We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in Hong Kong”

Amber at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental
Ranked #4 of 8,734 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best meal in Hong Kong”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We had lunch here and was really impressed with all dishes served. The foie gras was really delicious and so were the desserts. All dishes were nicely presented.

The restaurant atmosphere was great with good natural light during the day. We will come back for dinner if we visit Hong Kong again.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soodye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    165
    51
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Had the 8-course degustation menu with 5 wine pairings. Everything is excellent. The wow feel to the place when we first stepped in, the fantastic quality of the food and wine to the excellent service. We were not rushed through our dinner and it took 4.5 hours from 7pm to 11.30pm. Despite the late hours when we were leaving, the service staff even presented with boxes of mini macaroons, which was a nice touch to round off an amazing dinner in Amber.

This is truly a michelin star experience and Amber is truly one of the top restaurants of the world.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WongWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“amazing evening”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Fabulous food, super service and a real wow look and feel to the environment. It is expensive, and we paid HK$8800 for 4 adults, but the food quaslity and presentation was excellent, and the wine advice and choices were good, and not the most expensive.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank NickMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Hong Kong”
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

The ambience of Amber is lovely, the tables are nicely spaced so you never feel crammed in like you do in so many other places in hong kong- for this reason I do recommend the place for business lunch/ dinner.

I have eaten in Amber numerous times and at different times of the day; breakfast/ lunch/ dinner. Although the food is amazing at lunch and dinner I do have to say that the breakfast is the best in Hong Kong, I particularly recommend the salmon eggs Benedict.

Amber deserves its stars, as it is a complete experience, food, service and ambiance!

Helpful?
1 Thank FoxyFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Hong Kong”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Visited Amber for the first time this week on a business trip to Hong Kong. My travelling companion wanted to visit a Michelin French restaurant and a friend in HK recommended Amber but apart from that I did not read any other reviews. Coincidentally the results for Best Restaurants for the World were released just prior to our visit and Amber was ranked 45th in the world, best for a HK restaurant. Immensely well deserved. The experience is the total package. While the food was excellent, it was really the superb service that was outstanding. We tried the 5 course degustation menu and neither of us wanted the first course. This was changed with no fuss and the alternative dish provided was just as delightful and beautifully presented as the others. The waiters were all extremely attentive without being obtrusive and the sommalier extremely knowledgeable. Yes its very expensive but "you get what you pay for" and what you get at Amber is one of the great restaurants of the world.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank latebloomerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amber at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Amber at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing