We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service team and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Ranked #185 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We took 2 rooms at CharterHouse for 4 nights in Feb 2012. We were initally concerned about the single room (called "budget room" by the Hotel) and were delighted with the small but well appointed room reserved for my Mother.
The service team, from the front desk, to housekeeping, restuarant & bar and especially the concierge, was friendly, helpful and informative. Recommendations for cafes & restuarants, direction on the easiest way to get to the Lowu shopping centre, were provided promptly. The staff even told us when the weather turned cold one morning, so that we were adaquately dressed for going out.
The hotel is 10 mins away from Time Square, if we walked slowly. We especially enjoyed passing through the colourful local wet market each day on our way out and back.
The breakfast included as part of our room price was adequate. There was small variation on the food choices each day.
I had free wireless access, although I had problem accessing it from my room.
Basic toiletories (shampoo, shower gel, soap, nail file, cotton buds, tooth brush and tooth paste) were provided. We were given disposal shaver when we asked our friendly chambermaid.
The rooms were amazingly quiet, even though the hotel was located at a pretty busy location.
Overall, I think this hotel offers good value for money.
I would not hesitate recommeding the hotel to my family and friends, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leong48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymondsiu, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Dear Madam,



Thank you for sharing your comment on Tripadvisor.



We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found accommodation service satisfactory and staff attitude pleasant, caring and helpful. Recently, we have launched a company-wide training theme namely “Going Beyond Borders on Service” with an aim to motivate our service team and drive to deliver a higher quality of service to our guests.



Great that you like the location convenience which is a few minutes’ walk from Time Square and enjoy that little walk passing through the wet market.



Thank you for recommending the hotel to your friends and associates. We look forward to warmly welcoming you again in the near future.



Yours sincerely



The Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

392 - 396 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

Location of this hotel is between the Causeway bay and Wan Chai. By foot, it is about 10 minutes away to the nearest Causeway Bay MRT station and the Times Square. It is quite convenient for shopping in Causeway Bay. For business trip, it is only 5 minutes driving distance from the hotel to the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. The accessibility of public transport to other parts of Hong Kong also very convenient. For example, just right in front the hotel, there is a bus stop for bus ride to Central Jetty, Sheung Wan, etc. If not, you may also can take the Tram to access to various spots, in which the station just 3 mins from the hotel. They have quite a number of Sushi restaurants nearby.

For the room, yeah, it is quite spacious as compared to one i went last year. Room is quite clean, although old. Remember to request for business floor between 15-20 and non-smoking room. The only downside of the hotel is they do not provide complimentary drinking water. Other than that, this is quite a nice 3-star hotel in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wennitiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymondsiu, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear guest,



Thank you very much for your comment posted on Tripadvisor.



We are pleased to learn that you are very happy with the location convenience of the hotel. It is great that you have tried many public transportation to different places of Hong Kong. The tram ride is indeed a good one when you can see the bustle and hustle of the city on one of the oldest transportation means in Hong Kong. You might consider trying Star Ferry from Wanchai to Tsimshatsui next time. It is also a very nice experience.



We look forward to warmly welcoming you again soon.



Yours sincerely,



The Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I booked my room via Asiarooms and when the taxi pulled up outside the Charterhouse I thought I was the victim of a bait and switch. I stayed at the Charterhouse before with a friend on a tight budget and our room was cramped with very dated fittings and uncomfortable beds. I had no desire to stay there again if I could possibly help it. The Signature floor really is a hotel within a hotel. Everything about it is better, from the funky modern decor to the thought that has gone into the amenities in the room. I was particularly pleased to have an iPod jack that was hooked up to the TV and a shower that offered rain, body spray and hand held shower heads.
The bed deserves a special mention - a Sealy mattress with high thread count sheets and pillow cases. They even offer different pillow options!
For full disclosure you should understand that my room had no natural daylight, but the views in the Wanchai/Causeway Bay area are not exactly panoramic and the hum of the air conditioning was enough to block out the very limited external noise even though the Signature floor is only two floors above ground level.
The room was not huge but somehow the addition of a few vital feet of space left me without the shoebox feel of my previous experience of another floor in this hotel.
The sports bar in the basement can be a fun place to watch Premiership or Six Nations matches but I found the prices a little steep.
If I had to find a minor irritation it would be that the free wifi keeps on dropping out and requiring you to search for it again.

Room Tip: The Signature floor offers a completely different experience from the other unrenovated floors in th...
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank Amac27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymondsiu, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Dear guest



Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor.



We are pleased to learn about your compliment on our S Signature Floor. It is an ideal choice for guests who want more space and enhanced experience. This special guest floor was designed to inspire and intrigue each of the five senses namely Sight Sleek Sound Savor Scent. Furniture and fittings of hotel rooms are a perfect blend of contemporary style and natural elements which creates a unique and relaxing ambience for the hotel guests. S Signature Floor's interior design, distinctive features namely the Rain-shower, Zzzz bed, S Break Zone, S Sound, Smart Office and its Personalized Services creates an atmosphere that our hotel guests can retreat from the stress and strain of modern living, soothing their senses and relaxing their body.



For the rest of the guest rooms, refurbishment and upgrading projects have continued. By April this year, the hotel will complete the installation of new LG 32 iDTV with the latest technology and enhanced viewing. By June this year, all rooms will have brand new mattress by Slumberland which provides luxurious cushioning and sleeping comfort with additional strength in weight support. We are aiming to deliver fine quality and value-for-money service to our guests.



You are right that the hotel sports bar is a perfect venue for watching sports events. We just had a big football match when the bar was packed with fans from Liverpool fans club in Hong Kong.



We thank you again on your comment which is valuable for us to make improvements.



Yours sincerely



The Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I stayed here for business and as i was travelling alone i booked a single room which turned out to be the size of an average boat cabin bedroom. The room was small, old , smelt of smoke and the windows were nailed down. The service was ok but not great as was the food. Location was good but NOT within walking distance of the convention centre as advertised.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LolsT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymondsiu, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Dear guest,



Thank you for your comment posted on Tripadvisor.



I believe the room that you reserve is an Economy Single room with a size of 12 square meters. It is a small room which explains why it is named economy single room, with a single bed of 3 x 6.0 feet. The hotel has two other room categories namely Superior and S Studio with an average size of 16 and 27 square meters respectively, which you might consider for your next visit.



50% of the hotel rooms are non-smoking rooms. We can always pre-assign non-smoking rooms should our guest advise us with advanced notice.



We are happy to learn about your satisfaction on our F&B service. We will share your compliment with the team which is a big motivation for them.



The hotel provides shuttle service to the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. Some of our guests including myself will go the centre on foot which takes around 13 to 15 minutes. Perhaps you might consider taking a cab which will take 5 minutes only at around HK$20 (US2.5) to reach there.



Thank you again for your comment. Please let us know of your next visit so that we can do a better job for your next visit.



Yours sincerely,



The Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

From other reviews here on tripadvisor I knew my room was going to be small, but I had no idea exactly how small it was going to be. It was tiny. I had a single bed and on the first night I actually fell out of the bed. Besides being small the other thing that bothered me was that the shower curtain was too small that the entire bathroom floor would get wet. But the biggest issue I had with the place was that it was cold. In Feb temperatures in Hong Kong can drop to the low 50s at night. With one wall in a small room being glass that was quite drafty the room was freezing. I had the heat on at high but it did little to warm up the place. Other minor annoyances, you needed a cable for Internet access, so if you had something like the Mac book air you were out of luck. The concierge was not very helpful. Asked him for directions to several places and all he would do was hand you a map and say taxi, taxi. People on the street were far more helpful in letting me know how to get around.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymondsiu, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear guest,



Thank you for your comment posted on Tripadvisor.



First of all, we are sorry to learn about your disappointment.



The room that you stayed is an economy single room with size of 12 square meters. It is a small room which explains why it is named economy single room, with a single bed of 3 x 6.0 feet. Despite of its compact room size, it is one of the best-selling room categories in the hotel due to its rate offer. The hotel does offer other room categories namely Superior and S Studio with an average size of 16 and 27 square meters respectively. We do provide WIFI internet access for our Business rooms on 15 to 20/F, and our S Signature floor, and considering upgrade for the rest of the floors.



The first 10 days of February is considerably cold. The hotel has offered heater and extra blanket for our guests upon their requests.



We have been receiving a lot of positive comments on our concierge service. I believe that they have failed to provide friendly service during the peak service time. But we give no excuse to ourselves and will brief the concierge team about this and ensure prompt and friendly service is provided at all times.



We appreciate your comments and will make every effort to improve.



Yours sincerely,



The Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
South Pacific Hotel
South Pacific Hotel
#181 of 725 in Hong Kong
587 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#114 of 725 in Hong Kong
3,226 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#74 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Wifi Hotel
Wifi Hotel
#212 of 725 in Hong Kong
208 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
#463 of 725 in Hong Kong
421 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel

Address: No.209-219 Wanchai Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: ₹ 5,325 - ₹ 17,600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong is an elegant hotel, conveniently located at the edge of Causeway Bay in Hong Kong Island. The Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre and Causeway Bay MTR subway stations are within easy walking distance of the hotel. The majority of tourist attractions and business areas are easily accessible within 10 minutes drive. Considering the needs of our business visitors, our hotel shuttle will take you to Hong Kong Convention and exhibition Centre during trade fair and event periods in just a few minutes. For our visitors exploring different beauties of Hong Kong, splendid shopping malls like Times Square, Hysan Place and easy transportation system like Causeway Bay subway station are a few steps from our hotel which will never disappoint you. The Gazebo Restaurant, Champs Bar, Harry's Bar and Lounge and Fitness Room 23 hours a day provides you the relaxing places to enjoy your life and escape from the hustle and speed of the city of the day. Free Wifi is available at all guestrooms and public areas are even make your stay more pleasurable. In order to provide a healthy and smoke-free environment for global travelers, The Charterhouse Causeway Bay has been completely a smoke-free hotel to ensure our guests a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Hong Kong
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing