We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our stay at Cosmopolitan Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Ranked #109 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Philippines
1 review
“Our stay at Cosmopolitan Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

The hotel was pretty good for the price. There's free strong wifi in the lobby and free shuttle gig to times square every 15-30mins so it's pretty easy to go shopping. Theres nothing much to go to below the hotel but thats where the shuttle helps.

Rooms were clean and bed was comfy. There's tv with English channels. Free bottled water in the room and the service of hotel lobby are quite good. They immediately help you when they see you carrying your luggage. Overall i would recommend this to my friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Sunrise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    887
    1,363
    555
    155
    66
See reviews for
849
704
239
477
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (726)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Price was good. Wanchai is a good area, imho.
Hotel is clean, but not the spotless. One morning we even found cockroach running through our clothes. But we survived it. One night we witnessed a fight between drunk tourist and local guy just in front of the hotel entrance. Unfortunately, hotel staff didn't want to stop it nor call the police. I had no desire to be involved as well, even though we reminded hotel "guards" from time to time that they should keep an eye on guests' safety.
Regular rooms have no view and windows are shadowed. The reason for that, as I understood, is that these rooms face the cemetary. But there is no reason for paying more for a view room. It really has no good view anyway.
There is a small market nearby, you can by all the fruits and sea creations.
Times Square MTR may be not closer but more convenient to get into than Wanchai MTR.
What I've learned from my three trips to Hong Kong is that you may actually stay anywhere but close to MTR. So pay less, stay further from the harbour, but in a bigger room with more comfort.
PS. I liked the chinese massage just steps from the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evgeny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
n order to provide the best accommodations to our guests, the cleaning schedule is frequently arranged at least two times per day by Housekeeping Department. I sincerely regret to learn the very unusual occasion that you had found the cockroach in the room, and we had taken serious inspection to all guest rooms with immediate paste control plan. Furthermore, the safety issue is also one of our highest concern, to that end, our 24 hours security guard and Guest Services Manager would always available if emergency issue is occurred. our security has also been complimented for being properly assisting many of incidents. Your comments is well valued and will be noted for our next security training programme.

Cosmopolitan Hotel offers total of 8 room types to meet guests’ various needs, from the cozy standard room with both fashionable frosted window and clear window view, Deluxe Course View with magnificent greenery view of Happy Valley matches the endless skyline to our Executive Suite measures spacious 48 square metres and 520 square feet. Each suite has a separate dining / living area, pantry with a microwave oven and a bathroom with separate bathtub and massage shower cubicle. notice you are traveling with family, I am also delighted to recommended one of our most popular Executive Family Quad Room which is capable to accommodate 4 guests at the same time. though face to the historical church yard, by locating on the interaction of Causeway Bay and Wan Chai, Cosmopolitan advantageously face to the most precious Happy Valley and beautiful South Hong Kong side. in the nutshell, guest could easy access Causeway Bay in 8 minutes and Wan Chai in 5 minutes with walking distance. to indulge our guests, a complimentary shuttle bus schedule is frequently scheduled to 15 most popular destinations including Causeway Bay, Wan Chai, Admiralty and Central.

I am looking forward to your soonest return, yet you will find an unforgettable experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a 7 night stay at the Cosmopolitan and once again were
very impressed by the the friendly manner of all the staff.We have had many visits to this well
located Hotel which offers many advantages to the guests including the complementary shuttle
Bus which takes guests to a number of locations including the Airport Express station.
The Hotel is also well located to Public Transport for Repulse Bay,Stanley Markets,The Peak
and the shopping precincts of the Central district and Causeway Bay and various markets.
The Hotel offers an excellent Buffet Breakfast.Check in and out was made very easy by the
professional front of house staff and the House Keeping Staff did a great job. JC&MDO

Room Tip: Request view of Happy Valley Race Course,Middle to upper Floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James871magrietha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We arrived around 10:30 pm and they did not have the non smoking room we had requested available, so we were given a large suite, with a great view of the Horse Racing facility accross the street. The suite was on the 3rd floor and ultra modern. It even had a kitchen, which we did not use. The bathroom was lovely, with ultra modern fixtures. We were told, by our cab driver, that this was once an office building, and has been converted to a hotel. The dining room was lovely and the food very good. We took a very complete city tour, however, up on the mountain, which was reached by a cable car, it was completely fogged in, and we could not see the harbour view . March weather is fairly cold there--only in the 60's each day we were there. This is a very good hotel for a lower price than most in Hong Kong. You'll enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janell_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We - parents and three children spent two days in the One Family Quad Room (with 2 queen beds) of this hotel in February 2012. It was very difficult looked for one big room for family in Honkong.. Cost of the One Family Quad Room is good (for HongKong) . Children are presented with a stuffed toy-bear (but, only one for three children) when registering at the hotel. The hotel and the Room was clean, good. The hotel is located far from the subway, but there are free shuttles . Taxi costs ~ 45 HongKong$ to the Oceanarium. Taxi costs ~ 320 Hong Kong$ to the Disneyland (we used hotel's free shuttle and subway).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sergey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed our executive Family Quad Room, to welcome our family travelers, we also offer various family room types including Ocean Park Theme suites and Toy Suites which are filled with lovely kids-friendly Ocean Park and toddler toys in suite. you are welcome to contact us for further information.

By locating on the interaction of Causeway Bay and Wan Chai, guest can easy access both locations with only 8 and 5 minute walking distance. the hotel also offers complimentary shuttle bus services contains 5 routes to 15 destinations including Causeway Bay, Wan Chai, Admiralty and Central. choose Cosmopolitan, you also choose to conveniently stay in 15 destinations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,414 reviews
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#134 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#29 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,514 reviews
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#65 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#93 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Property: Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Address: 387-397 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong)
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#78 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#89 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#102 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,345 - ₹ 14,729
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong has completed a top-to-bottom overhaul to all its 454 rooms and suites and the hotel lobby. The new lobby welcomes guest with an unexpectedly playful vibe which is apparent on the design elements aimed to captivate one's senses. Each of the newly refurbished room, on the other hand, adopts a meticulous theme including the East-meets-West Victorian and classic Oriental and sleek-contemporary designs to name a few. Refurbished rooms offer a majestic view of the race course adjacent to the hotel, while the redesigned bathrooms feature a refreshing rain shower experience. Every Friday, hotel guests are welcome to join the 'Dorsett Wine Hour' at the lobby during which free flow of wine and canapés are provided. For the kids, there is also a colourfully decorated Candy Bar filled with sweet treats. With a lively neighborhood to explore and a dynamic address amid Wan Chai and Causeway Bay, there is a subway station only an eight-minute stroll away. All hotel guests will be given a specially designed 'Eat & Shop Like A Local' booklet which covers a host of local-recommended eateries and shopping spots in the hotel's neighbourhood, offering guests an authentic Hong Kong experience. The hotel also offers scheduled shuttle services to 16 destinations including Causeway Bay, Wanchai, Central, Admiralty, Quarry Bay and Taikoo. Every guestroom features a portable smart phone for free use inside and outside of the hotel, offering unlimited 3G internet supported by Wi-Fi hotspot sharing function, free local and IDD calls to 9 select countries including Australia, Canada, China, Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, UK and US. Other facilities include a gymnasium, meeting rooms accommodating up to 200 delegates, a refurbished bar on the lobby level and Dining House serving Cantonese cuisine. Dorsett Wanchai is an environmentally friendly "green" hotel with a 100% smoke-free policy. It is also an Earthcheck Bronze Benchmarked Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing