We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel,very poor performance of staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Ranked #55 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Philippines
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice hotel,very poor performance of staff”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Hotel itself is big, spacious and clean. The lobby and most especially the breakfast area, essence, is quite spacious for Hongkong standard. It is not located in the city but very near the airport. Rooms are very modern and clean, but quite small even compared to Marco Polo or Holiday Inn. Amenities are complete. Sockets are not enough. No sockets near the working table so very difficult if you have a short cord and you have to remove whatever is plugged beside your bed table. Major complaint would be reservation agent website. Not helpful at all. Instead of giving you an answer, they will email you to read their website and do everything from there. More helpful were the agents whose e mail I think were directly from the hotel. Cleaning persons were not available in the floors.I really don't know what time they are visible. Overall, rooms are ok. Breakfast was enough.

Room Tip: Get a room from the executive Floor. It comes with free breakfast, afternoon tea, evening cocktails...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sugarandpups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,904
    1,506
    353
    63
    37
See reviews for
1,109
1,091
501
817
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Its my second time at the hotel , being a member of Accor, I was privileged to stay at the executive floors. But this one was stressful, my complimentary night was used up by a fictitious person in Sofitel Manila . Since I'm availing it in citigate, they informed me that if the complimentary night problem is not resolved, I have to pay for my room, which is an additional expense for me considering that I have alady planned my vacation 6 months in advance. But with the assurance and caring of the staff at the executive floor desk, they updated me on the status every now and then and even leave messages via mail and screen. It was really heart warming that the staff are so concerned with their guest and always all smiles. Eventually they were able to prove that I was not the one who redeemed the complimentary nit in Manila and Accor credited back my free night just in time for my check out. Wow! That was a relief, being a member has its rewards! They allowed me for a late check out at 4 pm which gave me enough time to visit ocean park. This vacation is a different experience but ended up well. Thank you Novotel Executive floor staff for a job well done!

Room Tip: The sea view is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter_triccie_reese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I recently stayed at the hotel on 8 February, 2012. I love the nespresso coffee machine and their super comfy bed!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shopaholic_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The views! I doubt there can be bad view in the Novotel Citygate basement! It is beautiful there, amazing, dare I say, stifling to look out the window, any window, but the staff does not listen very well, they are distant, and the room was not exactly clean. We had two nasty spoons in our tea/coffee cups upon arrival which made me nearly hurl as I washed our cups before having tea. Sleep was beautiful because beds were fantastic. The bathroom was like two clean/mod public stalls, which is efficient for space. Novotel is connected to the outlet mall and near public transit. The Big Buddha and United Mileage is why we stayed here. Maybe that's why the staff was aloof; Miles were used instead of HK dollars? I'd give them two stars but the location and the view... Lord, have mercy; the view.

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent views. Trust in that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelleshock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Airport
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
Airport
Regal Airport Hotel
Regal Airport Hotel
#106 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,429 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#24 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,711 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#78 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Citygate Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Citygate Hong Kong

Property: Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Address: No.51 Man Tung Road, Tung Chung, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Airport , Lantau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#51 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,757 - ₹ 14,609
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Citygate Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only airport hotel in Hong Kong with city convenience, Novotel Hong Kong Citygate is just 5 minutes from Hong Kong International Airport and AsiaWorld-Expo. With direct access to MTR, it takes only 30 minutes to the city centre and Hong Kong Disneyland is 2 stops away. Enjoy spectacular views from the Ngong Ping Cable Car and discover bargain shopping at Citygate Outlets, both are at the doorstep. Features meeting facilities, two restaurants, a bar, a 24-hour gym and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Citygate Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Accor Hong Kong
Novotel Hong Kong Airport
Hong Kong Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing