We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Ranked #42 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Epping, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very good value and location”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Right next door to the poshest (and hugely expensive) Peninsula Hotel the YMCA is excellent value. We stayed here for 2 weeks in August 2012 and paid about £114 for a double room. The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. The air-conditioning worked well. The staff were very pleasant and helpful (eg when I wanted to buy some concert tickets they rang the ticket agents, established that they didn't have any spare, found out which store might have some, and gave me directions on how to get there). Location is perfect - very close to MTR and ferries, and to loads of shops and restaurants. As for the view - see attached photo! And there are rooms with even better views, for slightly more.

We didn't eat in the restaurant but we did eat in the Mall Cafe. Food is so-so. The western food is better than the Asian so probably a good bet if you're missing toasted sandwiches. Two swimming pools, which looked nice though we didn't get round to using them.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,412
    1,156
    180
    25
    20
See reviews for
736
901
297
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana, USA
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

A collegue and I both stayed in single rooms in summer 2012 as we explored The Salisbury and Hong Kong for a college student study abroad trip. In the nutshell, we'll definitely be bringing our college students to The Salisbury. It's in an excellent location to the Star Ferry and metro, as well as within easy walking distance to Nathan Road and plenty of meal options.

Price for what you get is one of the best I've seen in a big city. Room was quiet, A/C worked well, safe was included, and high speed internet (for a separate small charge) worked well. If you are on a budget but looking for a great place to stay in HK, go for this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lnze04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The Salisbury was home for my son and I during our ten day visit to hong kong. The twin room with harbour view is fresh, clean, and a great size by hong kong standards. Our rate was the cheapest for any four star hotel, and included breakfast, which was worth doing as nothing much is open in hong kong until 10am.

The location is amazing - 2min walk to star ferry, 3min to mtr station, 5min walk to enormous harbour city shopping centre, directly across the road from peninsula hotel, art gallery and avenue of the stars. Cabs are super cheap so it was only a hop, skip and jump to anywhere else we wanted to go.

Concierge was very helpful, and would come out and tell our taxi driver where we wanted to go.

We would highly recommend this hotel as your best value for money on a normal family budget.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I stayed here with my family (total 4 persons) in the beginning of August 2012 for three nights of which one was in the harbour view executive suite.

This hotel met all my expectations and I fully endorse all the positive comments by other reviewers on trip advisor about this hotel.

Tip 1: Take star ferry to go to HK island as there is excellent bus connectivity to attractions on main HK island on the opposite. Plus its economical, efficient and worth an experience.

Tip 2: Buy Octpous card and fill it with money (1 card per person). You can use this card to pay for all your train (and bus?) journeys and 7/11 shopping. You get the refund of unused balance at the airport for a nominal charge. The card is highly convenient and cheaper vis-a-vis buying individual journey tickets.

Tip 3: For exchange rates, sim cards and indian snacks visit the Chun King mansion (5 mins walk from the hotel).

Tip 4: Visit the Mask of Sichuan and Beijing restaurant for excellent fine dining Chinese food. (5 mins walk from the hotel)

Room Tip: Choose a harbor view room for fantastic views in daytime and also for the free sound and light show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank H B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

i was recommended YMCA by a friend, i was a bit suspcious at the start but this hotel is GREAT. the location is perfect and the price per night is amzing. the rooms were basic but very clean. The staff were lovely, at the time you were not able to book breakfast at the hotel which wasnt great but i herd that now you can. its best to book this hotel early as many people have caught on to its great deals. would recommded to all as hong kong is very very expensive - this hotel was only $70 a night for a queen room

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#90 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,670 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#50 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,856 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#27 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong

Property: The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Address: No.41 Salisbury Road, Tsimshatsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,521 - ₹ 17,396
Hotel Class:4 star — The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salisbury has just completed a major room renovation. All 372 rooms and suites have been newly renovated featuring a modern and functional design. Complimentary free broadband WIFI access is available in all rooms. The hotel is a smoke free property and all rooms are non-smoking. Facilities include the Salisbury Dining Room, Mall Cafe, Banquet Rooms, Podium Garden, Fitness Centre with well-equipped Gymnasium, Indoor Swimming Pools, Jacuzzi, Y Shop, Hair Salon, Climbing Walls, Squash Courts and Basket Ball Court. "A Symphony of Lights" was awarded the world's "Largest Permanent Light and Sound Show" by Guinness World Records. This nightly spectacle combines interactive lights of more than 47 buildings on both Hong Kong Island and Kowloon with musical effects to showcase the vibrancy and glamorous night vista of Victoria Harbour. Our hotel guests could enjoy the spectacular show from our Harbour View Rooms and Harbour View Suites nightly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salisbury-Ymca Of Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Ymca
Ymca Salisbury Hong Kong
Salisbury Hong Kong
Salisbury Ymca Hong Kong
Salisbury Ymca Hotel
Ymca Hong Kong
Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing