We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice compact hotel in great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong
Ranked #111 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2012

My husband and I spent two nights in this hotel on a stopover to Australia. Our room was small but excellent use was made of the space. The room had everything you would need. There was a bowl of fruit left for us. Also there was a nice array of toileteries.
The hotel is very well situated to tour the area. It is only a short hop to the train station for the Peak and within walking distance of hundreds of shop and restaurants.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. They were only too happy to show us on a map where everything was and advise us where to go.
Also when we were checking out they organised the Airport Shuttle bus for us and helped us with our luggage.
I woudl have no hestitation in recommending this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie5192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanKwaiFongHotel, General Manager at Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Thank you for taking time to share with us your comments through the Tripadvisor.com. Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong is a perfect location for business and leisure with an excellent transportation network. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,084)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

714 - 718 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

Small but beautiful -traditional decor in the room and charming staff . Situated in the centre of town, in walking distance of the ferries, station and business centre it is an ideal hotel whatever your needs without being overly expensive. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gladys45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanKwaiFongHotel, General Manager at Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thank you for taking time to share with us your comments through the Tripadvisor.com. Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong is a perfect location for business and leisure with an excellent transportation network. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

A colleague and I shared a room at Lan Kwai Fong @ Kau U Fong. Even with the discounted rate, I did not think I received good value for my stay.

1. The location is all right -- a bit off Central, two blocks from Queen's Road. Closest station is Sheung Wan, which is only sort of close to the hotel

2. The building looks clean and well maintained, but in terms of aesthetics, it wasn't impressive at all. The small reception area is always crowded and staffed by mostly unfriendly people; the front door of our room didn't close on its own; the rings on the door handles come off; the bathroom's shower was so tiny, and stocked with cheap shampoo, conditioner and bath gel.

3. They have bathrobes, towels, a hairdryer, emery board, cotton swabs, a folding brush and dental kits. They have complimentary water, fruit and a minibar with "pay food". As for facilities, the double room had a TV, desk, dresser, window seats, cabinet and safe.

4. The gym is a joke -- a small room that fits only three treadmills (one was broken) and two other exercise machines (one was also broken). No staff at the gym; they had a water dispenser and face towels. Open 24-hours but they keep it open starting 7 AM only; you have to request them to unlock it at certain other times.

5. Breakfast at the first floor was also a joke at HKD 150++ -- very basic stuff that wasn't even close to delicious. The taste was okay -- sort of thing you would expect to eat at someone's house: bread, salad, dumplings, bacon and eggs, chicken nuggets, cereals, tea, coffee, some juices and milk. They mix the dimsum so if you have seafood allergies, you couldn't eat the non-seafood ones because of contamination.

6. In-room wi-fi Internet was priced to high at HKD 120 per day PER DEVICE. This was a serious source of inconvenience for us. Colleague and I paid HKD 320 per person to get wi-fi for three days because we had one laptop each.

Room Tip: Want a view? They don't have one of the bay because of other buildings. You can sort of see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnescheng, General Manager at Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you for taking time to share with us your comments through the Tripadvisor.com. Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong is a perfect location for business and leisure with an excellent transportation network. Kindly noted that hotel has different type of rooms, including Harbour View room, Deluxe room and Harbour view suite with the balcony. Apart from the mini-bar items, hotel also provides free coffee and tea facilities in room. Besides, we are planning to renovate the hotel lobby and our Gym room in order to enhance hotel facilities. Our breakfast is served in buffet style with varieties choice which includes Chinese and Western selection of foods. The free WIFI internet is also available at Hotel lobby and 4/F garden - Breeze which is a nice place for our guest to relax. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Yes the rooms are not that big but then if you are in Central is probably for business or for the pink pound and clubbing?
So it is clean and small rooms ut then everything you need is just walking distance from this hotel, between Centre tube station and MTR's it is fine.
I used a comparable search engine site to find this hotel and for the star rating, location and price it was thte best one in the area without having to be along way from the main attractions of the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGG-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnescheng, General Manager at Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you for taking time to share with us your comments through the Tripadvisor.com. Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong is a perfect location for business and leisure with an excellent transportation network. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This is a really nice hotel in a very central location. The room was small (I was made aware of this when booking) but they made very good use of the space, plus I was on my own so it didnt really matter. It was a few minutes walk away from the Central train station, the ferry and the IFC Shopping Mall. The staff were friendly and helpful. My flight wasnt until midnight so while I checked out in the morning, I was able to use a shower later in the evening before I had to get my long flight home. One really impressive thing the hotel provides is a card, which many hotels do however it includes the hotel location in English & Chinese, it also has a list of tourist attractions in both English & Chinese, this is really effective and something I havent seen before.

Room Tip: Request a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnescheng, General Manager at Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Thank you for taking time to share with us your comments through the Tripadvisor.com. Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong is a perfect location for business and leisure. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#31 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,135 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#21 of 723 in Hong Kong
366 reviews
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#19 of 723 in Hong Kong
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
One96 - Elegant Full Floor Suite Hotel
Sheung Wan
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
#171 of 723 in Hong Kong
234 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong

Address: No.3 Kau U Fong, Central, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#78 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#93 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#96 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: ₹ 10,098 - ₹ 25,539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awards winning Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong is about being stylish, and as comfortable as you want to be, in a location that is perfect for trendy dining, nightlife and entertainment area of Lan Kwai Fong and SoHo, Minutes away from MTR, Macau Ferry Terminal, premier offices and designers shopping. Its rooms are furnished with a distinctive touch of oriental style, overlooking the spectacular view of Hong Kong city, which illuminated at night. Hotel offers free WIFI, happy hour with free house wine, mobile with free data and IDD calls to 8 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lan Kwai Fong
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong Hong Kong
Lan Kwai Fong Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing