We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and cheerful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Ranked #40 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed in a Harbour View Suite which was spacious. It had a separate lounge area and walk-in-robe. We were on the 15th floor where the harbour view was magnificent. We were able to have the Salisbury's best style room with a view at a cheaper rate than many other Hotels in the area and be able to sleep three. Our teenage daughter slept on the sofa bed in the lounge area. She said it was typical of sofa beds, "uncomfortable". The room was clean with fresh fruit supplied and our bed was a king size. When we arrived we were given maps which were invaluable for our 6 night stay. Location, location, location! The convenient location of the Salisbury is a huge plus. We were so close to a MTR station, shopping, Nathan Road and the Star Ferry. I consider this hotel to be reasonably priced, it's not a 5 star but value for money, location, cleanliness and convenience for somewhere to sleep and shower, it was perfect for us and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a Harbour View Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,362
    1,112
    172
    24
    20
See reviews for
708
867
287
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Booked on very short notice and thankfully got a room. Was very happy and comfortable and a fantastic location. The people at reception were very helpful and was great to have baggage storage available.
I will stay here again.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
64 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This hotel has the best location for independant sightseers.  Delivers outstanding service,  the room was spotless without the usual wear and tear and a little larger than our previous hotels stays in Kowloon. We had both breakfast and buffet dinner on 4th floor, of good quality and large variety. The restaurant has harbour views and it is worth booking a table to watch the symphony of lights. The entrance to MTR is located next to hotel exit back of hotel. We used the underground constantly and travelled to Shenzhen with luggage by train. The ferry is only a few minutes walk too. We really liked this place and will definately be staying here again. 

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willkeeptravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
167 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed here for the second time. The hotel is situated across the road from the cultural centre, planetarium and Star Ferry. The rooms are modern clean and well maintained. We had a room with of Hong Kong Island where one can see the laser light display at 8:00 PM every night. There are many restaurants and shopping malls within a few blocks away. The hotel has several restaurants of different styles but the food is probably better at other nearby restaurants. It is about one hour via the Air Train from the airport or you can get the coach, use a taxi or have a private car. There is an excellent fitness centre and several swimming pools. One is for doing laps and the other is for relaxation. They are indoors. The metro (subway) is not far.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Hong Kong Island
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank not_johntan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We had a harbour view room (definitely worth the extra money), which includes the buffet breakfast. The hotel's lobby is very welcoming and the staff were fantastic. The rooms however are tired - needing a bit of a paint and new carpets. Apart from those few comments though, everything else about the hotel was fantastic. Could not fault them on anything. The view is spectacular, the buffet breakfast was ample (great view here as well), the restaurant in the hotel offers both western and asian food at reasonable prices, and the staff were extremely helpful with all our questions. You are close to the ferries and the subway is right at your door. The hotel is also right beside the famous Peninsula Hotel. Although the rooms need a paint and new carpet, they are very clean so no issue there. The welcoming fruit bowl was also nice, and the morning newspaper, and the mini bar prices are really cheap compared to other western hotels in Hong Kong. A coke was around AU$2 a can. There is a 7-eleven just around the corner where you can buy a six pack of beer for around AU$6, and a mini bottle of wine for AU$2.50, and there is ample space in the fridge to store your items, not like some other hotels which are weighted, or don't have space for other items. Also, other services at the hotel are cheap - for example laundering of clothes was cheap (from memory around AU$4 for a pair of jeans) - we had just come from Stockholm where the price was AU$25 - AU$4 is still very cheap for other western hotels in Hong Kong. The room clean was always done in the morning, and we never had to ring down to get someone to come up and clean the room - unlike other more expensive hotels we have stayed at. I would definitely recommend this hotel to families, or to anyone that won't be spending a lot of time in their hotel room but will be out and about shopping and/or sightseeing. The harbour view room is definitely worth the money, so if you can afford it pay the extra money and secure one of these rooms.

Room Tip: Book a harbour view room; also check to see if your rate includes the buffet breakfast. I also sent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Families
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#80 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,513 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#12 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,356 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
#71 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,559 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
#32 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong

Property: The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Address: No.41 Salisbury Road, Tsimshatsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,164 - ₹ 20,291
Hotel Class:4 star — The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salisbury has just completed a major room renovation. All 372 rooms and suites have been newly renovated featuring a modern and functional design. Complimentary free broadband WIFI access is available in all rooms. The hotel is a smoke free property and all rooms are non-smoking. Facilities include the Salisbury Dining Room, Mall Cafe, Banquet Rooms, Podium Garden, Fitness Centre with well-equipped Gymnasium, Indoor Swimming Pools, Jacuzzi, Y Shop, Hair Salon, Climbing Walls, Squash Courts and Basket Ball Court. "A Symphony of Lights" was awarded the world's "Largest Permanent Light and Sound Show" by Guinness World Records. This nightly spectacle combines interactive lights of more than 47 buildings on both Hong Kong Island and Kowloon with musical effects to showcase the vibrancy and glamorous night vista of Victoria Harbour. Our hotel guests could enjoy the spectacular show from our Harbour View Rooms and Harbour View Suites nightly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salisbury-Ymca Of Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Ymca
Ymca Salisbury Hong Kong
Salisbury Hong Kong
Salisbury Ymca Hong Kong
Salisbury Ymca Hotel
Ymca Hong Kong
Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing