We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good milk tea but over rated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lan Fong Yuen(Central)

Lan Fong Yuen(Central)
Ranked #521 of 7,696 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 10
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Central
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good milk tea but over rated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Supposedly the best milk tea in Hong Kong. It was good but in my opinion, over rated. You need a minimum order of HKD 20 per person if you were to dine in. Otherwise, choose TO GO instead. I find their pork chop bun and toast bun normal.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jj9yne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    129
    80
    18
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Traditonal HK Milk Tea”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Lan Fong Yuen is famous with their milk tea and pork bun, I find it not really fantastic compare to our Ah Koon Kaya and Toast in Singapore. Milk tea is just ordinary and without ice tea cube as I seen it in TV, pork bun is noway compare to Tai Li pork bun in Macao, but the toast with butter is quite delicious and popular. The only surprise is that you may spot the HK actor or movie star sitting around you, my wife has taken photo with Ah B in that afternoon, he is very friendly with smile when approach by us.
No harm visiting this traditional stall with their traditional food if you have the time at Central HK.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank yklimSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old tradition”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Somewhat overrated by critics as one of the best but what it offers is just traditional fast food, Hong Kong style.

Helpful?
Thank Wing L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yummy Pork Chop Bun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Very delicious and yummy. Much better than the burgers sold in the fast food restaurants.

I tried the pork chop bun and milk tea as recommended by friends and cousin at the Sheung Wan outlet when i was on my way to Macau. Also tried the french toast which is nice but i thought it was a little greasy.

Will definedly recommend it to all. In my next trip to HK, i will definedly try it at the original branch.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
160 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Good milk tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

Visited the branch at Tsim Sha Tsui, the entrance is marked with "Woodhouse", next to Chung King Mansions. Centrally located.

It's a much bigger place that I had expected. Decorated in nostalgic way, also have many posters of Alan Tham on their walls (personal collections of the owner). Nice staff.

Ordered milk tea, very good. Pork chop bun and the instant noodles with chicken chop are OK. Will revisit for the milk tea if I am in the vicinity.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrslye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lan Fong Yuen(Central) also viewed

 

Been to Lan Fong Yuen(Central)? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing