We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I am a regular - and for the first time I left the Landmark disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Ranked #2 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
224 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“I am a regular - and for the first time I left the Landmark disappointed”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I only stay in Hong Kong's Landmark as this hotel has always delivered, as evidenced by my previous reviews.. It is modern, cool, very classy and centrally located. However this time things were not so good simply because on arrival, late at night after an intercontinental flight, they gave me the good news that I had been updgraded to an L600 suite but didn't explain that this was a smoking room (1212) that literally stank to high hell. I asked to move, but this was by all accounts impossible and I was too tired to return to the lobby and argue. So I had two very unpleasant and smelly nights. Upon departure, the receptionist presented me with a complimentary luggage tag 'to make up for my dissatisfaction'. Pathetic!...Then to make my stay really complete, having explained how unhappy I was this time around, I asked if I could use wifi in the lobby whilst I waited for my car and was told 'only if I pay the fee of HK$50'. The point I want to make is that this is a great hotel, but this time they lost the plot as it is totally unacceptable to put non-smokers in a disgusting room whose previous inhabitant was evidently a chain smoker to the extent that I have sent two suits to the dry cleaners. I have marked cleanliness as terrible for this reason.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get put in a smoking room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank foxbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LamdmarkMandarin, Director of Communications at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent experience at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental. It is with regret that we learn of your disappointment and the inconveniences caused to you on this occasion, please accept our sincere apologies. Your valuable feedback has been brought to our attention and please rest assured that we will take every necessary step to address these important issues. We would be grateful to contact you personally to discuss this matter further.

Kind regards,

Vivian Li

Director of Communications

vli@mohg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    780
    97
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
106
237
100
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Whenever we go to Hong Kong we try to stay at the Landmark. Usually if my other half can go for business, but it's just as great for leisure if we want to splurge.

The service is impeccable, the beds are heavenly and I always make it a point to get a bath in their giant tubs. It's not a hotel with a view of the city so if that's what you're looking for, go elsewhere. If you're looking for a haven to relax in the middle of central Hong Kong this is the place. The modern design of all the rooms are fabulous. It's walking distance to anywhere you'd need to go.

The best sensory experience is the ginger-citrus scent they lightly spray into the vents. Now they sell the diffuser at the spa! We got one for our bedroom - our own little piece of the Landmark at home. Except... not as awesome.

S

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misshur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I stayed at the hotel looking at the reviews around and was a bit disappointed when my room didn't have much of a view that would have been appreciated. But I guess during the booking I didn't specify do it's my fault. The buildings around are to be blamed for not getting it. The rooms and the hotel were very clean which is a plus.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard_Rnbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

From start to finish, all staff were very accomodating, friendly, and thoughtful on every encounter. Will come back regularly for work. Very convenient location, and definitely worth the price. The spa is also great to have as a complimentary benefit. Don't come here if you want a room with a view, probably the Conrad or somewhere similar may be better for leisure trips. I thoroughly enjoyed my business trip - very comfortable rooms with excellent modern facilities, such as ipod connection to the room and bathroom's surround sound system.
Thanks for making it a great visit!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bengalitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
557 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We have stayed at other Hong Kong gems including Four Seasons, Conrad, Ritz Carlton and W Hotel..

For those of you who know Hong Kong, I'd have to say for location and amenities the LMOH is one of the very best values and hotels. I agree with others that the room views are limited, but you're in the middle of Central HK and can't expect fabulous views. If view is your primary concern you must stay at Ritz Carlton (Kowloon side) or Four Seasons (IFC-Central).

This is surprisingly "boutique" hotel feel and very intimate. Staff are friendly but professional. We have enjoyed the at the Bars and look forward to trying the Restaurants.

To be in the centre of it all, there is nowhere better, at any price. Surprisingly Quiet (we are on the 8th Floor in an L600 Executive Suite).

Appreciate this gem of a hotel and will come back...

Room Tip: Try for higher floors for city view and quieter?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LHOVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 716 in Hong Kong
2,083 reviews
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 716 in Hong Kong
5,450 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#9 of 716 in Hong Kong
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Property: The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Address: The Landmark, 15 Queen's Road Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): ₹ 32,388 - ₹ 55,448
Hotel Class:5 star — The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is one of the most luxurious and fashionable hotel in the world located in the heart of Central. All of the 109 spacious guestrooms have just been refurbished. Dining is exceptional. Amber offers the finest modern French cuisine while MO Bar is the stylish all-day-dining venue famous for its creative cocktails. The Oriental Spa is the urban sanctuary for relaxation and wellness, completed with yoga, Pilates and fitness. This chic hotel is one of the 9 hotels worldwide awarded Forbes Travel Guide Triple five stars distinction across all categories for hotel, restaurant and spa. Located in Central, the hub of shopping, entertainment and finance, The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is connected to the Landmark Atrium where more than 200 world's top luxury brands can be found. What makes the hotel unique is its proximity to local pastimes, hot spots and cool discoveries. Only 10-15 minutes away on foot, guests can expect popular local eateries, bars and clubs, some of Hong Kong's best tailors, creative local designer fashion pieces, as well as one of Hong Kong's oldest temples and Asia's longest outdoor covered escalators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Oriental Landmark
Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental
Landmark Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing