We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good location for a base in Lhasa” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian)

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lhasa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian)
Ranked #7 of 338 Hotels in Lhasa
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good location for a base in Lhasa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

From other experiences on this journey this hotel was a pleasant surprise. Rooms great ..plenty of room, whole establishment clean & tidy. Breakfast very good, good WiFi. Easy walk to most of what one would want to see in Lhasa (Potala Palace, Jokhange etc) . Staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try for a room on upper floor at rear ..quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    79
    24
    13
    7
See reviews for
20
58
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed here for about a week in June 2011. The location is not far from the Barkhor and Potala and the hotel is clean, with friendly staff.
The food is excellent, although with tour groups a constant every day service can get a little slow when they are stretched.
There is a courtyard garden where you can sit and have a coffee or meal or write some journal notes.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: My room was on a higher floor and overlooked the courtyard so it was quiet all the time. I cannot c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barriejb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed for three nights in this hotel.
Very good, clean and close to central Lhasa - about 10 minutes walk to Jokhang temple and Barkhor Square, about 20 minutes to Potala Palace.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Florin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whidbey Island, Washington
Level Contributor
108 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

I don't travel to places like Tibet & then stay in Hyatts ... so if you're expecting "excellent" by US standards, stay home. I say this b/c this hotel was really quite wonderful, but I had the misfortune of running into a very Ugly American woman in the restaurant. She was loudly, rudely, obnoxiously complaining that the lights were too dim at breakfast. That was the start of her rant, which thankfully ended when another woman nearby asked, "Are you traveling First Class?"

The staff were gracious & helpful, the restaurant quite good & with a nice atmosphere, the rooms very large & quite comfortable, the beds typically hard, a good shower w/ plenty of hot water, and the hotel has a very relaxing & quite beautiful garden. This was probably the nicest hotel we stayed in during our month long travels through Tibet and Nepal. The location is un-beatable. Walkable to the Potala Palace, Bharktor Square, and many good restaurants. Be sure to walk to Bharktor Square early in the morning and join the pilgrims in their circuit around the Jhokang ... an amazing experience. I would stay here again & heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We were originally booked at another hotel. Our guide had changed us to the Kyichu without our knowledge. At first I was upset, but I quickly found myself happy with the switch. The hotel is in a great location for most of the attractions in Lhasa. It is on a main road so ask for a room in the back of the courtyard. We were on the first floor (happy we did not have to climb stairs although there is an elevator) in a newer room at the back of the courtyard. Much quieter back there. The room had an Ikea kind of feel with flat screen tv - no english channels. But who is watching tv we were in Tibet. There was plenty of room. Beds were firm and comfortable. Linens were clean. Safe in room. Finally figured out how to use the radiant heat in the floor. Much needed, it gets cold at night. Bathroom was newly redone too. There was a rain head shower and also a hand held nozzle. Never had an issue with not having any hot water here. No shower curtain, more like a wet bathroom, just remember to hide your toilet paper! There are heat lamps in the bathroom just remember to turn them on. Courtyard was great lots of sunshine! Great place to relax after touring. Wifi is free but goes in and out. Just be patient. Food is good lots of choices. Never had a bad meal. Service always with a smile. Great homey feeling. Remember you are in Tibet. Things go wrong and you just have to smile and let it go.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the courtyard, away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeannieStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
0.9 km away
Shambhala Palace
Shambhala Palace
#6 of 338 in Lhasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.9 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
2.8 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
House Of Shambhala
House Of Shambhala
#3 of 338 in Lhasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.7 km away
Tashitakge Hotel
Tashitakge Hotel
#4 of 338 in Lhasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.1 km away
Dekang Hotel
Dekang Hotel
#11 of 338 in Lhasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian)? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian)

Property: Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian)
Address: No.149 Beijing East Road, Chengguan District, Lhasa 850000, China
Region: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 338 Hotels in Lhasa
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Kyichu Hotel Lhasa
Kyichu Hotel (Jiqu Fandian) Tibet/Lhasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing