We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistent in a city where steak is routinely grilled to poor standards!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outback Steakhouse - CLOSED

Outback Steakhouse
Price range: US$ 20 - US$ 25
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,332 reviews
1,709 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11,316 helpful votes
“Consistent in a city where steak is routinely grilled to poor standards!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

The dining scene in Hong Kong is beginning to suffer from high inflation as well as the implementation of (our first) minimum wage law in May 2011, both which are driving up costs of operating a restaurant in Hong Kong. The effects have been noticeable increase in prices, decreases in food serving size and inconsistent food quality (and in some cases, greatly reduced quality of food).

Outback Steakhouse, at least this branch on Nathan Road in TST, has remained one of the few restaurants serving food of consistent quality for us, while others have fallen from that list over the past year.

We ate lunch there today as it was Easter holiday and we were in the mode for steak, something so many restaurants, even high end steakhouses, routinely get wrong here. This particular Outback has been an exception to that rule so when we are not grilling up our own steaks, this is one of the very few places we will go to actually pay someone for a steak in Hong Kong.

Today we tried a set-lunch option A.) Lunch Sirloin (HK$98) that included a 8-9 ounce cut, risotto, mixed veggies, bread, a small salad and soup. To be fair, the beef was a bit tired, not prepared or cooked that well and not something I would order again. The rest of this lunch set was of average taste and quality but quite hearty. Exactly what one should expect for a HK$100 steak meal. Overall, this was a (rating 3 of 5) meal, not something I'm particularly partial to but at least good to note that a decent, average steak lunch can be had at relatively affordable prices in TST.

For our second meal, we ordered the Victoria Fillet (HK$220) and fries. This was a rather fatty cut, not our favorite, but was well grilled and the beef of much higher quality, what we expect of HK$220-250 price cut. This wasn't a perfect steak but generally tasted quite good (rating 4 of 5), making it a good value for money and consistent steak compared the HK$350-500 steaks that can routinely be poorly prepared and cooked in Hong Kong.

Overall, we were ok with the lunch set steak as you sort of have to expect a lower grade cut when paying just HK$100 for a steak dinner in Hong Kong. That is just reality, so no disappointment on our end. The consistent, good (not excellent this time) fillet will have us returning to Outback in the future for steak when we are not in the mood to prepare and grill our own.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    112
    55
    23
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Your typical Outback”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Quick dinner and easy to get to on foot, so it made it convenient. Service was excellent; menu and food as expected.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank LasBrisasGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fairly priced and value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Western food at HKG is pretty expensive if good or lower priced but you would not like it.
Outback Steakhouse stands for a medium standart and value for money. Waiters are very kind and helpfull.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eckardt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Aussie experience Asian style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Great to see Aussie food. The place is decked out with all the Aboriginal art which is fun. All the staff are Asian, which I guess was to be expected. These Asian staff were exceptional. Probably better service than we would receive in Australia, which is a shame.
The meals were really nice, the steak was a little fatty for me, however still enjoyed it.
Overall experience was unreal, meals were quick, decent price but the staff made the experience.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brendonlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Having visited Hong Kong following a tour of China, we needed a break from Chinese food. This was one of the restaurants we tried. Excellent and friendly service. Great food (that is if you like steaks and burgers etc of course !)

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank PotatoHead_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing