We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as grand as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Disney's Hollywood Hotel
Ranked #91 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not as grand as expected”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

For almost HK$2000/night, I was expecting something grander. But over all it is ok. Breakfast was great, enough selections, not included in hotel price. LOBBY is small.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LingCoMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    803
    795
    253
    62
    23
See reviews for
1,181
136
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
MALAYSIA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

BY FAR this was the best hotel (and experience) Hong Kong has to offer. The room was VERY clean, eloquently appointed, and adorned with Mickey logos everywhere. We felt like we were staying in Disneyland itself. I've been to Disneyland LA and Disneyworld Orlando, and this hotel mirrors that special 'Disney' ambience very well. Everything about the room was superb and thought through by its management, like having a kid's mickey mug alongside the adults' cups. Service at this hotel was far beyond that of other hotels in HK, much kudos to the Disney team for successfully training their staff to uphold the Disney tradition. My only recommendations are:
(1) Have some HALAL menus please. As a tourist spot attracting those from all around the world, and as a global figure, muslim food should not have been omitted.
(2) The check-in/out experience was hectic. Crowd management here was very poor, although staff were friendly. They should have better crowd control.

My advice for those considering this hotel is to:
(1) Wait around at the lobby area at night because Goofy is sure to make an appearance there.
(2) Take a dip in their pool. It's heated at night :)
(3) Take a stroll around the premises in the morning because here are plenty of photo opportunities around with the vintage cars, lovely landscape, etc.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RADINSYAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My 4 year old daughter remembered every detail of our stay at Disney's Hollywood hotel. She still remember the room number we stayed in even after it has been more than 2 months since our family vacation, which could only mean one thing... she was impressed.

Booking of the hotel could be improved a little. The rooms should be available for booking much earlier on the website, as we could not book the rooms until it was January for our trip in April. The promotions should be available earlier when we booked, as I had to cancel my previous booking in January to qualify for the early bird promotion which was only available in February on the website. However, I was still able to enjoy the Early Bird rates and cancellation and reservations was handled smoothly.

Checking in was a breeze. Once we reached the rooms, my daughter was in awe. The cute, folded little napkins, the cups, toiletries, furnishings, slippers left her feeling like she's the most welcomed, distinguished guest at the hotel. She loved the bedtime stories on one of the channels on TV, and we definitely enjoyed the fireworks from our room.

We had a nice walk around the hotel compound. We enjoyed all the extra touch of Hollywood, the road signage, antique cars, movie booths and pool. Overall, it was an experience to remember.

Room Tip: Pick a room with Park View on a higher floor to see the fireworks at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmdnzri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macao
Level Contributor
184 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Disney Hollywood Hotel is one of the two hotels located in the Disney Park.
There are no other hotels around.

You can get to the hotel from any MTR station in Hong Kong, and then change to the Disney line. When you get out of the MTR, turn left (on the right is the Disneyland entrance), then left and on the first road and, on the right, you will see the free shuttle bus that takes you to the hotel.

The lobby was crowded and very noisy, should have some panels to absorb the sound.
It has a TV playing Mickey channel which is good to entertain kids while parents do check in, but it is so noisy around that you cannot hear it.

You can pre check in, buy tickets for the Park, and leave your luggage with the concierge.
Even if there is a queue at check in it is fast and smooth. Staff was very courteous and helpful and explained promotions to buy the tickets for Disney Park.

I felt disappointed, as they don’t have anything for a birthday kid on the check in day. Only a badge with “Happy Birthday” wrote on it. Could make a package or just put a card on the bed or something to make the kid feel special.

You can only use the room after 15h in the day you check-in until 11h on the day you check out. Again, when you check out you can leave the luggage with concierge and come back at the end of the day to get it. This was very good as we spent all the time in Disney Park. It is amazing how they manage so many luggage!

Rooms are decorated with Disney cartoon characters and in the lift; Mickey Mouse will announce the floors, which my kids loved.

Rooms are big and have enough space for family of four like mine (2 adults and 2 kids).
Beds are queen size, have free slippers (3 pairs for 4 persons…) and a few toiletries (not enough for a family of four).
There were also only three towels and the registration was made for four persons…
There is an electronic kettle to hear water to make coffee or tea, provided free. There are also 3 bottles of water (free).
It is clean even though the bed runners could have been replaced has it had some leftover food…
Room also has a safe and in the bed were an “alien towel” that my daughter (7 years) loved and a “bird towel”.

The hotel has a nice garden with two old cars at the end (in the back of the Hollywood sign), and a small playground for kids. It has a swimming pool but we didn’t have time to use it.

At night we saw Donald Duck walking around near Chef Mickey restaurant and kids took photo with him.

We had dinner at Chef Mickey restaurant and this one was not a good experience…
They could not find our reservation, made one month before.
The variety of food was good, but the food was not tasty and some food was undercooked.
The presentation was nice, as there was a lot Mickey shaped food, like pasta, mousse, cookies, fruits… but there was no ice cream for kids, as the machine was broken.
The staff didn’t remove the plates (we had buffet) and always needed to call them to take the plates away.
We found it expensive for what we got.

Even though we paid more than HK1900 for 1 nigh our room had no breakfast included. It is just a place to sleep for a few hours before you go back to Disney Park the next day…
They should include breakfast as you don’t have alternatives around there (Disney park …) so we brought our own food and ate at the room.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmasKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Went to HK Disneyland and decided to stay in Disney's Hollywood Hotel so it will be easy to go around. I was with my husband and 3 children. For the price of the room, it was okay. The food in the hotel was quite pricey and the coffee shop did not have enough. since they did not provide room service, they should have a well-stocked coffee shop. It was better to eat in Disney, more choices and more reasonably-priced.
The hotel itself was so, so. Nothing great but again, for the price, it was worth it. I love the ease of their no-fuzz check out.

Room Tip: Food is not great. Better to eat your meals in Disneyland. The coffee shop opens quite late - 7:30...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chillmgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Disneyland
Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel
Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel
#53 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,911 reviews
Disney Explorers Lodge
#205 of 718 in Hong Kong
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#56 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,922 reviews
Airport
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Hollywood Hotel

Property: Disney's Hollywood Hotel
Address: Lantau Island, Hong Kong Disneyland, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Disneyland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#79 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#83 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,921 - ₹ 25,449
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Hollywood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself in the glitz and grandeur of classic Hollywood at this richly appointed hotel. Be front-and-center during an international buffet with Mickey Mouse, "take 5" in the piano-shaped pool or stroll through a lush garden courtyard of vintage cars and famous landmarks. Combining stunning Art-Deco architecture with a dash of Disney magic, Disney's Hollywood Hotel invites you to stay in a place where you're the star. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Disney's Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disneys Hong Kong
Hong Kong Disneys
Disney's Hollywood Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing