We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gr8 location ... decent hotel”
Review of Xi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Xi Hotel
Ranked #173 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gr8 location ... decent hotel”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Stayed for 4 nights with this hotel back Aug. The hotel is pretty decent with all basic ameneties. Few things I noted though. No bell boy service to carry your luggage when you check-in. B'fast is just about decent not good. There's a few pubs around the hotel so gets a bit noisy on the weekends. I had read about this already so I got myself a higher floor. The only caveat is Wi-fi works on the lower floors only. They have the usual LAN cable though so if you have a laptop, you're covered. Rooms are decent sized but no Ironing board provided in the room. I had to call the reception to get an Ironing board which they gave very promptly. The pillows were too flat, so I asked for extras but since it was weekend rush, so they didnot have any. Tough luck. Service is fast.
About the location, very very near to TST(E) MTR and some of the good attractions like the Star ferry, Avenue of stars, Salisbury etc. Another good thing is transport to airport, this place has tons of taxis/minivans right below the hotel. So you can bargain quick and skip the hassle of booking a taxi in advance.
One thing I really didn't like about the location of this hotel was the walk from hotel to TST E Mtr. You have to pass through some of the backyards of hotels/restaurants etc and you'd see either hotel staff or random people sitting around the corners, smoking and stuff. I would've just avoided that route if I could but that was the shortest route to the MTR.
Bottom line, I would opt. for YMCA Salisbury any day provided they have vaccancies. But for the price you pay Minden is definitely a very good bet.

Room Tip: Choose high floors. Weekend rates are higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avidbnbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    177
    75
    19
    9
See reviews for
57
104
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
138 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This boutique hotel came highly recommended in the Lonely Planet. We booked it for three nights and were not disappointed. The rooms were not very large but adequately sized and comfortable. The breakfast was just serviceable but then HK has lots of great places to eat and I would not mind not taking the hotel's breakfast. The public areas were small but then, this is HK and space is a premium. My room had a slight view of HK harbour. The location was great with the MTR just a couple of metres away. It is also near enough to walk to the Avenue of the Stars. For shopping, Carnavon and Kimberly Sts were not far to walk to either. All in, its worth the money in terms of comfort after a long day of shopping and sightseeing, a haven in Tsim Sha Tsui.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chongbrood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We booked this Hotel as our favourite HK hotel was not available. Thought I did the right thing by booking and paying for a "Deluxe Queen" size room with Agoda. What a disappointment! We arrived in the early afternoon and my heart sank already when I saw the neighbourhood and then had to drag our cases into the lobby ourselves. No doorman or any assistance. We were given a very dinghy, dark and smelly room on the 6th floor facing the street. As it is not our habit to complain, we just accepted it. Room size was reasonable for HK. General location was very good (that's why I chose The Minden in the first place). Near MTR and K11 Shopping Mall and hundreds of small shops, eateries etc all around. But then the noise from the night-clubs , that had been mentioned by other reviewers, started. It was unbelievably loud and really unacceptable. They should have triple-glazing !! Besides, the window in the bathroom is not double-glazed and although we kept the bathroom door closed, there was no escape from the racket. The following nights were better - thank goodness. (Or perhaps I had got used to it?) The bathroom was very well functioning with a nice shower and enough room to move. Although I am used to hard beds all over China, these are ridiculously hard! The oldfashioned bulky TV set surprised us in the otherwise high-tech minded HK. The included breakfast was for us the best aspect of the hotel. There is a nice outdoor area as well which you can escape to if the 6 airconditioning units in the b'fast room freeze you to death. :) I loved the artwork throughout the hotel but can not possibly recommend the Minden Hotel to my friends and only because it's small, it's not a "Boutique Hotel" in my book. And I still wonder, if we were actually given a Deluxe room.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms on each floor, so I don't know if an upper floor would have been any bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldfingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Bangkok
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Booked Minden via Agoda.com but upon seeing the reviews on Trip Advisor, I became really scared!

The hotel was nothing fancy but the location was great -- very near the MTR and the staff are very very accommodating. All my requests were granted, pronto! I even overslept on my last day and only checked out at least two hours after the check-out time. They didn't charge me extra!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DinahBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
233 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

we booked this hotel for a friday night and it was a decent price for Kowloon. however, it's located near loud restaurants and bars. it's also really hard to find in those roads east of nathan road so getting to and from was a challenge. the bed was crazy hard.

the staff was helpful and the continental breakfast had nice variety but overall, it was not a good experience. i wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harbrsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Harbour Bay Hotel
Harbour Bay Hotel
#130 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#87 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Benito
Hotel Benito
#157 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Pravo Hong Kong
Hotel Pravo Hong Kong
#134 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#277 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#51 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xi Hotel

Property: Xi Hotel
Address: No.7 Minden Avenue, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly The Minden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,874 - ₹ 12,919
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xi Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xi Hotel offers guests an embodiment of style, luxury and convenience while serving visitors at a more coveted level of quality in service and accommodation. Located at an area which occupies the heart of Tsim Sha Tsui, Xi Hotel will revive the fine art of hospitality.With an emphasis on artistic flair, Xi is perfectly located for shopping and leisure and art appreciation . Xi is also popular among business travelers with all rooms fully equipped to meet various business needs. Either you want a night out in the vibrant city or to stay in and relax in one of its chic, contemporary rooms, Xi can offer it all.Xi perfectly reflects its Chinese characters - heart and happiness - in its service and amenities. From classically-appointed furniture to contemporary art, every corner of Xi radiates an asian flair while staff enthusiastically caters to every wish the guests may have. Your pleasure in staying in this stylish boutique hotel is the hotel's honour as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minden Hotel Hong Kong
Minden Hong Kong
Xi Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing