We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Ranked #113 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We arrived around 10:30 pm and they did not have the non smoking room we had requested available, so we were given a large suite, with a great view of the Horse Racing facility accross the street. The suite was on the 3rd floor and ultra modern. It even had a kitchen, which we did not use. The bathroom was lovely, with ultra modern fixtures. We were told, by our cab driver, that this was once an office building, and has been converted to a hotel. The dining room was lovely and the food very good. We took a very complete city tour, however, up on the mountain, which was reached by a cable car, it was completely fogged in, and we could not see the harbour view . March weather is fairly cold there--only in the 60's each day we were there. This is a very good hotel for a lower price than most in Hong Kong. You'll enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janell_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    911
    1,387
    570
    157
    68
See reviews for
878
723
241
487
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (742)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We - parents and three children spent two days in the One Family Quad Room (with 2 queen beds) of this hotel in February 2012. It was very difficult looked for one big room for family in Honkong.. Cost of the One Family Quad Room is good (for HongKong) . Children are presented with a stuffed toy-bear (but, only one for three children) when registering at the hotel. The hotel and the Room was clean, good. The hotel is located far from the subway, but there are free shuttles . Taxi costs ~ 45 HongKong$ to the Oceanarium. Taxi costs ~ 320 Hong Kong$ to the Disneyland (we used hotel's free shuttle and subway).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sergey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed our executive Family Quad Room, to welcome our family travelers, we also offer various family room types including Ocean Park Theme suites and Toy Suites which are filled with lovely kids-friendly Ocean Park and toddler toys in suite. you are welcome to contact us for further information.

By locating on the interaction of Causeway Bay and Wan Chai, guest can easy access both locations with only 8 and 5 minute walking distance. the hotel also offers complimentary shuttle bus services contains 5 routes to 15 destinations including Causeway Bay, Wan Chai, Admiralty and Central. choose Cosmopolitan, you also choose to conveniently stay in 15 destinations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jvonslow44
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We arrived early evening and after a short wait we were attended to by reception staff. We had booked Superior Rooms (2) and were asked if we wanted to upgrade our rooms. As we did not expect to spend much time in the room we declined. We were given 2 rooms on the 10th floor, one at the side of the lift and a room which had been adapted for disabled guests and told this one was biggar than the usual superior rooms. There was not a great deal if difference in size of the 2 rooms, they were both quite small and both had frosted glass so no view of anything. The rooms are kept very clean, and housekeeping staff are friendly, the bell boys and shuttle bus staff are very helpful and should be commended for their service. The breakfasts were very good with a wide variety of food to choose from. The hotel is located a little way from the main attractions but the shuttle buses can take you to many of these. On the way back to the airport we took the shuttle bus to the airport express train station, from there you can check in your luggage which goes straight to the airport and you are free to enjoy the train journey luggage free, which we all thought is a very good service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvonslow44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you for your compliment to our staff, breakfast and shuttle bus services. with international travelers mind, Cosmopolitan Hotel offers 8 various room types to adapt guests’ needs. though our superior room is designed in standard size with both fashionable frosted window and clear window view, guest could also choose the signature Deluxe Course View Room which faces the magnificent greenery happy valley view with endless skyline, one of the most popular Executive Quad Room to accommodate 4 guests at the same time, or our Executive Suite Executive Suite measures spacious 48 square metres and 520 square feet. Each suite has a separate dining / living area, pantry with a microwave oven and a bathroom with separate bathtub and massage shower cubicle.

Our superior disable room is indeed in a larger size to allow guests who easy to access in the room, though we mostly receive positive comments from our guests, you are always welcome to contact our front desk and voice your preference.

I am looking forward to your visit again and to provide you a different experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San FRancisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this large but very well managed and appointed hotel. The rooms were small but very comfortable with perfect beds and pillow choices. Bathroom was good and staff was very helpful. A real plus was their free shuttle bus that regularly runs guests around Hong Kong Island locations. The only negative was mediocre food and service in the restaurant.
The staff was very helpful from bellboys to the concierge. We'll be back

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SF-TKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you for your comments, whilst I am delighted to learn your satisfaction with our staff and shuttle bus services, the hotel does offer total of 8 room types in various dimensions to meet guests’ needs. from the cozy standard room, Deluxe Course View with magnificent greenery view of Happy Valley matches the endless skyline, the Executive Family Quad Room which capable to accommodate 4 guests, to our Executive Suite measures spacious 48 square metres and 520 square feet. Each suite has a separate dining / living area, pantry with a microwave oven and a bathroom with separate bathtub and massage shower cubicle.

To our dining option, He Jiang restaurant is only newly opened and has been request by local and international media interview due to its distinct décor and local flavor of Sichuan and Huai-yang cuisines. Understand the flavor can be personal preference, we are welcoming all the opinions to us and allows provide the best dining experiences for you.

Look forward to your soonest return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Our room was great, clean and at a good price compared to other hotels in HK. And I have to say I've never seen bell boys so eager to help guests with their luggage, best service!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrskosasih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#77 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,536 reviews
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#141 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#24 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,720 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#88 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#80 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Property: Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Address: 387-397 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#78 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#94 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#102 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,329 - ₹ 10,726
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong has completed a top-to-bottom overhaul to all its 454 rooms and suites and the hotel lobby. The new lobby welcomes guest with an unexpectedly playful vibe which is apparent on the design elements aimed to captivate one's senses. Each of the newly refurbished room, on the other hand, adopts a meticulous theme including the East-meets-West Victorian and classic Oriental and sleek-contemporary designs to name a few. Refurbished rooms offer a majestic view of the race course adjacent to the hotel, while the redesigned bathrooms feature a refreshing rain shower experience. Every Friday, hotel guests are welcome to join the 'Dorsett Wine Hour' at the lobby during which free flow of wine and canapés are provided. For the kids, there is also a colourfully decorated Candy Bar filled with sweet treats. With a lively neighborhood to explore and a dynamic address amid Wan Chai and Causeway Bay, there is a subway station only an eight-minute stroll away. All hotel guests will be given a specially designed 'Eat & Shop Like A Local' booklet which covers a host of local-recommended eateries and shopping spots in the hotel's neighbourhood, offering guests an authentic Hong Kong experience. The hotel also offers scheduled shuttle services to 16 destinations including Causeway Bay, Wanchai, Central, Admiralty, Quarry Bay and Taikoo. Every guestroom features a portable smart phone for free use inside and outside of the hotel, offering unlimited 3G internet supported by Wi-Fi hotspot sharing function, free local and IDD calls to 9 select countries including Australia, Canada, China, Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, UK and US. Other facilities include a gymnasium, meeting rooms accommodating up to 200 delegates, a refurbished bar on the lobby level and Dining House serving Cantonese cuisine. Dorsett Wanchai is an environmentally friendly "green" hotel with a 100% smoke-free policy. It is also an Earthcheck Bronze Benchmarked Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing