We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely evening ”

Mama San Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with Chope
Mama San Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #162 of 11,919 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central
Description: MAMA SAN by Will Meyrick - With his Scottish heritage, an Australian accent and an Indonesian home, Will Meyrick isn't easily categorized. Often described as Western on the outside and Asian on the inside, Will's passion for the cuisine culture and culinary heritage of this fascinatingly diverse part of the world, is what really defines him and sets him apart as a chef and restaurateur. This award winning chef and restaurateur now brings his incredible talent to Mama San in Hong Kong. Lavishing a collection of Asian flavours on his menu, Will continues to delight diners with an amazing collection of dishes from the South East Asian region. Mama San incorporates an atmosphere of exotic Balinese decor, superb dining and great bar for relaxation. Lunch and dinner daily.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We were a group of 4 adults and 4 kids. Everyone had a great meal, including the vegetarians in our group.
Perfect service and cocktails. Menu varied and everything we tried, delicious.

Thank JPandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHK, Guest Relations Manager at Mama San Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear JPandJen,

Many thanks for your visit and five star rating! We are very pleased to learn that you all enjoyed our food, including vegetarian dishes so much. We are even more delighted to learn that you enjoyed our service, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Regards,
Mama San Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 35 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

This is highly recommended restaurant with some of the best food in town . Excellent hospitality and very crowded . Local food is very good and they have variety of cuisines.
Location of this restaurant is very good. This place has something for everyone and some fresh beer.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank abhi9882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHK, Guest Relations Manager at Mama San Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear Abhishek C,

Many thanks for your visit and five star rating.It was our pleasure to provide a comfortable experience for your meal. Rest assured that we will share you words with the whole team. We can't wait to greet you again!

Regards,
Mama San Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Although described as Indonesian cuisine, I consider it more of an Asian fusion, with some Japanese accents (the sashimi), Thai (Pad Thai and other type curries), Malaysian (Malay curries), Vietnamese etc. So you are really getting a pan-Asian cuisine there, which I find quite generous.
My friends and I tasted a few dishes from the Starter menu and the Raw bar menu, a couple of main courses and quite a few deserts. I found most dishes very fresh, with a lot of lemon and peanut flavours. Most dishes are spicy, so don't get fooled by the indications on the menu, everything should have at least 1 chilli sign next to it.
I loved their tuna tataki and their Nha Trang fish carpaccio. Frankly most starter dishes are healthy and full of flavour, you don't feel guilty by eating a lot. I liked their Babi guling which is very balinese. Most of all though, I thought their deserts were outstanding. I was in awe of their Kampung snicker (parfait with dark chocolatey peanuts) and their Lemongrass panacotta (which tasted like a desert version of a capirinha).
Service was attentive and very pleasant, the restaurant was packed without being too noisy and the decor is quite cozy, with an Asian boudoir theme design, clearly addressing expats.
I loved my experience there, I would definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Irina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHK, Guest Relations Manager at Mama San Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear Irina H,

Thank you for your visit and review! We aim for providing high quality south east Asian cuisine and we are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our food and ambience. Your comment of spiciness is well noted and will pass to our restaurant manager for consideration.We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Regards,
Mama San Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

This is a standout restaurant. The service from the on the phone, to walking in, to leaving was exemplary. Staff are attentive, can take a joke and give one, and are observant. This was greatly appreciated.
Food here was exquisite. Every dish was stand out.. we ate too much as we didnt want to stop.
Atmosphere here is multi layered! keep looking to find more detail. Very cool. Loved this place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vashte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHK, Guest Relations Manager at Mama San Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Dear Vashte
You words are so kind and it was our pleasure to provide a comfortable experience for your meal. Rest assured that we will share you words with the whole team. We can't wait to greet you again.
Regards
Mama San team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

I had dinner at Mama San and it was very good. The restaurant has a nice vibe with a great bar. The food was very good and the service was friendly,

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank new_world_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHK, Guest Relations Manager at Mama San Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Dear new_world_travellers
Thanks for taking the time to write a review, it's great news to us that you enjoyed you time with us. We hope you will return in the short future for another great meal.
Regards
Mama San team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama San Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Mama San Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing