We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good business quality hotel... but bring your own adaptor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy
Ranked #11 of 1,836 Hotels in Nanjing
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good business quality hotel... but bring your own adaptor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Rooms: nice, spacious and clean rooms with well-lit and airy bathroom.

Room service Hainanese chicken rice was surprisingly good - it was the real McCoy i.e. the proper original Malaysian/Singaporean quality rather than the copy that passes for "Hainanese chicken rice" that so often appears in other Mainland Chinese hotels.

Bear in mind though that the hotel has a limited number of power adaptors, so remember to bring your own adaptor if your plugs are not Type A / I.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaelyan, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Galaxy Nanjing. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    278
    89
    33
    13
See reviews for
51
58
47
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Large bedrooms with a beautiful view. No wireless internet in the room and bit complex lightsystem. Quality of bed could be better, because it is too hard. Spacious bathroom. Rooms are clean. Good Spa facilities. Breakfast and restaurants are good. Service is moderate. English is poor spoken by many staffmembers. The lobby is not so functional. This is not a place where I enjoyed to stay. Check out procedure took me 15 minutes. I expected a higher level of Sofitel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BastiaanVanLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaelyan, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Galaxy Nanjing. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Something about bed we will do more develop about it ,and we also try our best to training the staff's English and skolls.we hope to see you again in our hotel and we will do our best to keep a good satisfaction from you.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We got a great deal on the hotel and spent 3 nights over New Year. Breakfast buffet was free for our 3 kids and a big hit. The room size was unexpectedly large and the corner chair & footstool combined an adequate bed for our 6yo. (Saved us the RMB300/night for an additional bed) and the staff didn't blink an eyelid at our room capacity of 5. Loads of restaurants a short walk away, and plenty of taxis passing by. Metro stop is a bit of a hike, but we managed with kids aged 6, 9 & 11. Nanjing had plenty of sights to fill a long w/end, we'd recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vvdantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaelyan, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Galaxy Nanjing. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

I would like to reiterate our commitment to high quality standards, and I personally would like to make sure you will experience it during your next stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel. Please do not hesitate to contact me during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanjing hotels
2.9 km away
Jinling Hotel Nanjing
Jinling Hotel Nanjing
#3 of 1,836 in Nanjing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
1.3 km away
InterContinental Nanjing
InterContinental Nanjing
#2 of 1,836 in Nanjing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
3.6 km away
Novotel Nanjing Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Fairmont Nanjing
Fairmont Nanjing
#1 of 1,836 in Nanjing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.2 km away
The Westin Nanjing
The Westin Nanjing
#6 of 1,836 in Nanjing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.6 km away
Shangri-la Hotel Nanjing
Shangri-la Hotel Nanjing
#5 of 1,836 in Nanjing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy

Property: Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy
Address: No.9 Shanxi Road, Gulou District, Nanjing 210009, China
Region: China > Jiangsu > Nanjing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Nanjing
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nanjing
#13 Best Value Hotel in Nanjing
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,768 - ₹ 8,444
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy 5*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy is a French luxury hotel brand chain under Accor Hotel Group and locates in the heart of the Hunan business and entertainment district. Glistening on the city skyline, this luxurious property is an inspired fusion of French flair, Chinese tradition and 21st century innovation. There is an excellent choice from 352 rooms, including superior room, luxury room, prestige suite, club prestige suite and more to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Galaxy Nanjing Hotel Nanjing
Accor Galaxy Nanjing
Sofitel Nanjing
Nanjing Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing