offers a private and stylish retreat from the city bustle while being only a 15 minute drive from the prime financial hub of Jakarta. The spacious residences offer comfort and security while the convenience of location makes it an ideal accommodation choice for international executives and families where a wide variety of shopping venues, entertainment and restaurants are a few minutes away. Live in the dynamic city of Jakarta and enjoy all the comforts and security of home with Somerset Berlian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Somerset Berlian Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Berlian, Jakarta Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing