We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very efficient ”
Review of MTR

MTR
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 36.33*
and up
Hong Kong Travel Pass: MTR and Airport Express...
Ranked #2 of 25 Transportation in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Getting around Hong Kong couldn't be easier than with MTR. As MTR lines cover all major districts, it is quick and convenient to explore the whole city. There are nine commuter rail lines with easy interchange as well as a Light Rail network and high-speed Airport Express service. In addition, cross-boundary train service is provided to cities in the Mainland of China. Enjoy your Hong Kong journeys with MTR, operated by the MTR Corporation, one of the world's leading railway operators for safety, reliability and customer service.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Great rail service. Clean, punctual and efficient. Good value for money too.

Went from Tsim Sha Tsui red line then orange line to Tung Chung for the Ngong ping 360 cable car to big Buddha.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (21,339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"octopus card"
in 4,146 reviews
"subway system"
in 285 reviews
"trains run"
in 165 reviews
"always on time"
in 255 reviews
"public transport"
in 582 reviews
"rush hour"
in 284 reviews
"mode of transport"
in 217 reviews
"day pass"
in 179 reviews
"airport express"
in 387 reviews
"hong kong island"
in 171 reviews
"exits"
in 591 reviews
"network"
in 421 reviews
"signage"
in 498 reviews
"systems"
in 491 reviews
"platform"
in 443 reviews
"user"
in 274 reviews
"convenience"
in 410 reviews
Filter

1,807 - 1,811 of 21,342 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

Very convenient mode of transportation when doing some sightseeing in Hong kong. Single journey rate is comparable to the US. We only stayed for a night so getting an octopus card isn't recommended. Trains are clean, on time, safe, and very convenient. I hope the US will upgrade it's aging trains to be at par with the rest of the world. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank trepi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Good service, fast and convenient. Expensive but cheaper than Taxi. Safe and reliable. Good for the airport. Direct check-in in city is a good service

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Pankaj G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Short reviews are a rarity for me but not much you can say about the well organized and efficient MTR. Our first several days in Hong Kong were spent walking most places or using the Star Ferry, but as we ventured further out or found ourselves a little tired, it was super easy to hope into a subway, purchase a ticket and be on our way.
The ticket machines have an English option and announcements are in both Cantonese and English. Signage is clear with lettered exits highly visible. Lots of little shops underground to purchase drinks or food and other trinkets. We found just purchasing single tickets worked well as it gave us options to walk but you can purchase more in advance via an octopus card. The rules of lining up and entering the trains are strictly adhered to and add to the efficiency. Prices are very reasonable! Why we don't follow suit in other countries, I'll always wonder!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank TravellingVolup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Cheap way to get around with 24 hours for about £5. Fast and efficient we travelled on a few lines just to get to see a bit more of HK

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Janet r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MTR also viewed

 

Been to MTR? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing