We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location, friendly staff but...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Salvation Army - Booth Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Salvation Army - Booth Lodge
Ranked #4 of 246 Hong Kong B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“good location, friendly staff but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

I travelled with brother, sister and friend aged 18-22 and stayed in a family room for 4 adults which was made up of one double, one single and another makeshift single bed. The beds were quite hard, in fact I got bruises?! The bathroom is large enough but the water pressure and temp is poor. The breakfast is below average, tasteless scrambled egg and noodles. But for the price I cannot complain if you book this hotel just to sleep in and to spend the days and nights out exploring everything Hong Kong has to offer then it's not too bad, the rooms were quiet. Would recommend for those wanting to stay within Kowloon near the Temple Street Markets, situated near Yau Ma Tei MTR. Would like to give a shout out to the conceirge Peter made our stay at Booth Lodge a memorable one! But I have decided to stay elsewhere when I revisit Hong Kong in December in search of a thicker mattress.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbuginperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    42
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
20
20
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2009

I traveled to Hong Kong for the very first time! Most of my extended family lives in Hong Kong which helps.
My Dad, sister and I, arrived Nov 26, 2009 to Hong Kong international Airport. Family picked us up from the airport. Although traveling from the Airport to downtown HongKong is fairly easy.
We decided to stay at the Salvation Army Booth Lodge just off Nathan Road across from the YauMaTei MTR (subway) station. For the latter part of the trip Dad stayed with his best friend. The hotel location could not be better! We were so close to shopping of all sorts. Markets, department stores, resaurants etc.
http://boothlodge.salvation.org.hk/ENG/index.htm (some locals seem to think this is a hostel) It is most definitely a hotel w/ amenities and services.
My aunt used to work for them, so we got an excellent deal!
The room was quite clean. Much larger than what I had anticipated. There's a TV, mini fridge, laundry service. Closet. Plenty of floor space for the luggage. The Bathroom is larger than most hostels with a separate shower stall and tub.
Now being close to the end of the year....the nights get a bit chilly like 13celsius. There are air conditioners but not all have heat. The hotel does provide extra blankets. They can also provide portable heaters upon request.
The Building does not only house a hotel but a daycare/church/school as well. the Hotel reception desk and restaurant is on the 7th floor.
Each room has a large thermos of hot water, great for instant coffee or for tea. You have to turn on the water heater to get a partially warm shower. You will never get the temperature of hot water in Hong Kong to match the hot water in Toronto....so don't be surprised.
Ultimately I used bottled water for all my mouth rinsing purposes.

Transportation is, without question, the best by far! the MTR is the subway transit system in Hong Kong. Its fantasically easy to use and super inexpensive. Firstly, you need to purchase the MTR pass aka Octopus Pass. There is a Senior Pass for those 65 or over. (Details are on the MTR website) Then you put money on the Octopus Pass like a debit card. When you enter the MTR, you must place your card over the sensor ( at the turnstiles)to note your entry into the station. When exiting your destination station, you place the pass over the sensor again to note you are exiting. The system calculates the distance of travel and deducts it off your Pass automaticaly. Brilliant!

If you are looking for shopping districts....they are not far.
for the cheapest Markets you're looking for Temple Street/Fa yuen street. These are the temporary stalls set up everyday. You'll find tons of souvenirs and cheaps eats too. This area is is a ten min walk North or a one station stop to Mong Kok station.
Department stores you go south about ten minutes and you'll find the Wing On Department store and the Yu Wah Chinese department store.
For finer shopping you can go to the Tsim sha Tsui Area and find great labels. The big brand shopping is not much different than in Toronto...so its not all that great savings however you do save on the taxes.
I did find out where the outlets are though. They're mostly situated at the Tung Chung Station where we got off to go see the Big Buddha on Lantau Island (close the the airport and one stop after the Disneyland connection.

Eating is generally cheap. My cousins each had different opinions of what good eating is.
Near the cheap markets (temple street) are the street vendors. Far from the Hotdogs of Toronto, The street vendors here certainly know how to cook....but be warned, if you think your stomache can handle it all....then by all means. Don't be experimenting if you're not sure. I was open to the suggestion but, having spent so many years in Toronto....my digestion system no longer has the adaptability to perform in other countries....so I stuck with the restaurants with tables located inside the facility versus the tables and benches located on the street. Weekend nights and holidays, expect delays....weeknights definitely an improvement.
You won't find fresh lettuce salads here. Everything in HongKong is cooked. The only place I remember eating fresh lettuce was at the Jockey Club where an amazing Uncle took us for dinner. We were lucky.
Overall, the food did not bother me. We played it safe and enjoyed the restaurants the family recommended.

Five days of the 2 and half weeks trip, the three of us went to Beijing. Through a Hong Kong based travel agency. More on the Beijing trip to come.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beginnerToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piscataway, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2009

Enjoyed the stay. Foods are great. Nice employees. Very accomodating. Rooms are clean. Services are great.

Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank cian_alc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

Great location, safe place and clean rooms. For the price you will be paying and all the perks, definitely worth to stay here. Rooms come with buffet breakfast and the location is situated down Mongkok (not so messy) and there is a direct bus A21 from the airport.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joantym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2008

Only stayed here for one night as it was for the end of a tour then we transferred to another property. First thing to note is that reception is on the 7th floor. Our room was spacious with a bath, double bed :( and a fridge. Was clean and comfortable with everything close by. The rate also included brekki which was a nice bonus.

For the price of staying extra nights however we were able to get better accom is Tsim tsa Tsui with a harbour view (see my other review!). Would stay there again though if wanted this area as it was perfect for all the night markets etc.

  • Liked — Location, room size, brekki included
  • Disliked — Reception on 7th floor, noisy aircon in room
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#94 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,410 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Silka Seaview Hotel
Silka Seaview Hotel
#180 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
#194 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
#125 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Shamrock Hotel
Shamrock Hotel
#89 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salvation Army - Booth Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salvation Army - Booth Lodge

Property: The Salvation Army - Booth Lodge
Address: No.11 Wing Sing Lane, Yau Ma Tei, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,641 - ₹ 10,196
Hotel Class:3 star — The Salvation Army - Booth Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ostrovok and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Salvation Army - Booth Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Booth Hotel Hong Kong
The Salvation Army - Booth Lodge Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing