We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed...again”
Review of The Stoep

The Stoep
Ranked #984 of 8,204 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 15
Cuisines: African, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
hong kong
Level Contributor
167 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Disappointed...again”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Sorry. I always try to be positive with my reviews, however. This was my 2nd visit and disappointed again. Ordered grilled lamb in feta. Came in sizzling dish, but burnt on outside/raw inside. Lots of gristle, fat, bone. Not a happy bunny. Took it back to maitre'd. Offered an alternative but I said no and they didnt deduct it from bill. However, appetizers with lovely bread are good e.g. Tzaziki, Houmous, Tapenade, Grilled Eggplant dips. Lamb chops or sizzling prawns were OK with my fellow diners. I guess... meat not good for us (3 of us didnt like it). Great seaside venue... particularly later in afternoon when stray cattle come onto the beach. Note: they are WILD animals and do not appreciate attempts at "petting". Be warned!!
Sorry. I shant be going back again for some time.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blairabroad2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    30
    18
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location; stick to the basics for food”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

The Stoep is a great place to spend the afternoon, or the entire day if you are so inclined. A few things to know going in. First, the food is OK, but not the best. Stick to the basics; grilled vegetables, grilled meat. The bread and dips are the best thing on the menu. Outside only seating; no air-con here. Pick a hot, sunny day, pack your swimsuits, slap on the sunscreen, order up a shandy (beer mixed with sprite or lemonade), a sampling of bread and dips (feta cheese dip is amazing!), some grilled meat and veg, and let the kids hit the beach. You can sit on the beach at tables provided by the restaurant, although they can't serve you there, but will summon you to the steps when your food is ready so you can come up to collect. Just next to the restaurant is a shop that rents boogie boards, sea kayaks and the like. You can even camp out (all gear provided!) if you are so inclined. You will quickly feel like you are far, far away from the chaos of crowded Hong Kong. Servers are friendly, service can slow down when it gets busy but just chill! What's the rush? Do as others have suggested and make a booking if you are going on the weekend or a holiday. Accessible by ferry or MTR and then a taxi or bus ride.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MamaRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Terrible food, great location”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The Stoep has a fantastic location, right on Cheung Sha beach, but the food is awful. Better to go to the Thai or Chinese restaurants next door. Or up the road to sample the fantastic pizza and steaks at The Gallery in Tong Fuk village.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MayaHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
230 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Nice location on the beach - street food”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Don't expect a fancy place, the restaurant is very simple.
If you are a family with small kids, it can be nice since the restaurant is right on the beach so you can still finish your glass of wine while your kids already play on the beach just in front of the terrace.
I was not impressed by the food. The quality of the meat was poor and I was still hungry after my lunch. Their bread is really good though. I was there with a rather big group and one person ordered everything upfront so this might be important to know.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
434 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Spectacular Location”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We had a lovely Sunday lunch overlooking the beach at Lower Cheug Sha. Friendly service and good food but the best part of eating here is the location and view. We recommend as other reviewers advise to book a table if you want to visit at the weekend as it is full of fellow expats. We have not tried the fish and chips here yet but some other diners on a nearby table ordered it and they look yummy. This place is easy to get to by bus from Mui Wo. Why not have lunch here after a visit to the Big Buddha. Get off the number 2 or 23 bus at Lower Cheung Sha from Nong Ping. Ask for the Stoep and the driver will tell you where to get off. If you are comming from Mui Wo take the number 4, 2 or 1 bus and do the same. Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fareastjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stoep also viewed

Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to The Stoep? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing