We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rated no.1 egg tart in HK!”
Review of Tai Cheong Bakery

Tai Cheong Bakery
Ranked #1 of 276 Dessert in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 10
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Central
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Rated no.1 egg tart in HK!”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Heard so much about Tai Cheong and one of our plans to hop over to HK island was to look for these. It was quite confusing to get to Lyndhurst Terrace even with a map. But asking for directions helped a lot as everyone knows Tai Cheong. The crowd in the bakery buy mostly egg tarts only. The egg tarts(HKD$5) are more expensive than the other egg tarts we ate during our trip but way cheaper than those in Singapore. Every egg tart displayed was so even and uniform. Bought one to try, then decided to go for a second round and join the long queue. These snacks were warm and fresh the custard melts in your mouth. I think it is a bit too sweet though.

Also bought the seaweed egg rolls home. Well, I have finally tasted the no.1 egg tarts in HK. Love them!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvholiday9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    256
    116
    21
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Egg Tarts!”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

The egg tarts are yummy, fresh and always warm :) I love this place!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Egg tarts”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Tried the egg tarts and much raved about donut. However, I am not as impressed. Fortunately there was no queue at the door during my visit. The egg tart was generous with the custard filling and freshly baked.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank WBin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Famous egg tarts”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Very near my hotel (Butterfly on Wellington) so I was able to grab 16 of them before I headed to the airport

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Out of the world egg tarts!”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Nearly every blog entry that I read about HK raved about the egg tarts, but due to time constraints, I didnt google the address and was I happy when I discovered the shop by accident while wandering around in Central.

I am an egg tart lover and I must say it is one of the best egg tarts I have eaten in my life. Its soft, wobbly egg center is amazing. It is so smooth that it is possible to eat without swallowing.

Definitely a must try! Even my parents said that the walk uphill is worth it because of the egg tarts.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Estella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tai Cheong Bakery also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Tai Cheong Bakery? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing