We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$ 270
View deal
Hotels.com
US$ 270
View deal
Novotel
US$ 245
View deal
Trip.comUS$ 263
PricelineUS$ 270
Booking.comUS$ 270
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,225)
Filter reviews
5,225 results
Traveller rating
2,716
1,905
444
98
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,716
1,905
444
98
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cable car close to the airport big buddha outlet shopping mall free shuttle lantau island ngong ping tung chung premier lounge welcome drink late check short stay breakfast buffet easy access convenient location disneyland olea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3,565 - 3,570 of 5,225 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The Novotel Citygate is located in a fantastic spot nice and close to the airport and Lantau Island cable car. The free hotel shuttle runs every 15 minutes, we made our way to B16 in the arrivals hall and registered for the bus, 5 minutes later we were escorted down stairs to the waiting bus, 10 minutes later we were in the lobby of the hotel, brilliant!

First impressions of the hotel are good, although the lobby area is accessible to the general public and no card swipe is required to access guest floors of the hotel! The pool area is quite large and the gym is one if the best hotel gyms I have used. The hotel has two choices for meals one of which is the excellent buffet, at HKD$198 for dinner It's a bargain. We also chose to eat at the food court of the Citygate complex, cheap and very good Dim Sum plus a huge variety of other options are available until 2200 daily.

The hotel has direct access to the Citygate outlet shopping centre. It's a 3 level centre with everything from high end designer fashion to a large supermarket, it a great way to spend a day, if you like to shop! Next to the shopping centre is the beginning of the Lantau Island cable car, open from 1000 daily it takes you on a fantastic journey up the mountains where you can go to see the giant Buddha. Citygate is also the start of the MTR line and there is a station outside the shopping centre, Disneyland is 2 stops away so the Novotel would make a great base if you were visiting. Central Hong Kong took us 27 minutes on the MTR.

The rooms are very modern and have been designed to maximise space. Our room had a view of the mountains looking toward the airport. The room was cleaned to a high standard and contained all the regular Novotel amenities. The bed was comfortable (not super hard like some hotels in Hong Kong) and the room had a small desk and chair.

Internet access is available for free in the business centre but WIFI and room access is overpriced. The staff are the only thing letting this hotel down. On the few occasions that we dealt with them they were quite rushed and didn't seem to genuinely care.

Overall the Novotel Citygate is a great choice if you want to get away from central Hong Kong, there are enough things to do in the area to fill at least 2 days. It's also super convenient to the  airport if you have to overnight in Hong Kong.

Date of stay: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evandstace
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Stayed here for one night while in transit.

Hotel is close to Hong Kong airport, the hotel provides a free shuttle bus (go to counter B16 at the arrivals area of the airport on arrival). Outlet shopping centre under the hotel.

Lobby area etc all very nice - all in all a very modern hotel.

Room was excellent - very modern, comfortable bed, great shower, easy to control air conditioning.

Buffet breakfast had a large selection that was a great start to the day.

I'd say if you're in HK for shopping and sight seeing this hotel may be a bit out of the way, but if you're here in transit or are looking for nice accom close to the airport this is a real hotel of choice.

Finally all the staff were very nice, efficent and wanting to help.
I'd certainly stay again.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bnecpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelCitygate, Management at Novotel Citygate Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 September 2011

A nice, seemingly new airport hotel that is convenient if you arrive late at night and just want to crash or need to depart early. Clean, attractive rooms, nice king size bed.

However, I was very disappointed with the internet. VERY slow service. Useless to watch any video on Youtube, Was trying to catch up on a few minutes of news by video. Was impossible. Also, they charge $120 HKD for the internet, typical for this sort of hotel (about $15 US). But, this for each computer. So, when I tried to log onto the internet with my Ipad after using the laptop, the system notified me that you will have to pay again. That's a rip off. And, especially with the substandard SLOW connection, they should not be charging twice.

Improve your internet service folks, the airport hotel is full of business people and you need to do better.

Otherwise, fine.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigInJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews