We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel For Your Budget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anne Black Guest House (YWCA)
Ranked #307 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel For Your Budget”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Went there a few days ago. The nearest station is Yau Ma Tei. I'd say the walk from hotel to the station is around 15 minutes. The way to the entrance is an uphill but manageable. The landmark is the gasoline station in the corner of waterloo and another road.

The room is very clean and simple. They have very good room service. There's wifi at the lobby but there's none in the rooms. But anyway, it doesn't matter so much since I just went there to sleep after a long day of tour.

I stayed for 3 nights and they charged me 2,100 HKD plus 200 HKD deposit which they will return when you check out.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allegrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    187
    137
    30
    7
See reviews for
27
36
58
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

I went to Hong Kong with a mission to visit Victoria Peak, Disneyland, Ngong Ping and Ocean Park. I chose Anne Black as it was known to be close to MTR (Yau Ma Tei station). The price is reasonable for a stay in HONG KONG, and i was very fortunate to get a very clean room. Since i didnt stay in my room that much, it was fine with me. Their service is satisfactory too.. But i think i'll stay somewhere else in future..

Room Tip: Spend a little bit more to get a room with bathroom or else you'll need to share the toilet with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pearl_lynely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

I stayed at the Anne Black as a budget single traveller for one week. The hotel is located within a ten minute walk of Yau Ma Tei MTR. The single room had a bed, old style box TV with mainly chinese channels (i.e no ESPN sport !), aircon and small bathroom.

The staff were very pleasant and the restaurant (athough slightly pricier than the local canteen style restaurants on Waterloo Road) gave a decent meal at a relatively cheap price (I paid HK$450 a night for the room with no breakfast).

A good deal of younger travellers but little noise or commotion after 11pm.

If you are simply looking for a place to rest at the end of the day and otherwise explore HK this place is a very good location and excellent value.

Room Tip: Higher the better - also note the public library with free internet access is almost next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satun, Thailand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Centrally located in Mongkok, the rooms are very basic and bathrooms are communal. Air con settings can't be changed and does little to change the room temperature. Beds are typical Chinese stiff mattresses. To my surprise there was a TV but nothing worth watching. Wi-fi only works in the lobby. Three MTR stations are within walking distance, and if you need to get to/from the airport the hotel partners with Vigor Transportation to get you there for $110, not much more than the Airport Express. Even though it sucks it's the only place I can afford outside of Chunking Mansion, so I'll probably be back.

Room Tip: I think everyone would like a tip to get a good HK room for this price
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sens4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

CAPE YORK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

My wife and I stayed in this guest house for a week and found the location to be very convenient. Close to Mongkok markets and MTR all within 10 minutes walk.
There is nothing to sing about the airconditioned rooms, its less than a size of a 1 car garage. The bed and cleanliness is acceptable. We spent most of the time enjoying the sights and tastes of HongKong anyway and come back here only to sleep.
Its hard to complain about anything else because this is one of the cheapest accomodation I could find in Hongkers at the time.
I would stay again next time but I would also check out other smaller boutique hotels right in mongkok market area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SWIFTSHIFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hong Kong Hostel
Hong Kong Hostel
#375 of 716 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
#189 of 716 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Bishop Lei International House
#151 of 716 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#164 of 716 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Central
Garden View Hong Kong
Garden View Hong Kong
#153 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Bridal Tea House Hotel Yau Ma Tei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anne Black Guest House (YWCA)? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anne Black Guest House (YWCA)

Property: Anne Black Guest House (YWCA)
Address: No.5 Man Fuk Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #307 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,834 - ₹ 7,503
Hotel Class:2 star — Anne Black Guest House (YWCA) 2*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Anne Black Guest House (YWCA) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anne Black Guest House (Ywca) Hotel Hong Kong
Guest House Hongkong
Anne Black Hotel Ywca
Anne Black Guest House (YWCA) Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing