We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More like service apartment than hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
J Plus Hotel by YOO
Ranked #61 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“More like service apartment than hotel!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Jia.
The hotel lobby: The desk hotel is very small and don't look very nice, the lounge have nice furnitures. The breakfast is poor and have only a big table to share for all guests.
The service and staff: The service was good and the staffs were friendly and helpful.
Location: is great, in the heart Causeway Bay and close the subway!
The room: We book one suite, the suite have a nice small kitchen, where u can cook,as i said look like service apartment. The decoration is not very modern, and looks tired. The windows are very dirty, the bathroom are very small and not bathtub. A night i went to shower and the shower its not working and very dirty water. The bed is very uncomfortable. The room look so dark,smell and the curtains look dirty.
They need urgent a upgrade this hotel or change for service apartment type, because don't look boutique hotel at all.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodrigo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    211
    53
    18
    12
See reviews for
75
188
58
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

A lovely stylish hotel in the middle of bustling Causeway Bay, tricky to find it is on the corner of the street with a discrete sign, taxis had trouble finding it and we tended to ask for the nearby Regal hotel in the end since that was widely understood. Close to the metro and all the shopping that causeway bay is famous for.
The rooms are fantastic, we had a lovely stylish suite and go for the same again in a heartbeat, it was fully equipped with a kitchen if required and nicely stocked minibar. Views down two streets into the heart of Causeway bay left no doubt where you were in the world. Hong Kong is always noisy but the windows kept out the noise and we were high enough to not notice. Room was very stylish, clean and everything worked.
Service was excellent with friendly staff, English and several other languages spoken and a great helpful attitude.

Room Tip: probably get a high room if you want to sleep with windows open
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I booked a room for my fd from US for his 4 days trip to Hong Kong.
He commented JIA is so GREAT!!!!!!
"Comfortable! Wonderful! and Excellent!"
He appreciated the hotel design and the convenient location, just 4 minutes fr the MTR station. He asked me to book him the hotel again next time when he comes to HK =]
Found it website changed to http://www.jplushongkong.com/en/
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at the Jia for our first visit to Hong Kong, a week-long stay that included both work and vacation. Overall, it was a wonderful room, location, and value, and I would definitely stay again on a future trip to Hong Kong.

ROOM: We booked a suite, since we had a long stay and wanted space to work and relax. The suite was perfect for two. It's laid out like an apartment and feels very spacious, with the added benefit of Philippe Starck decor. There is a huge living space with a desk, comfortable living room, and even a full dining set and kitchenette. There's tons of closet space, too, and a clean, comfortable bedroom. If you have a long stay, it's nice to be able to relax in your room, keep breakfast in the kitchen, order delivery and watch a movie, etc.

BATHROOM: The bathroom was a Westernized bathroom, all white marble with a glass-enclosed shower (no tub). There's a decent amount of storage space in the medicine cabinet and on the sink, though only one person can fit in the bathroom at a time. Also, the hot water was very limited, but wasn't a major problem.

HOUSEKEEPING/STAFF: The housekeeping did a good job. The bathroom was clean enough, but could have used a bleach job, and we had to pile the towels up outside the bathroom to get them replaced every day, but I had no real complaints. The laundry prices were reasonable and they did a fine job. The staff was friendly and helpful with getting us a taxi to the airport.

AMENITIES: The Jia offers a great free "mini bar" in the hotel lobby, with soft drinks, coffee, tea, and water bottles available all day/night, as well as continental breakfast, a tea-time snack, and evening wine. We usually missed breakfast, but the spread included fresh fruit and pastries. The hotel has an on-site fitness room, which is small but has all you need.

LOCATION: If you want to be on Hong Kong island, the location cannot be beat. It's two blocks from the Causeway Bay subway stop, and you can always get a taxi nearby. If you like to walk, you can walk almost anywhere, from the Mid-Levels and Hollywood Road, to Pacific Place in Admiralty, to the Convention Center in Wan Chai. There are a lot of great dining and shopping options close by in Times Square, too.

VALUE: Overall, it's excellent value for Hong Kong, where hotels can be small and expensive. You'll get a clean, spacious, well-designed suite for a fraction of the price of basic rooms in the hotels on the Harbor, without any sacrifice in comfort or location. I highly recommend the Jia, and I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The suite is worth the (minimal) extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank samanthaonstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed 4 nights in a studio, at Chinese New year.

Excellent room, very comfortable, with quirky but practical design.

Great location 2 mins walk from the MTR station, and in an area with lots of local eateries as well as big malls with mid-level restaurants.

Only slight downside was crowding at breakfast -- which was a very good continental breakfast with fresh fruits and good pastries. Also, its a bit hard to find because its sign is so obscure -- we were still looking for it while standing in front of it!

Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekiben_rule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#20 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
#68 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Hotel
Gloucester Hotel
#70 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mira Moon Hotel
Mira Moon Hotel
#17 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J Plus Hotel by YOO? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Plus Hotel by YOO

Property: J Plus Hotel by YOO
Address: No.1-5 Irving Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China (Formerly J Plus Boutique Hotel)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#56 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#72 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,930 - ₹ 18,182
Hotel Class:4 star — J Plus Hotel by YOO 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
J Plus Hotel by YOO - Inspired by Starck. A boutique hotel located in the heart of Causeway Bay Hong Kong with 56 chic guests J Plus Hotel by YOO - Inspired By Starck On its 10th anniversary in 2014, the former JIA Boutique Hotel, Hong Kong was rebranded as J Plus Hotel by YOO following a dramatic, dynamic new HK$10 million makeover for the iconic fashionista address in Causeway Bay by proteges of original designer Philippe Starck at world renowned design house YOO Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your J Plus Hotel by YOO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jia Boutique Hong Kong
Hotel Jia Boutique
Jia Boutique Hotel
Jia Hotel Hong Kong
Boutique Hotel Hong Kong
J Plus Hotel By YOO Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing