We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 am - 6:00 am
Save
  
Ways to Experience Mount Agung
from $62.83
More Info
from $55.15
More Info
from $35.83
More Info
from $50.82
More Info
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveller rating
311
104
23
4
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
311
104
23
4
13
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 455 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I had 7 customers from Singapore did Agung Trekking Tour on April 11. The trekking started from Pasar Agung temple at 01.30 which takes about 3,5 to 4 hours in normal condition. This customer had different goal that is " reaching the Summit " and they arrived on the summit at 08.00 and 2 of them reached back to Pasar Agung Temple ( finish point ) at 14.30 and the other 5 people were slower reaching back at 17.30. They were first timer doing trekking but they had got their Goal and satisfaction.
Mount Agung has such great track and experience a very nice challenging of trekking.

Date of experience: April 2013
1  Thank Bali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 February 2013

The hike, begins at 2am (you may need to get picked up earlier from your hotel, my pickup was 12.30 from Candidasa), and there's no guarantee that you'll be able to make it to the top, depending on weather and fitness. When you get back to the bottom will depend on your fitness levels. There are no real set paths, the route follows a rain gully, a solidified lava flow, and then a bunch of grafitti up a huge lava field. The last part is the most dangerous to the inexperienced, as cloud cover can limit visibility and make it difficult to find the route to the top...

I went in the wet season, and its possible to get hit with thunderstorms during the hike, in which case its probably wise to abort for safety. Its not a great place to be caught without shelter...We spent some time about 3/4 of the way up deciding whether we should continue or not, as we got hit by a series of small squalls. In the end we did proceed and were rewarded as the clouds on the peak cleared away, and we got beautiful views of lower cloud formations rolling along the South Bali coast.

On the way down we met a procession from the temple, they were quite a humbling group, headed to the top to pray. Adults, children, grannies, all dressed in the ceremonial finery, wearing flip flops, and some with huge baskets perched atop their heads. Made what seemed like an epic journey feel quite a small feat.

All in all a great day, some drama, tension, physical exertion, and all capped off with being reminded that no matter how proud you feel, there are others that can do it better... Next time I'd like to do it in the dry season... With some friends :)

Be VERY wary of inexperienced guides, it is very possible to get lost and people have died on the volcano.

Date of experience: January 2013
8  Thank Hsuan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 February 2013

It is a very steep to climb but you need to be very fit. You can leave from two places, one from Besakih temple and it takes 6 hours roughly, or from A place called Pasir i think and here it takes roughly 3 hours and you reach the bottom part of the volcanic rim.

4  Thank Garnet9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 January 2013

It is a must for anyone seeking, adventure and depending on the weather not only adventure will be found but also fear and adrenaline.
If possible dont climb it during the rainy season it is very dangerouse and rather daunghting when hi winds are blowing you around a very wet and steep incline of rocks littered with moss, mud and only your faith in your guid and head lantern to keep you going up.
Don't even consider climbing without a guide on our way down from the peak we encountered a number of small groups of people whom all tried to climb up with out a guide and none of them made it to the top. The thing is some of the more logical paths lead to "dead ends" which the guids are aware of. Wayan was a great guid with allot of experience and good english +6285237250607.

Date of experience: January 2013
5  Thank Mario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Don't go if not sure, choose the easier route (4 hrs up) from Sebudi.
It was far more harder then expected, but the views and experience worths every your step. We had taken a local guide for 600K, Wayan - although he was great I can't understand why it's not possible to go alone.

Date of experience: January 2013
5  Thank 4y4i
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews