We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff. Looking forward to staying again soon!”
Review of Royal Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Park Hotel
Ranked #51 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Oxfordshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff. Looking forward to staying again soon!”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my husband and 3 year old in November 2011. We travelled from the airport via limousine (private hire taxi) arranged by the hotel. This was a stress free way to arrive. There is also a public bus (A41) which runs every 20 minutes to the hotel. This is easy and convenient but may be more hassle if you have lots of luggage.

We booked an Executive room which had buffet breakfast included. This was very good value. Our package also included a one way airport transfer, free wifi, bottled water & mini bar plus daily newspaper. We had our breakfast in the 2+2 Cafe every morning and also had the buffet dinner twice. There is a discount for hotel guests. The food quality and choice was very good. We had excellent service from the staff in the 2+2 Cafe. Candy, Veronica and Kevin deserve a special mention. They were very attentive towards our 3 year old and gave him balloon animals. We will miss them!

The hotel location is great as it is located on top of Shatin New Town Plaza. There are lots of shops, restaurants, 3 supermarkets (Yata, Citysuper and Park n Shop) and it is connected to the train station. The level 3 entrance to the hotel is adjacent to a food court. We found this really useful and often brought food back to our room to escape the crowds. The shopping plaza is particularly busy on Sundays especially as it is so close to the mainland border.

The hotel is only 10 minutes by train from Mong Kok and Nathan Road. We thought this location was ideal as it was easy to get around by MTR. The hotel is also adjacent to a big park.

We are looking forward to our next stay at the Royal Park!

Room Tip: Avoid room 1501 if you are a light sleeper. You can hear people walking on the hard floor in the Exe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sugarpuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    528
    91
    11
    7
See reviews for
406
252
76
233
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed here in December. We had a problem with maintance work the first night keeping us awake after a very long flight we were not happy ! We complained and we were moved to a room on the 12th floor which was great . Apart from the hiccup at the beginning we were very happy staying here. True it is a few tube stops from the places to go but it is good to come back to a hotel away from the madness that can be Hong Kong ! Very clean and a nice atmosphere .

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gizzmox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cymru
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights in late November.

Firstly, should probably point out that the location wasn't an issue or consideration for us as we were staying here for a friend's wedding in the Shatin area and did not therefore use the hotel as a base for any sightseeing (for our subsequent sightseeing of the city we moved for a further 3 nights to the Salisbury YMCA in Kowloon).

We found the Royal Park in general to be a good hotel with spacious modern bedroom (very comfortable and large bed) and as others have noted is attached to a huge shopping mall.

We had a package which included breakfast which we thought was excellent with a great variety of food on offer. The service at breakfast could be a little hit and miss though, for instance one morning having asked 3 times for a cup of tea we finally gave up. Indeed the service in general was not the greatest aspect of the hotel in our opinion.

We also ate one night in the outside hotel bar but were somewhat disappointed with both the quality and value of the food. It was a pleasant area for an evening drink though.

I used both the gym an pool one afternoon. The gym, whilst small, was ok but the pool whilst a good size is perhaps not as inviting as the website pictures suggest and most of which is inside.

Overall, not a bad choice and served its purpose in a comfortable modern environment at a reasonable cost

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlWilbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Wouldn't usually stay anywhere this expensive as i travel alot and usually on a budget. As hong kong is pretty much more expensive than anywhere else felt this was a good compromise. i think the location is actually very good. the metro is in the mall opposite. buses from the airport stop right outside and if you drive into hong kong central at night the view creeping up on you is spectacular. first impressions are great as the front desk staff are great. the rooms are spacious and very comfortable, i dont think they are dated especially not for the price. internet is a bit expensive but not ludicrous. but all big hotels are doing that now.
gym is very good, steam room is excellent , one for men and women each. pool area for a big city is very nice but more of an exercise than play as cold. breakfast decent, coffee could improve. bar near lobby is decent and wifi is free there although i ordered a snack and took quite a while and wasnt great. the japanese restaurant whilst pricey was really good. the mall opposite is excellent was really busy one day that you could hardly move but the rest of time was fine. would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discorocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Big spacious rooms, the best steam room I have been in for a while (but the pool was freezing - not bad for a cold plunge then) - also the gym was well stocked. The location is not as bad as the map suggests because there is a free shuttle bus taking you straight into the city and the MTR is right at the hotel as well, so if you are patient, in 30 mins you are in the hub. Paying for internet is a pain but its free in the lobby and the breakfast had a good selection. I would visit again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeacherHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#27 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,845 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#24 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Lodgewood by L'hotel Mongkok Hong Kong
Regal Riverside Hotel
#154 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,539 reviews
Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin
#69 of 718 in Hong Kong
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel

Property: Royal Park Hotel
Address: No.8 Pak Hok Ting Street | Shatin, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#48 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#54 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#54 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#56 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,484 - ₹ 13,224
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Shatin district and adjacent to New Town Plaza, the biggest shopping mall in Hong Kong. Five minutes walk from MTR station. Easy access to Central and TST by means of public transport. Hotel runs regular comlimentary shuttle bus service to and from TST to hotel. Regular public bus A41 run between Hong Kong International Airport and hotel. The journey takes around 45 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Park Hong Kong
Hotel Royal Park
Royal Park Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing