We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, excellent location.”
Review of JJ Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
JJ Hotel
Ranked #132 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Nice and clean hotel. Simple but functional rooms with new interior. Comfortable beds. The free WiFi had good coverage and speed. Room was equipped with safety box and water kettle with coffea/tea. There is a restaurant in the building with excellent hot pots.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kanylbullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 274 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2012

When I read other reviews complaining about small rooms here, I laugh. These people have clearly not stayed in Hong Kong before. The rooms here are HUGE compared to most hotels! Honestly, if you have enough room to open the door without it hitting the bed, you're doing well. At JJ Hotel you can see the carpet and walk around - for HK that's amazing. Not only that, but the rooms are spotlessly clean and well designed, with a good glass-walled bathroom.

This isn't the Ritz-Carlton, it's a good solid three-star business hotel, and for the price it's probably the best value I've seen in the entire territory.

Not only that, but though it seems to be run by a skeleton staff, they still manage to do things well. There was a minor problem with my booking and the charming Kiko on reception was able to fix it after only a few emails. I couldn't hook up to the (free, VERY fast) WiFi and within minutes two engineers were there fixing everything. Turned out the problem was my computer not their router. Embarrassing. Even the cleaner was exceptionally friendly and very apologetic about cleaning my room when I was working in it. Don't apologise, you're doing me a favour!

There are nice little touches too: a huge TV, and a DVD player with a free DVD library at reception. There's a kettle and free tea and coffee too.

And the location is exceptional - close to the tram, 5 mins from the MTR, 10 mins walk to the shops in Causeway Bay, right in the glorious hubbub of south Wanchai with about five hundred restaurants and cafes within a few minutes' walk.

My only complaint is that there was no heating. HK was pretty chilly when I stayed, and it would have been nice to have been a little warmer when in the room during the day, as I was using it as an office for three days.

If you're looking for somewhere to stay that is competently run, relatively spacious, well located, and not extortionate - while acknowledging that there will be no frills (no bar, no restaurant, no breakfast) - I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jumbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The JJ hotel was situated in a good location in Wan Chai close to Causeway Bay (15 minutes walk from the noon day gun and shops of Causeway Bay). It was close to an A11 airport transfer bus that cost $40HKD each. It was also close to the fantastic metro system for exploring the wonders of Hong Kong. Based on the 9th - 12th floor of a high rise there was always someone on the door the welcome you in. The reception was very small but staff were helpful. The room was clean and tidy with iron and board on request. The tv had 1 or 2 poor English Chanel's but we were very pleased to find a DVD player in there as well. The DVD library in reception was quite good but the charge of $50HKD for 24hrs struck me as ridiculously excessive considering the locations I'd stayed in before and didn't have to pay premium rates. 
Overall, a good hotel if you are looking to get general value for money. 

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lemon889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a couple nights. The rooms are really clean. The service was great. The location was amazing. It's a great value for the money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Room was big for a Hong Kong hotel, very clean, all facilities in good condition. Good location in Wanchai. Considering quite modest price - really nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AwfulRussian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#70 of 725 in Hong Kong
156 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#74 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,499 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
South Pacific Hotel
South Pacific Hotel
#181 of 725 in Hong Kong
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Wifi Hotel
Wifi Hotel
#212 of 725 in Hong Kong
208 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mingle Place With The Star
Mingle Place With The Star
#351 of 725 in Hong Kong
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JJ Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JJ Hotel

Address: Lucky Centre, 165-171 Wanchai Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#75 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#83 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: ₹ 4,547 - ₹ 8,446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — JJ Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your JJ Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jj Hotel Hong Kong
Jj Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing