We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's okay. Location not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Ranked #116 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Calgary
Level Contributor
147 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“It's okay. Location not the best”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Check in was fine. Their english wasn't the best but it was enough. The check in lobby is on the second floor so dragging luggage up there and then to the room is a little annoying. They have a lot of bellhops that almost seem overly eager to help though. The elevators are a little slow but they do go from ground up to the rooms. Mind your step sometimes they don't stop quite level with the floor.

The rooms are comfortable, but rather old. Like 1992 old. Carpet was surprisingly clean, but I still used the complimentary slippers. Air conditioning a little under powered but it's enough. They had complimentary water which is nice. The minibar fridge is big enough to cram in other stuff around their mini bar "amenities"

Bathrooms are clean enough, but also very dated. There's a grille at the bottom of the bathroom door with 1 inch slats so it felt like I was doing my business in the room... Toilet was hard to flush in my room, figured out that if you pump the handle 3 times it works well.

Location was not the greatest. About 1.5 km walk to MTR Mong Kok station. Normally not a big deal but when it's 34°C and 100% humidity its annoying (walk takes about 20 minutes). The proximity to the Mong Kok markets is great. You can shop, then go back and drop stuff off. There are a few busses out front, but unless they go exactly where your destination is, don't bother. The concierge is really good at helping you figure this stuff out.

There are a few Metropark hotels in Hong Kong. If you're asking for directions or using a taxi ask for the Metropark hotel on Waterloo Road.

There is no Wifi in the rooms (wow.....). There is wired internet for free. Wifi is available in the lobby for free (the signal is pretty weak though)

Check out is fine. Luggage storage is complimentary.

Room Tip: Ask for something facing the back. Much quieter than facing the road in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grounded500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    879
    351
    60
    31
See reviews for
403
588
141
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Good place. Nice rooms. Downside is that the hotel is a long walk away from the MTR, so if you stay here, I suggest learning the bus routes.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nightshade7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I would recommend this hotel without hesitation. It's situated in Kowloon, not far from the ladies market, many malls & eateries. The hotel offers a brilliant (free!) shuttle bus all day that sets off every half hour and stops near Mongkok MTR/Ladies market & Tsim Tsa Tsui. We used this pretty much every night.

The entrance lounge to the hotel is wonderful, very comfy and has a bakery, two restaurants & a hotel bar also. The staff all seemed friendly; particularly one staff member 'Mirror' who went above & beyond any expectations we had. She gave us five star treatment, without a doubt. There's also a 7/11 a minute or so away from the hotel which was good for buying things like milk, biscuits, water etc and an ATM just a few doors away.

I had a bad reaction to Mosquito bites when I was out there and as a precaution, they changed our room and even upgraded us. It was more than kind and they even made sure I was seen by a GP within half an hour so I could get medication. I was very thankful of their gestures. This meant we experienced both the standard room and the club class room. To be honest, the standard room is probably below the luxury level of UK hotels (a bit outdated, odd vent on the door of the bathroom that you could hear through..), however it's very clean & certainly wouldn't be enough to put me off staying there again. We were happy with the standard of comfort, particularly with the price we got this hotel for. As for the club class, it's bigger & has a nicer finish to it. You also got a bowl of fruit in your room and some nights we were given a chocolate on the pillow. Cute gesture! Both rooms were very quiet.

While we didn't try out the rooftop pool, I did take a wander up to it and thought it looked clean & nice to bathe in. We had the breakfast one morning & it had a good selection; something to suit pretty much every taste. The hotel bar was comfortable & good for wifi access and a drink after a day of exploring the amazing city that is Hong Kong.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank designlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at 6th floor family room. the room has one queen size double bed and a single bed. the room is tidy and spacious but the air cond have to take time to cooling the room.
There is free wifi in room while we stayed in July 2012 but the speed quite slow sometimes..Their front-desk staff quite friendly and polite, give us valuable information and quick check-in and check-out process. the housekeeping was done everyday and replenish complimentary mineral waters everyday.
They provided free shuttle bus to Mong kok MTR and TST MTR and come back to hotel only available at TST MTR runs every half an hour. the bus very puncture but too small...You also can choose to walk to MongKok MTR about 10 mins from hotel.
Surrounding here only have some local eateries, one western restaurant, mini-mart and 7-11.Not a crowded place compare to Ladies market or temple street.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe_joey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Small and uncomfortable rooms and beds. Unfriendly and unhelpful staff. Crappy lounge.
You have to book 24 hours in advance for the airport shuttle - which is impossible when you arrinve in the evening and plan to leave the next morning. But that's too bad for you - get a cab and leave us alone. They already have your money so they don't care.

Room Tip: Rooms in another hotel would be best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#24 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,165 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#89 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,242 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Lodgewood by L'hotel Mongkok Hong Kong
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#123 of 718 in Hong Kong
797 reviews
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#108 of 718 in Hong Kong
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropark Hotel Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropark Hotel Kowloon

Property: Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Address: No. 75 Waterloo Road, MongKok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#85 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#86 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#88 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#98 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,716 - ₹ 10,788
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropark Hotel Kowloon 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of Kowloon near commercial and shopping areas, the hotel provides easy access to the main transportation network including subway and railway. Facilities include Chinese & Western restaurants, a bar, a rooftop swimming pool and health club. Airport shuttle and free hotel shuttle bus services are provided. Free broadband Internet access with unlimited usage in all guest rooms and wireless broadband access in hotel lobby and all restaurant outlets are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropark Hotel Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Hong Kong
Metropark Hotel Kowloon Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing