We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive stylish hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
Ranked #29 of 471 Hotels in Jakarta
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Kempinski Jakarta is a fantastic hotel in the heart of Jakarta with direct access to the biggest shopping mall of the city : Grand Indonesia. No need for taxis and perfect to avoid the crazy traffic of the city as you have everything within reach.

The staff are fantastic and very accommodating. Only point for improvement is that check in procedure must be more professional as it took more than half hour to check us in. We had booked 3 rooms and before we got our 3 keys it took more than 30 minutes and there were no other guest to be dealt with.

Facilities like the spa, gym, pool, sauna, steam bath etc are top of the line and made my stay in Jakarta very enjoyable.

The rooms are very big. Even I only had standard room it was a suite with superb bathroom. The bathtub was enormous and the funky new high tech heated toilet is a real experience :-)

I initially only booked 2 nights and extended my stay or another 3 nights as I was extremely satisfied.

Top hotel. I will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

828 - 832 of 1,153 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stayed there over New Years Eve for 4 nights while in Jakarta seeing one of my gf's. LOVE the decor and the history of the Hotel. Staff super friendly and attentive. Don't know if this was because I am white American or the fact that I was palming 50,000 IDR blue notes to any staff that came within reach..maybe both. Check in was flawless and fast and as soon as I noticed my room was on the 7th floor facing the mall, the reception staff woman that walked me to the room noticed I was less than thrilled (without me saying a word) and IMMIDEATLY called the front desk and I was whisked to a new room the 15th floor with a great view of the fountain ! Fantasic view of the mob around the fountian on New Years eve,,.much more fun than the lame Pirate party the hotel put on. My gf liked the place and felt comfrotable enough to wear her Abercrombie and Fitch mini shorts down to breakfast each morning. Loved the picture of JFK and Soekaro on the wall too ! Other guests seemed hip,,not too many hajibs or full burkas creeping around. The hotel had a good karma,,and if those walls could talk ! Great location, I recommend Hotel Indonesia,,a cool and hip alternative to the mainstream 5 stars.

Room Tip: Tell them you want a Hotel Silverbird to pick you up at the airport if you dont have your own car an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JetTraveler036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Stayed at this property for 3 nights this week on a business trip. Two minds about whether to call it 3 or 4 out of 5 - decided to err on the conservative side.

Pros:
- Hotel has an interesting history- apparently it started life as Hotel Indonesia and has had quite a illustrious history (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hotel_Indonesia). So for those tradition buffs - plus point
- Good location - attached to Grand Indonesia Mall and opposite Plaza Indonesia. Fronts the Hotel Indonesia Roundabout
- Rooms were nice - good size (probably about 60-70 sqm), big spa bath that took forever to fill (not the hotel's fault!) generous seating

Cons
- Service was slow and whilst not unfriendly, rather lukewarm. Check-in took twice as long as one would expect of a 5-star establishment (admittedly, we're talking about maybe 6-8 minutes to get it done, but it WAS later at night and I was tired)
- Pool is small and unremarkable, as is the gym- latter did not have a large choice of machines and had a tired feel
- The power in the room tripped several times during my stay- as happened to a couple other of my colleagues as well. Wasn't a big deal- usually came on within a few minutes, but it isn't really very pleasant sitting in the dark wondering what's going on when the phone doesn't answer (front desk presumably overwhelmed with similar queries)

All-in-All, a very average stay (I'm assuming the power problem is a one-off). Great for romantics who are looking for a slice of refurbished history and a central location - if at a good price.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces the Hotel Indonesia Roundabout. I think some of the others face the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dell73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the executive grand deluxe room for two nights.
Arrived in the afternoon and have warm welcome from the staff.
The room is superb with the designer chairs, high quality carpet and for sure impressive bathroom.
Have the cocktail hour from 18.00 - 20.00 at 7th floor and we tried the wine etc, this floor is really cozy and have great view to Bunderan HI.
We tried the spa which is better than other hotels that we ever stayed in Jakarta.
The choices breakfast are awesome.
This is the best luxury hotel in Jakarta from our opinion with reasonable price.
Location ? For sure its the best for us due its only a few steps away to Grand Indonesia & Plaza Indonesia.

Tips : Need quality time with your spouse ? your in good place.
Kids ? sorry boys and girls your parents need some relaxing time hehe..

Room Tip: NO kids please : )
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalimartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I stayed there for one night just last week. We had a meeting in the same hotel. The room was perfect - great bathtub, nice shower (rainforest shower), super bed, funny electrified toilet with 1 million functions (such as the ones I know from South Korea), great attentive personnel, lovely furniture, fast internet - all you can wish for. And the best for me was the great breakfast. Would come back anytime.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlleG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Grand Hyatt Jakarta
Grand Hyatt Jakarta
#31 of 471 in Jakarta
1,150 reviews
Menteng
Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
#16 of 471 in Jakarta
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indonesia Kempinski? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indonesia Kempinski

Address: Jln. M.H. Thamrin No. 1, Jakarta 10110, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 471 Hotels in Jakarta
Price Range: ₹ 11,311 - ₹ 16,645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Indonesia Kempinski 5*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski Jakarta represents both a celebration of the glorious past and the bright future. Adjacent to Grand Indonesia Shopping Town - one of Asia's largest shopping mall, the hotel is definitely the ideal address for business, convention, wedding and extravagant shopping. Located at the strategic Bundaran HI (Hotel Indonesia Roundabout), the hotel boasts 289 spacious luxury rooms and suites including the lavish 412 sqm Presidential Suite with its private spa. Hotel Indonesia Kempinski facilities include 6 meeting rooms, a SPA & fitness center as well as an outdoor swimming pool. The hotel comprises a lounge bar, a rooftop cafe along with a chocolate confectionary and a delicatessen shop. Hotel Indonesia Kempinski Jakarta also offers 3 restaurants from international buffet and traditional German food to Japanese premium restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Indonesia Kempinski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing